We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Market Deeping, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lovely week in beuatiful Bruges made perfect by this hotel.
Close to centre but also to other restaurants and the canal.
The owners couldn't be more helpful.
The bed was huge and very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Bruges is beautiful and the restaurants are lovely but very expensive. Whatever you think you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June and had a very spacious and immaculate twin room. Possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in!! It is situated very close to the main squares and in an excellent position for sightseeing. The hosts are charming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is excellent with a large choice of cereals, pastries and cheese and meat and really superb coffee and its a good start to the day to be able to eat looking at their beautiful garden. A quiet, relaxed and friendly hotel - and from our experience seems to attract some very nice fellow guests! The only slight drawback for me was the folding bathroom door in our room which didn't perhaps provide as much privacy as I would have liked but its a minor point that wouldn't deter me from staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJ936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, excellent location for the Christmas market. The hotel was very clean & quiet. The rooms were spacious. The hotel has plenty of character and charm. The breakfast was really nice and set us up for the days shopping in a lovely gothic town. We'll be staying there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdtdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had wanted to visit Bruges for sometime and liked the sound of this hotel from other reviews. We weren't disappointed. Our stay was for four nights. The service and standard of care was very good from arrival through to our final day. Nothing seemed too much for the friendly hosts.
We had room 26 on the second floor in the second building. The room was big, as was the bed, and had everything we needed. The beamed ceiling added to the charm.
Two minor drawbacks - the winding staircase leading to our room made me think twice about enjoying too many Belgium beers, and the handheld shower in our bathroom, not my favourite! However these did not spoil our stay.
A good quality continental breakfast was served in a lovely dining room overlooking a walled garden. Again the service was pleasant and prompt.
The location was as advertised very close to the main square and very close to some excellent bars and restaurants.
We returned fully relaxed from our break and would highly recommend this small family run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Anselmus Hotel but throughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location - close to all the attractions but on a quiet side street. The hotel reception, lounge and dining are very well decorated and inviting and the owners could not have done more to help. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190722Hels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent two nights at the Anselmus Hotel. Our room was very large as was our bathoom. The breakfast was adequate with bread, pastries, cereal, yogurt, cheese and hard boiled eggs. The owners are very nice and gave us a list of restaurant recommendations. Definitely check out Bierbrasserie Cambrinus, Philipstockstraat 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium. This pub has over 400 beers and wonderful food.

The morning we were leaving we had a very early morning train to Munich and needed to be picked up at 4:15am. Ronny, the owner, booked a taxi for us to the train station and double checked to make sure that we were picked up on time. His wife packed us some sandwiches, yogurt and bottled water for our train trip. The couple that own this hotel are very caring people and want your stay to be excellent!

Room Tip: We asked for a downstairs room away from the reception area and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortune43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

A group of 17 of us stayed here for a long weekend. From the very first contact to saying "Farewell" on the final morning everything was perfect. We travelled to Bruges on Harley-Davidson motorcycles and Ronny, the hotel owner, arranged secure parking for us all at a very fair price. The hotel location is perfect, the rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast is a classic Continental buffet, the owners are absolutely charming and their restaurant tips were perfect. Tea/coffee making kit in the room would have been nice and the stairs are very steep with no lift but this hotel is truly a little jewel in Bruges. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the larger superior rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#13 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing