We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just returned from a 3-night break at the Anselmus. The hotel was every bit as good as the best reviews here. Because other reviews mentioned the steep stairs, I emailed ahead to request a ground floor room (I'm 7 months pregnant, and stairs are increasingly difficult!). Upon arrival, we had been given a ground floor room (room 1) as requested. During our stay we had excellent sunny weather, this did mean it was rather warm at night, especially with bump keeping me warmer! I asked for an electric fan, and some additional pillows, and they were immediately brought to our room. It really felt like nothing would be too much trouble for the lovely owners, and all these things made my stay so much more comfortable. The room was nice, it was lovely (and unusual) to have a bath available. Hotel is beautifully clean. Lovely comfy chairs in lounge area, and delightful garden or conservatory to take breakfast in. There was a good choice & quality of breakfast, good central location, really no complaints! You really couldn't go wrong with selecting this hotel for your break in Bruges!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anodenzyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This small hotel is in a great location in the heart of the city. It is a typical Bruges building and it is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had a family room for a couple and two kids and it was large and user-friendly and they provide an excellent buffet breakfast. The owners are very helpful and I can prove this from our stay: 1) I called in advance to request a found floor room for my retired parents and this is what we got when we arrived, 2) My toddler smashed his bowl of cornflakes in the breakfast room and they made no fuss and even though I offered, they would not take payment for the breakage, 3) Our kids got sick with tonsillitis and chickenpox and the owners were helpful providing hot water and pharmacy / doctor advice and finally... 4) we left our camera in the room and they have shipped it back to us! So a great break, great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Booked through a midweek Eurostar package - and it lived up to expectations. This was a quiet, friendly, mid priced hotel with character and comfort. The multilingual owners were attentive without being fussy, provided a very good breakfast selection, and everything was very clean and cared for. It was an excellent place for reaching all the sights in an easy flat walk (but make sure you have good footwear - the streets and pavements are almost all cobbled!).

Room Tip: Think about stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A beautiful hotel, with wonderful owners.
Ronnie and Magda couldnt be more helpful. The room was spotless, roomy, and even had a double bed - and a bath which I always prefer to just a shower.
The breakfast was lovely, with a lot of choice, which is topped up before anything is empty. Ronnie even noticed how much tea I drink first thing, and was there offering me more the moment he saw my teapot was empty - now that is service!
There is gorgeous garden with tables and chairs (great for the smokers!) and three very chatty budgies and a shy rabbit in residence.
The hotel is very close to the Market Square, but tucked away enough that noise is not an issue. I will definitely return to this hotel when we visit Bruges again - I cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72angelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Firstly, Brugge is magical. Secondly, I imagine it is difficult to find a bad hotel in Brugge. Anselmus however is a great place to start.
Like most European hotels, double beds don't exist and instead they push together two singles. The beds/pillows were very comfortable and clean though.
The bathroom was lovely and modern with lots of space around the sink for all things girly!
The room itself was spacious, TV worked great and the only thing missing were some drawers?? This didn't bother us though and we just left a few bits in our suitcases instead.
The hotel is very secure and upon arrival you are given a key to the front door as well as an acces code to the additional electronic door which is used late evening.
The hotel breakfast is fantastic and should be given much more credit than the 'Continental' breakfast it is advertised as. It's a self-service buffet where you can help yourself to bread rolls, sliced bread (to toast if you wish), croissants, cooked meat, cheese, spreads, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, sweet pastries, numerous fruit juices, pots of tea or coffee and as you sit down to breakfast you are offered a lovely soft boiled egg. Everything we ate was great quality and the owner is more than happy for you to come down to breakfast at 9.45 and eat until well past 10 o'clock (breakfast is advertised as being served 7am - 10am).
The hotel location is good. Just under 5 minute walk to the main square in Brugge and you pass numerous restaurants and bars on the way.

Room Tip: Stairs are VERY steep up to the top (2nd) floor and are absolutely not suitable for the elderly or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOTTIE5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed mid week for 3 days on Eurostar package. Ronnie and his wife are excellent hosts- very helpful, multi lingual. The Anselmus is a small boutique hotel short walks (minutes) away from the main squares of Brugges,with beautiful medieval buildings, many lace and confectionary shops, the canal trips (inexpensive), and numerous cafes and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed the local food- try flemish stew made with local dark beer- really delicious. There is an excellent Italian restaurant (Carlitos) just 50 yards from the hotel where locals eat.
Breakfast at the hotel is good quality. Room was clean and airy. Minor down side was the 2nd floor staircase- steep with narrow steps, so if this worries you I suggest you request a room on the first or second floor.
Travelling to Brugges is simple- the change of platforms at Brussels is well posted and minutes away. For your train to Brugges look for Balnkenburgh, Knokke or Oostende. Brugge Zuide and Midi are the same station. Taxis from the station were 10 euros including tip.
Overall package excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerrard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This Hotel is comfortable, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was very nice too.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite steep (only two flights), but if you have knee trouble, pick a lower down room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#13 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing