We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming traditional Bruges hotel”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming traditional Bruges hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very comfortable room, best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time. Instant plentiful hot water for long baths, after full days of walking the charming cobbled streets of Bruges.

The breakfast room is bright and cheery and the breakfast full and varied. The hotel is very clean throughout. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    180
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
218
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is in central Bruges, about 10 min from the main station by car and only 5 min walk to the Grote Markt. The owners are very friendly and so helpful, they provided us with a map and tipps where to go. The room we had was very good, enough space for the two of us with a TV and a window heading to the backyard, so it was very quiet. We didn't hear anything from the other rooms, it was all very quiet. The breakfast was good, too, though (maybe I am too picky) they didn't have any fresh fruit, only canned. The stairs are quiet steep but you find that in almost every hotel situated in old houses, so make sure to ask for a room in the basement if you have problems with stairs. All in all a very good choice if spending a few days in Bruges.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blomma706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This small three star hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the Town Hall Square, 35 mins walk from the Rail Station (or bus 12 from Station to Market Sq then 5 mins walk) The hotel is traditional building and very attractive inside, antique furniture, clean neat and tidy. The room we had (on third floor) was spacious and well appointed, very clean, good bathroom, free mini safe, TV and had windows looking out onto the rear street. It's a peaceful quiet location yet only minutes walk to the centre. The breakfast rooms are very attractive with a small courtyard garden. Breakfast buffet was very good with freshly made coffee or tea, not from a machine! Good choice of cereals, muesli, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, cold meats, boiled egg, breads and cakes. Key to room also opens front and rear doors for access in evening when doors locked.
The only drawback would be for those with limited mobility, as there is no lift, and most rooms can only be accessed by very steep stairs to upper floors and within the ground floor itself.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, and we would certainly stay here again. We enjoyed our stay here (5 nights in Sept 2012) very much.

Room Tip: For those with limited mobilty, ground floor rooms only, as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHWBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Have just got back from a 4 day stay in Bruges. The Hotel Anselmus was recommended to us by Eurostar and it proved it be ideal for our needs. It is a very clean hotel, we had room 8. The breakfast provided was sufficient and there was plenty to choose from. The owner couldnt do enough for you and was very friendly and polite. Would go back again.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned we had Room 8 which had a normal size bath, our friends had room 4 which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentRugbyfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Nice little hotel, it has everything you need as a base to explore Bruges. Good location, very clean, breakfast was ok, nice selection, all good. Downsides, bed a bit small and no stand up shower so you have to hold it on your hand - might just be Belgian style though?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suselacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having spent a wonderful night here the previous year on the way to the European Shadow meeting near Eindhoven, Holland, we were keen to return for longer the next time. So, once again, on our way to this years motorbike rally in Holland, we booked two nights stay at this wonderfully unique and beautiful hotel in the centre of Brugge. The atmosphere of this hotel is relaxing, calm and peaceful. The owners are very friendly, always give a warm welcome and helpful when they can, and speak English very well. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated in a style which, I think, is unique to Brugge. The main staircase is unique, steep, dramatically curved yet easily managable with care. There is a secure locked garage a short walk from the hotel for bicycles or motorbikes (2 easily, 4 at a push). The rooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated with an excellent en-suite bath/shower and toilet. Free wi-fi is available and the rooms have tv's. A tray of tea or coffee and a kettle is available upon request. Breakfast is very impressive, with a selection of cereals, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, juices, bread, pastries and tea or coffee that is second to none. The boiled eggs are perfectly done and plentiful, and recommended. The area is quiet, yet within a few minutes walk of the centre of the city and many cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as museums and shops. We recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short or long stay, romantic it certainly is, yet it is even suitable for families.

Room Tip: If you've lots of bulky luggage or not good with small steps on a steep turning staircase, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A good location in this breathtaking city. Friendly, family run. Breakfasts were just ok although a little fresh fruit would be good and improve the fayre. The main staircase is a little steep and care needed when coming down the stairs. Parking available in secure block about 200 metres away. Try bars,cafes and restaurants on nearby Langstraat for a more local and bohemien experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deddy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing