We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for a four night break. Had looked at lots of 4/5 star hotels and then stumbled on this one (via Eurostar) which looked to have more character and more of a personal touch.

From the moment we arrived staff were friendly and helpful (but not intrusive). We'd been delayed on our journey and knew that getting a table at a good restaurant might be tricky, but we asked for suggestions which were helpfully drawn on a map and enabled us to find a really good quality, good value meal without spending too much time wandering around the town. The high standard of service never faltered throughout our stay.

The standard of cleanliness in the Anselmus really stood out - the room and communal areas were all spotless, and the beautiful little courtyard garden was also well maintained. The room certainly had character (the floor sloped and it was up some very steep steps!) but I had some of the best nights' sleep in ages. It is quite near a hostel which may produce a bit of noise if you need to keep the windows open, but it was generally quieter than any hotel I've stayed at in London.

Location is excellent - a couple of minutes walk got you either to the canal or to the two squares, without being right in the bustle of the main tourist areas.

Breakfast was continental style with a small but regularly topped up selection of bread rolls/pastries, cereal, plenty of cold meats, cheeses and fruit. Boiled eggs were also offered every day along with a plentiful supply of coffee.

Definitely want to go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and my friends were there for 3 nights and 4 days (Friday-Monday) and it was an amazing hotel. We got in to Bruges at 12pm but check-in was not until 2:30pm, we were allowed to leave our suitcases there which meant we could do some sight seeing straight away. The Anselmus was located in a quiet street and was a 5min walk to the centre of Bruges. The rooms was very clean and it also had a TV. The package we got included a free breakfast every morning which was also nice. I would recommend the Anselmus hotel to anyone going to Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room and hotel was beautifully decorated and very clean and the breakfast was delicious. I couldn't fault it and would definitely go back. It was perfectly situated for a short walk into the city centre, and anywhere else in Bruges. Overall, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Stairs to top floor are steep but worth the climb if you're able bodied as they're very pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy_ellen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I had no idea so just took a change on Eurostar suggestions. The first impression was to last. It was so friendly and such a perfect location 2 minute walk from main squares, which was what we were looking for. It was quiet and very clean and comfortable and a delicious breakfast at later time than many hotels, which was perfect. We had a twin bedded double room on the ground floor and after miles of walking my daughter and I fell into the comfortable beds happily each night. Advice on Bruges, is to take only a small bag, preferably back pack if you walk from the station. Cobblestones don't like roller bags that much. It's beautiful to walk along canals and stop in squares for a coffee or delicious Bruges beer, which is unforgettable. It has it all plus churches and museums of magnificence.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Booked as part of a Eurostar package, the Anselmus was located in a quiet street close to the centre of Bruges. It was beautifully appointed and the cleanliness overall could not have been faulted. We had two double rooms, one of which was a superior standard. Both were very pleasing. We were wakened in the morning by the budgerigars chirping in the courtyard garden below.
Breakfasts were served in a bright room which led off into this garden. We found the owners pleasant and helpful. We would recommend the Anselmus wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoCo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just returned from a 3-night break at the Anselmus. The hotel was every bit as good as the best reviews here. Because other reviews mentioned the steep stairs, I emailed ahead to request a ground floor room (I'm 7 months pregnant, and stairs are increasingly difficult!). Upon arrival, we had been given a ground floor room (room 1) as requested. During our stay we had excellent sunny weather, this did mean it was rather warm at night, especially with bump keeping me warmer! I asked for an electric fan, and some additional pillows, and they were immediately brought to our room. It really felt like nothing would be too much trouble for the lovely owners, and all these things made my stay so much more comfortable. The room was nice, it was lovely (and unusual) to have a bath available. Hotel is beautifully clean. Lovely comfy chairs in lounge area, and delightful garden or conservatory to take breakfast in. There was a good choice & quality of breakfast, good central location, really no complaints! You really couldn't go wrong with selecting this hotel for your break in Bruges!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anodenzyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This small hotel is in a great location in the heart of the city. It is a typical Bruges building and it is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had a family room for a couple and two kids and it was large and user-friendly and they provide an excellent buffet breakfast. The owners are very helpful and I can prove this from our stay: 1) I called in advance to request a found floor room for my retired parents and this is what we got when we arrived, 2) My toddler smashed his bowl of cornflakes in the breakfast room and they made no fuss and even though I offered, they would not take payment for the breakage, 3) Our kids got sick with tonsillitis and chickenpox and the owners were helpful providing hot water and pharmacy / doctor advice and finally... 4) we left our camera in the room and they have shipped it back to us! So a great break, great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#25 of 97 in Bruges
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing