We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient and good value for money.”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and good value for money.”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights midweek in this well situated hotel in Bruges. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Good continental breakfast included in the price. The staff were friendly and very helpful - their recommendations for restaurants nearby were spot on! Would definitely recommend the hotel which is convenient, comfortable and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road on the first floor. There was some noise from the road but not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whizzylizzy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    180
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
218
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights in February. Hotel is 2 minutes from the Town hall square next to the market square where the buses stop. You can explore the whole of Bruges by foot from this hotel and get there by bus outside the eurostar station,The hotel itself has the original staircase from a 400 year old town house- not good if you find climbing stairs as the stairs slope but the rooms are well lit, warm, clean, quiet, beds are comfortable and you can ask for a kettle and tea-making things. There is tv and free wifi too. Breakfast is continental with individual tea and coffee pots, lovely patisserie and eggs boiled to order.. We stayed in room 5 overlooking the road but it was very quiet even there. The lovely dining room with chandeliers and the airy glass ceiling garden- facing dining room with classical music are relaxing places to start a day .
I think with the many deals on room prices (through Eurostar and the hotel itself) you get a good value hotel for a reasonable cost. our only one gripe, and it is minor, is that the bath/shower in our ensuite did not have a shower curtain and so water went all over the floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed two nights at Anselmus Hotel on my wifes birthday weekend in Bruge. Hotel was in a great location; central and very convenient for wandering around Bruges.
Breakfast included an excellent range of options and the room was very clean and comfortable.
Very friendly and attentive staff. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed two nights while visiting Bruges before catching our Cruise ship in Amsterdam. It is an easy three block walk to the center of town and very convenient for exploring all the tourist attractions, shops and restaurants. The rooms were very clean and our room on the second floor had windows that opens to let in the fresh night air. The morning european style breakfast had a wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads and rolls. I would stay again the next time I visit Bruges. We were traveling with two other couples and we all felt we had made a good choice in picking this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel was great for a short city break.

We are a family of five and often struggle to find European hotel rooms for five; this hotel had a great family room with four single beds, and an extra bed. The room was large so it did not feel crowded. The ensuite bathroom was perfectly adequate.

The whole hotel is immaculate - absolutely spotless!!

The attention to detail by the staff was impressive. Both my husband's gluten free diet and my son's dairy free diet were catered for at breakfast with no fuss or bother. Breakfast is a buffet system with lots of choice.

Our children were made to feel very welcome by the proprietors who were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.

We parked in the hotel's garages a short walk from the hotel - for a small extra charge.

Great hotel - we could not fault it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed with my husband Brian for 3 nights February 2013. Ronnie and Magda were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The ample breakfast was served in a lovely calm dining room and the boiled eggs were cooked to perfection. Even had chocolate hearts on our table! The hotel was perfectly located close to the centre but far enough away from any noise. Everything was an easy walk. Ate at Cambrinus where they served excellent stews and 400 different beers. Best to book in the evening as it is very popular. There are lots of quiet restaurants too, the Italian close to Cambrinus was very good and a lovely calm atmosphere. If you want a lively bar with English music Charlie Rockets is just around the corner from the hotel. We loved our stay in Brugge - wear lots of layers though! If we went again we would definitely stay at Anselmus and would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joodStAlbansHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for a long weekend - comfortable and clean, close to the centre but outside of the hustle and bustle. It's not a high end hotel, just a well run, friendly place. Asked for a kettle and more pillows, no problem. The room and the bathroom were beautifully cleaned every day. Breakfast was typical - cold meat and sliced cheese, cereals, yoghurt, and every day a boiled egg and infinite coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing