We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & quaint”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a beautiful little hotel right in the centre of Bruges, walking distance to the Market place (where it all happens!) and easy access to everywhere else.
The room we were in (a twin) was roomy, clean and comfortable, with a great ensuite.
The breakfast room was charming, overlooking a lovely little courtyard which could be used in warmer weather.
Other reviews mentioned the steep and narrow stairs, which there were plenty of but you have to remember the age of the building and ask for a low or ground floor if stairs are a problem.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Ask for low/ground floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Anselmus Hotel is a brilliant family run hotel in a quiet back street just off the main square. On entering you had a sense of homeliness and that's exactly how it was. The husband and wife team who ran it along with their staff were charming and very helpful - they provided maps with walking routes marked out and discount cards for entry to museums and restaurants. We followed the marked route on two days and found this showed us little gems which we may otherwise have missed. The hotel itself was very clean with tastefully decorated, large rooms and what must be one of the best breakfasts in Bruges! We would not hesitate to go back or to recommend it to our friends and family. Great visit...

Room Tip: Central rooms were very quiet but all had good double-glazing anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mealsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed at Anselmus for 3 nights in October 2012. The rooms were clean,lots of hot water and the owner was really helpful. He recommended some good restaurants and the breakfast at the hotel was lovely. If you want a good hotel in central Bruges I would really recommend it.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs up to room 26!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kadsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Have just got back from a 3 day break with friends in Bruges can highly recommend this hotel the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean as were the bathrooms. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. When we checked in the owner provided us with a card that gave us a discounted museum pass and also discount off bike hire which was great.
The other great service was the free wi-fi which i feel for a small hotel to offer was tremendous considering the hotel we had stayed in in London the night before charged,
The conservatory on the back in which we had breakfast was light airy and breakfast was fine.
If we return to Bruges would definitely stay here again ,and would advise other friends to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very comfortable room, best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time. Instant plentiful hot water for long baths, after full days of walking the charming cobbled streets of Bruges.

The breakfast room is bright and cheery and the breakfast full and varied. The hotel is very clean throughout. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is in central Bruges, about 10 min from the main station by car and only 5 min walk to the Grote Markt. The owners are very friendly and so helpful, they provided us with a map and tipps where to go. The room we had was very good, enough space for the two of us with a TV and a window heading to the backyard, so it was very quiet. We didn't hear anything from the other rooms, it was all very quiet. The breakfast was good, too, though (maybe I am too picky) they didn't have any fresh fruit, only canned. The stairs are quiet steep but you find that in almost every hotel situated in old houses, so make sure to ask for a room in the basement if you have problems with stairs. All in all a very good choice if spending a few days in Bruges.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blomma706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This small three star hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the Town Hall Square, 35 mins walk from the Rail Station (or bus 12 from Station to Market Sq then 5 mins walk) The hotel is traditional building and very attractive inside, antique furniture, clean neat and tidy. The room we had (on third floor) was spacious and well appointed, very clean, good bathroom, free mini safe, TV and had windows looking out onto the rear street. It's a peaceful quiet location yet only minutes walk to the centre. The breakfast rooms are very attractive with a small courtyard garden. Breakfast buffet was very good with freshly made coffee or tea, not from a machine! Good choice of cereals, muesli, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, cold meats, boiled egg, breads and cakes. Key to room also opens front and rear doors for access in evening when doors locked.
The only drawback would be for those with limited mobility, as there is no lift, and most rooms can only be accessed by very steep stairs to upper floors and within the ground floor itself.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, and we would certainly stay here again. We enjoyed our stay here (5 nights in Sept 2012) very much.

Room Tip: For those with limited mobilty, ground floor rooms only, as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHWBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing