We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Goods: the excellent location, the breakfast (really good) and breakfast room, the service and the couple managing it, our room was very spacious.
Bads: no overhead showers (at least room 2), you end up wetting everything in the bathroom and the towels were not changed. No coffee or tea in the room. Our room got quite hot and we were facing the street so could not open the windows, a fan would have been good.
I would return, but for the price we paid I would expect a few more standard things in the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laconchituma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on a road trip across Europe. They had a family room option which allowed 5 of us to stay in one room. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel. The room was spacious, the service was excellent and the breakfast was very good with lots of continental options available. It is located close to the historic centre so we were able to walk around and see some of the sights.

Parking is a little problematic; there is a nearby car park available but we managed to find a space on the street where we could park for free until 9am the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel,run by Avery helpful and friendly couple. Three of us shared a spacious room (27) with comfortable beds and good decoration.The room was cleaned daily and the owners should be proud of how clean the hotel is kept. Breakfast was good with the usual continental selection. One tip our room was at the top of the hotel with a very steep staircase with shallow steps. Would definitely revisit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NigelBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
291 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Was the first time returning to Brugges in ages and found the Anselmus to be a well located traditional Belgian establishment that was perfect for my family in law who was coming to the country for the first time.

The breakfast is good as is the service and management, while we also found the cleaning staff to be friendly and quite professional as they seemed to always manage to come by the room when we were at breakfast and were done by the time we returned. To add to these features, the internet connection was good, the rooms were clean, and the price was very reasonable by local standards.

The only down side if any at all was that there was no fan or AC in the rooms so if you happen to stop by the city during the summer (on a good day) the rooms can get a bit hot at times if you dont open the window. For most of the year however this will not be an issue. Otherwise, as you would expect in a traditional building, the bedrooms are not so large, but the bathroom is surprisingly big by contrast....despite having no shower curtain.

In sum however, I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone who is coming to this incredible city for the first time. Good management, nice decor, and prime location make this a great option

Room Tip: there are a few rooms on the back side of the hotel that are on ground level, which makes it more di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Amselmus Hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and there were 2 large windows that we could open wide which was a great help as temperatures were very high during our stay. Our 16 yr old was also very happy with the free wifi in the room.
The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the main square in historic Bruges.
As the weather was so good we were able to have breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden. The choice of breakfast was excellent and the service from the friendly owners could not be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and has several positives, but also some significant downsides.
Positives: location, breakfast (very Belgian), friendly manager
Downsides: very hot in hotel and no air conditioning (not expected) but location on road prevented opening window. Very steep stairs with narrow tread, bordering on dangerous - make sure you ask about room location, especially if you are old or have children. Poor amenities, although most available if you asked - hair dryer, coffee maker etc. No bar for nightcap.
Overall a decent place to stay but we were expecting better after reading reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Anselmus in Bruges in a triple room (a couple and our 16 year old son). The room was large and absolutely the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in! What really made the stay perfect, though, was the service provided by Ronny and Magda. Ronny went out of his way to provide helpful information on attractions, restaurants, services, etc. They serve an excellent breakfast and the location really couldn't be better. The street is quiet but just two blocks from the main squares in central Bruges. Secure parking is provided. Can't say enough about this place or recommend it highly enough. Having travelled throughout Europe for 2 1/2 weeks and staying at 7 places, this one was by far the best, and the best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing