We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, charming owners, gorgeous city”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Just got back from three nights at the Anselmus. Very nice & comfortable room, plenty of space. The location of the hotel is really central, about a seven minute walk to Markt & Burg. The breakfast is a really good continental selection - fruit, cheese, meat, jams, cereals, juice, coffee, croissants & pastries & home made bread & butter pudding on our first day. Delicious! The owners are very friendly & helpful too. I would definitely stay here again. To have breakfast in such a gorgeous garden was an amazing start to the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

I normally stay in 4* hotels and did miss my luxury, but this was fine for one night. The hotel owner was very friendly and accomodating and helpful with where to eat etc. All very clean and comfortable, although I didn't like the door to the ensuite (one of those draw across but rather stiff things). No separate shower unit and the shower attachment is not on the wall upright - so only 4 stars. Couldn't eat any breakfast because ate big meal night before, but good selection of pastries/yogurt/meats etc available. All guests and staff very courteous, recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantalMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lovely week in beuatiful Bruges made perfect by this hotel.
Close to centre but also to other restaurants and the canal.
The owners couldn't be more helpful.
The bed was huge and very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Bruges is beautiful and the restaurants are lovely but very expensive. Whatever you think you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June and had a very spacious and immaculate twin room. Possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in!! It is situated very close to the main squares and in an excellent position for sightseeing. The hosts are charming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is excellent with a large choice of cereals, pastries and cheese and meat and really superb coffee and its a good start to the day to be able to eat looking at their beautiful garden. A quiet, relaxed and friendly hotel - and from our experience seems to attract some very nice fellow guests! The only slight drawback for me was the folding bathroom door in our room which didn't perhaps provide as much privacy as I would have liked but its a minor point that wouldn't deter me from staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanJ936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, excellent location for the Christmas market. The hotel was very clean & quiet. The rooms were spacious. The hotel has plenty of character and charm. The breakfast was really nice and set us up for the days shopping in a lovely gothic town. We'll be staying there again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bdtdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had wanted to visit Bruges for sometime and liked the sound of this hotel from other reviews. We weren't disappointed. Our stay was for four nights. The service and standard of care was very good from arrival through to our final day. Nothing seemed too much for the friendly hosts.
We had room 26 on the second floor in the second building. The room was big, as was the bed, and had everything we needed. The beamed ceiling added to the charm.
Two minor drawbacks - the winding staircase leading to our room made me think twice about enjoying too many Belgium beers, and the handheld shower in our bathroom, not my favourite! However these did not spoil our stay.
A good quality continental breakfast was served in a lovely dining room overlooking a walled garden. Again the service was pleasant and prompt.
The location was as advertised very close to the main square and very close to some excellent bars and restaurants.
We returned fully relaxed from our break and would highly recommend this small family run hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Anselmus Hotel but throughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location - close to all the attractions but on a quiet side street. The hotel reception, lounge and dining are very well decorated and inviting and the owners could not have done more to help. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 190722Hels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,255 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#60 of 97 in Bruges
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £96 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing