We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, nice location...not a good place to stay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice location...not a good place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The hotel is very nice. The room was clean, bright and spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fairly standard. The location could not be any better! Why am I giving this hotel only 2 stars? Noise. The room faces a busy street and street noise comes through the windows. Whether the noise are people walking by or cars driving down the street. The rooms are also very noisy...I mean the floors squeak. This means that if your partner wakes up in the middle of the night, their walking back and forth to the bathroom could wake you up. On the other hand, I was woken up by the people staying in the room up stairs. They came back from a night out drinking. They were talking and walking around for over 30 minutes. You could hear every step they took and certain steps caused the floors to squeak.

Additionally, the "double bed" is really two bed pushed together. Normally, this style Euro bed has covers that are laid over the top of the bed and not tucked in. These covers were tucked in so well, that it was difficult to pull them out.

We also were not able to get the wireless internet working on either of our laptops...not a problem really, but it would have been nice.

I would not say that this was a bad hotel, but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnsilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

If you like small friendly hotels within walking distance of everything but tucked away in a quiet area then this is a lovely hotel to stay in. The family who run it make you feel very welcome without being intrusive. The breakfast was a good quality continental style. There is secure parking available at an extra charge which is a short walk away but wasn't a problem accessing the car when needed. I would definitely recommend this delightful little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We chose this hotel because we were on a budget and it offered quadruple rooms. We were only there one night but everything was fantasic. The quadruple room was actually four seperate beds in the loft of the fantastic building. The owners were very helpful, the breakfast was very good, location excellent and exceptionally clean. I would have absolutely no hesitation recommending this hotel. If this is a budget hotel, then the standards of the more expensive ones must be VERY high. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Brugge.

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Can't think of anything negative about this hotel!! Perfect in every way!! Pleasant owners, lovely room, great location, DELICIOUS BREAKFAST, free internet!!! Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaAliceJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We were in Brugge September 12-14. We chose the Anselmus based on reviews here and wer enot disappointed. The hotel was just 5 minutes from the main square - a straight shot and hard ot get lost. We stayed in a quad room on the first floor. We had 4 single beds (pushed together 2 by 2). The room was large. It had 6 chairs in a sitting area. This might be the room they use to accommodate 5 - it sure was large enough. From our windows we could look down to the room of the breakfast area. The room was quiet.

We enjoyed breakfast and my kids decided they like to drink tea. We did travel with some medicine that needed to be refrigerated. The owners put it in their fridge and it was safe.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Anselmus was a very friendly family run hotel .Very clean and compact with an excellent buffet continental breakfast.It was easy walking distance to city centre.
The family were very helpful on all counts.
Our room was small but clean with TV(4 UK stations) and safe included.Internet was also free in reception. Due to planning restrictions no lifts were allowed and the stairs were quite steep aith narrow treads,which could be tricky for older or less mobile people.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My husband, our college-age daughter, and I stayed at the Anselmus Hotel for 2 days and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The owners were most helpful and gracious. Our room was a good size and very clean. The breakfast buffet offered a wide selection of cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, meat s, cheeses, fruit and more and was served in a lovely garden view setting.
Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing