We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and centrally located hotel”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a long weekend and were very impressed by the central location and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfast was good, especially the delicious pastries and muffins.

There are a couple of areas for improvement; the shower is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over your head, there is no shower screen so it is quite easy to get the bathroom floor really wet and also there is no fan or a/c.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges but if you have any mobility issues ask for a room on the ground floor as the stairs are extremely narrow and steep (which is common for Bruges).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a lovely, immaculately clean, welcoming hotel. The hotel is conveniently located just a few short blocks from the center of town. Its rooms are nicely decorated, exceptionally clean, and extremely comfortable, and the hotel offers a generous buffet breakfast served in a lovely courtyard with an adjoining indoor room. The hotel has the feel of old world splendor, and you note this the moment you arrive there.

As nice as the hotel is, what is most impressive, however, is the kindness and character of the owner. He is a gentleman who will go out of his way to accommodate you and make sure you're happy. My husband, son, and I were there a few days ago, and my son left his wallet on the window sill in our room. We had walked to the bus stop to get the bus to take us to the train station for our return to Brussels. As we were boarding the bus, the owner suddenly appeared, out of breath, after having run from the hotel to catch us: In his hand was my son's wallet. You can't ask for more than that. I highly recommend Anselmus!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel as a family of 6 (we had 2 triple rooms) and couldn't have been happier with the hotel and services provided. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable and there was a beautiful courtyard garden in which you could eat breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and varied. The owners were welcoming and very helpful. They provided maps with great walking routes of Brugge and other suggestions for places to visit/eat in the city. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and had a fantastic break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 630Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hotel was a good location,basic but very clean bed was comfy and pillows ok ,but there was no air con and it was so hot ,even with the window open you were getting all the noise from the hostel round the corner till late ,we didn't sleep well . We did get a fan from the owner which did help slightly . I wouldn't go back to this hotel , for this reason

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Generous, tasty included breakfast large generous buffet. Would stay again. Would recommend to others. We had never been in Brugge before, the owners were very helpful in guiding us to sites to visit and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A lovely family run business with real attention to customer service. Personable with a capital "P".
Immaculately clean rooms throughout, what you need without unnecessary and unused "frills".
Breakfast is a relaxed and generous joy.
Coming and going when you want is both secure and convenient.
The location is a pleasant and short walk from the hub of the main square.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, at the front of the hotel, rooms 1 and 2. The windows open onto the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed for three nights a couple of weeks ago. Had a room for family of four single beds. Space adequate, good breakfast, nice host. A 5 minute walk to the markt. Two problems. One - no AC. the would not have been a problem except for problem number two. The hotel is around the corner from a bar/ hostel and was noisy until 2-3 AM. So no open windows and due the unusually hot weather a choice had to be made for sleep. Too hot or a bit too noisy? Any other time of the year this place would have been great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,329 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £84 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing