We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, over-hyped by reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, over-hyped by reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and has several positives, but also some significant downsides.
Positives: location, breakfast (very Belgian), friendly manager
Downsides: very hot in hotel and no air conditioning (not expected) but location on road prevented opening window. Very steep stairs with narrow tread, bordering on dangerous - make sure you ask about room location, especially if you are old or have children. Poor amenities, although most available if you asked - hair dryer, coffee maker etc. No bar for nightcap.
Overall a decent place to stay but we were expecting better after reading reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
143
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Anselmus in Bruges in a triple room (a couple and our 16 year old son). The room was large and absolutely the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in! What really made the stay perfect, though, was the service provided by Ronny and Magda. Ronny went out of his way to provide helpful information on attractions, restaurants, services, etc. They serve an excellent breakfast and the location really couldn't be better. The street is quiet but just two blocks from the main squares in central Bruges. Secure parking is provided. Can't say enough about this place or recommend it highly enough. Having travelled throughout Europe for 2 1/2 weeks and staying at 7 places, this one was by far the best, and the best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here in a triple room with two colleagues on a business trip to Bruges and thought the hotel was great, an excellent find.

The location is perfect, very short walking distance to the main attractions. We arrived by car, and the owner (a very friendly, welcoming gentleman) took us to his secure car park which is around a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The included breakfast was very good, and the room was spotless and excellent value. We were able to work from the garden within the hotel itself using the free, high speed wi-fi which was great.

Overall, we had a good stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first trip to picturesque Bruges, and we were not disappointed. Ronny and his wife made us feel so comfortable as they provided outstanding service. The rooms were clean and spacious, but the bath tub was a wee-bit small for this 230 pound gent. We made do for the short time we were there, and the hotel location made up for bath tub. We took both of Ronny's recommended walks, in and out of the town. On the edge of town we found the windmills which were fun to photograph and in town Ronny's tour map lead us to all the quaint sites that are truly Bruges. Thank you all being such gracious hosts!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, because we didn't want to carry our bags upstairs (no lift), but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is situated near to the tourist centres but in a less busy street. The rooms are comfortable, well provided with facilities and comfortable beds and the breakfasts are fresh and offer a delicious variety.Some of the best coffee in Bruges? The owner, Ronny is so helpful -he ordered taxis and arranged a battlefield tour with speed and care. He even gave us a lift himself when there was a problem with a taxi! We will definitely return and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights with my two sisters. We had a three bedded room which was spacious and comfortable. Ronnie(?) was a lovely host, good sense of humour. Breakfast was tasty (nice coffee) and the breakfast room/conservatory was nice with a lovely little courtyard garden. We found it to be friendly and relaxed, in a good location, walkable to everything in Bruges. Contrary to what someone said in a previous review, I don't think it could be better! For what we paid/location etc, it was perfect for us and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokidstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

They even packed us a breakfast because they knew we had an early morning train to catch. The morning breakfasts were above expectation and the attention to detail was refreshing. Thank for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Mary098765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing