We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went to Bruges for a long weekend and stayed in the Anselmus for 3 nights. The twin room was of an adequate size and clean. The 2 single beds had very soft mattresses (be careful when initially sitting down!) but were comfortable and I didn't have any problems sleeping. The door to the ensuite was a folding screen which could be difficult to pull back and forth as the magnetic strip was quite secure. The ensuite was clean and pretty spacious - the only disappointing issue is there was no shower curtain or screen so you have to squat to have a shower (as the unit is low over the bathtub), or end up spraying outside the tub if you want to stand up and use the hand held shower. The breakfast was a cold continental buffet - more than adequate with cold meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries. You also had the option of a boiled egg with your tea or coffee. The owners were lovely and very helpful. Free wifi in the rooms which is always a bonus. The hotel had lots of nice original features and the reception was like walking into a museum. The best thing about the hotel was the location - literally a few minutes walk from the Burg. Very convenient for exploring Bruges by foot!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScouseOriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Like the other travellers we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The owner/ manager could not have been more helpful with recommendations. The hotel is very clean and the downstairs areas are attractive. Our room was a bit tired but absolutely fine. The only issue we had was the shower which was hand held over the bath. I don't really understand why they do not attach the shower head further up the wall and put a curtain round.
Great location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just being off the centre of the main square this is a fantastic boutique hotel. Our room was almost an apartment so we could have been easily self-contained if it was not for the immediate access access to all and sundry in the city itself. The staff were really friendly and always helpful. Great collection of pottery chickens and the breakfast certainly sets you up for the day. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you let them know as some of the stairs to the upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel was historic and beautiful as so much of Bruges is. We were very near the main square with several sights and great restaurants a short walk away. We parked in the hotel's garage, at 15 euros a night. This was well worth doing as central Bruge is one big one way system, so once we were there we didn't really want the car - or need it because of being so central. The hotel manager came with us to park the car so it was easy to find the garage! and it was great to not have to think about the car again. We booked the carparking by contacting the hotel directly in advance.
I was struck by how the hotel was immaculately clean. The manager was very helpful, helping us with restaurant suggestions and luggage.
The continental breakfast served downstairs was all very fresh with a variety of juices, pastries, toast, cereals, spreads, ham/cheese available with the offer of a boiled egg if desired.
The mattresses in our room were a little mushy and disappointing. Most disappointing of all was the door to the bathroom. It was a folding door that afforded very little privacy in terms of noise and that was after you had completed the complicated task of closing it! The shower was a shower head over the bath. No shower screen or curtain to enable standing up to shower.
We has a three person room. I hope the other rooms had better bathroom arrangements.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Anselmus, it is in an excellent location only a few minutes from Markt.
The owners were extremely helpful, recommending restaurants, walks and even lending me an adapter when I forgot mine.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, the garden is lovely, we enjoyed our chats with the budgies in the mornings.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.
The G & Ts at the end of the day were great as well, thanks Ronnie, hope you haven't had anymore guests "losing" their keys

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were made to feel so very welcome. The rooms were comfortable and spotless, our hosts were charming and obliging and they mixed the best gin and tonic to relax us after our busy days exploring. we were given maps and very good advice about how to make the most of our stay. The location was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A husband and wife team own thiu0s hotel and give faultless service to their guests. Very quiet and tastefully appointed, with an excellent breakfast. Wifi works well. Only a couple of minutes walk from the Burg and Markt, with plenty of restaurants around. Great place for a city break!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
831 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#40 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £101 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing