We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but beware of the stairs!”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but beware of the stairs!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very nice hotel, situated only about 5 minutes stroll from the Markt. Owner one of the most agreeable and friendly people I've met and made us feel really welcome. Rooms are very clean and tidy Breakfast was very fresh and served in a lovely breakfast room that even in November was light and airy.

If you have any kind of walking difficulties, beware the very top rooms - We were fine, but the stairs were really steep! Also had to drop one point for no shower curtain which made life a bit tricky in the bathroom. Otherwise well recommended and very good value for Bruges.

Room Tip: Avoid the top rooms if you have walking difficulties or don't like steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    187
    36
    3
    0
See reviews for
150
221
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We loved the Anselmus Hotel and Bruges. The decor upon entering is warm and charming and the owner friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants and telling us about the history of the hotel. Our room was large, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also large (compared to most we've experienced in Europe) with a tub and a shower. And although the location is excellent, very close to restaurants and shopping, our room was quiet and the bed comfortable. We thought the breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was very good. We had an early train to catch the morning we left and the owner's wife provided us with a very nice bagged breakfast which we really appreciated and enjoyed. I don't know where Bolney is from but we Canadians thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Anselmus!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so no squeaking floors above us and we had a nice view of greenery and a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at Anselmus hotel over New Year. Lovely, clean, charming hotel. Just breakfast room downstairs and stairs to all rooms in main building. Family room for 4 was good. Bathroom and room was cleaned spotlessly every day. Breakfast was good choice for family, more than enough. Owners extremely helpful. We hired a garage too. Location was great, so easy to explore from. My ONLY gripe about the hotel was that the floorboards creaked. Don't know what people were doing upstairs but they didn't seem to stop moving! Bruges was so pretty although more touristy than expected. Do not recommend Mozarthaus restaurant. Felt ripped off - 160 euros for family!. They kept adding on extras that we didn't need, eg servings of salads even though main course came with salad, and apple sauce (5euros!) that we didn't touch. Do recommend the restaurant round the cormer 'Old Bruges'. Wonderful meal that we all enjoyed and it was the busiest-New Years' Eve. Love to return to Bruges in summer though I'm told it's even busier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKEAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a very good family run hotel: the rooms are quite large and comfortable, breakfast is very good (though coffee was somehow cold!), and I would say it is very likely the most clean hotel I've ever been.
The location is excellent: less than 5 minutes walk to Mark Square and at a walking distance to everything in old town.
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and were terribly underwhelmed. The room was tiny and barren, the bed was uncomfortable, and the breakfast was sub-par. For a B&B in Brugge, I was expecting some sort of charm, and unfortunately this had none.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great family run hotel, good breakfasts, large comfortable rooms, really close to the Markt Square. Good location for walking around the city centre. Owner and his wife couldn't have been more helpful - recommending good places to eat and drink.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a triple room for the two of us and it was really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from three nights in Bruges to celebrate my 60th birthday. We were very pleased with the choice of the Hotel Anselmus. It is a great location - centrally situated but down a quiet side street so there were no problems with noise.
The owner and his wife are very friendly and informative, suggesting places to eat and to visit. There is a good continental breakfast (available for 12 euros if your package doesn't include it) with fruit, cereals, bread, cheese, cooked meats, an excellent choice of pastries and a boiled egg if required. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.
Although we had no problem with the stairs at all, anyone with impaired mobility needs to know that there isn't a lift and some rooms are on the second floor. Presumably if you contact the hotel in advance a ground floor room could be arranged.
We will unhesitatingly stay there if we visit Bruges again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 572KathM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#16 of 97 in Bruges
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing