We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

fantastic little b & b , family run , from the minute we arrived , we were made welcome. the room we stayed in was superb , , we stayed in the red room which was superb . can,t fault the place.

Room Tip: the red room , 1 double and a single, perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilkspage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you want a great place to stay near the center of Bruges you cannot beat the Alegria. The owner/manager Veronique is very helpful. The rooms are modern large and comfortable, with wifi for those addicted to their PCs. The breakfast spread is great. In warm weather I'd suggest that you try for a garden view room due to the traffic, human and auto, on the street and the way it echos.

Room Tip: I would always ask for a garden room. The garden is pretty and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Alegria is more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. The owner/host made sure every detail was cared for, making our stay wonderful and welcoming. The Red Room is quite spacious--more room than the average hotel. The breakfast room is lovely, and the garden terrace even lovelier. You can read more details about my stay at Alegria here: http://juliegilley.typepad.com/my_far_and_away_blog/2011/08/the-bruges-bb-experience.html

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Great location, Alegria's family was too kindly and friendly. A lot of information about history and turistic site, at our arrive at Alegria. Very good position to visit the city. about 200 m. from the Groet Markt) Our room was clean and confortable. Great breakfast with all kind of delicious.
A very nice place to be.
Alessandro and Angela

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclipsee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My boyfriend and me stayed for 3 nights in the red room. Everything was great. Spacious room, and massive bed, very clean and roomy. The only thing, the room was on the second floor and the stairs were not very easy going. Good breakfast, not much variety of fruits but nice bread. Excellent location, closed to everything. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area which was very useful. We definitely would go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moremasmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

A fantastic little hotel. This was our first time to Bruges and the hotel owner spent time telling what to see, where to eat and how to get about.

The hotel itself is really well located, only a few minutes walk from all the key sights. The rooms are very nice and comfortable - we'll definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kekUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Brilliant hotel with a great location, two minute wall to the main square. Veronique the owner and manager of the family run hotel was so very welcoming. When we missed breakfast she would come knocking to see of we wanted anything, offered us umbrellas when it was raining and even a wheelchair for my boyfriends injured mum. If you don't know the area she will tell you everything and offer you discounts for attractions like the chocolate museum. She could not have done more for us. The best place to stay in Bruges!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickibye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#40 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#35 of 97 in Bruges
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#12 of 97 in Bruges
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Sint-Jakobsstraat 34, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £103 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria *** is a small Hotel de Charme, with a wonderful hidden garden overlooking a monument "The tower of the lords of Gistel " The location is top as only 100 meters from the Market square with it's famous Belfry ; shopping and historical area. The Hotel Alegria *** Manor houses dates 1890 .Hotel Alegria *** offers a lift , a garden and a hotelgarage ( 15 euro/night ) connected to the hotel. You will be charmed by the painted doorpanels,the massive oak floors the high ceilings with the ornaments even one with an original painting and the hand sculptured stairway head. All hotelrooms are created in soft colours We offer small double/twin , large or comfort triple rooms and comfort rooms with gardenview or superior room all constantly upgraded Each bathroom is different offering an A++ ventilation system and bio Cotton XXL towels . Rooms offer large bedding with bio mercerised cotton XXL sheets , smart flatscreen tv offering 45 channels ( incl all english ), a little fridge bar, coffee and tea facilities , a bottle of mineral water vittel , free wifi ( with security code ) are offered inclusive at Hotel Alegria *** In the morning a wonderful freshly made buffet breakfast is offered with view into the garden or in the garden as soon as the weather permits it. The buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice, daily fresh fruit salad, delicious cheeses and fine meats some vegetarion products , a range of cereals and breads ,viennoiserie ,yoghurts etc etc We love our Hotel Alegria *** and hope you will do the same! We are looking forward to welcome you. The family De Muynck Hotel Alegria *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing