We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
rochdale
1 review
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice and clean and comfortable. The room was lovely and bright with nice curtains and very white sheets on very comfy beds. Had a good nights sleep and woke up to a very good breakfast with friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very nice hotel, situated only about 5 minutes stroll from the Markt. Owner one of the most agreeable and friendly people I've met and made us feel really welcome. Rooms are very clean and tidy Breakfast was very fresh and served in a lovely breakfast room that even in November was light and airy.

If you have any kind of walking difficulties, beware the very top rooms - We were fine, but the stairs were really steep! Also had to drop one point for no shower curtain which made life a bit tricky in the bathroom. Otherwise well recommended and very good value for Bruges.

Room Tip: Avoid the top rooms if you have walking difficulties or don't like steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We loved the Anselmus Hotel and Bruges. The decor upon entering is warm and charming and the owner friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants and telling us about the history of the hotel. Our room was large, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also large (compared to most we've experienced in Europe) with a tub and a shower. And although the location is excellent, very close to restaurants and shopping, our room was quiet and the bed comfortable. We thought the breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was very good. We had an early train to catch the morning we left and the owner's wife provided us with a very nice bagged breakfast which we really appreciated and enjoyed. I don't know where Bolney is from but we Canadians thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Anselmus!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so no squeaking floors above us and we had a nice view of greenery and a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at Anselmus hotel over New Year. Lovely, clean, charming hotel. Just breakfast room downstairs and stairs to all rooms in main building. Family room for 4 was good. Bathroom and room was cleaned spotlessly every day. Breakfast was good choice for family, more than enough. Owners extremely helpful. We hired a garage too. Location was great, so easy to explore from. My ONLY gripe about the hotel was that the floorboards creaked. Don't know what people were doing upstairs but they didn't seem to stop moving! Bruges was so pretty although more touristy than expected. Do not recommend Mozarthaus restaurant. Felt ripped off - 160 euros for family!. They kept adding on extras that we didn't need, eg servings of salads even though main course came with salad, and apple sauce (5euros!) that we didn't touch. Do recommend the restaurant round the cormer 'Old Bruges'. Wonderful meal that we all enjoyed and it was the busiest-New Years' Eve. Love to return to Bruges in summer though I'm told it's even busier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKEAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a very good family run hotel: the rooms are quite large and comfortable, breakfast is very good (though coffee was somehow cold!), and I would say it is very likely the most clean hotel I've ever been.
The location is excellent: less than 5 minutes walk to Mark Square and at a walking distance to everything in old town.
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and were terribly underwhelmed. The room was tiny and barren, the bed was uncomfortable, and the breakfast was sub-par. For a B&B in Brugge, I was expecting some sort of charm, and unfortunately this had none.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great family run hotel, good breakfasts, large comfortable rooms, really close to the Markt Square. Good location for walking around the city centre. Owner and his wife couldn't have been more helpful - recommending good places to eat and drink.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a triple room for the two of us and it was really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#13 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing