We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy Place”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Happy Place”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Hotel Alegria has lots to offer and location is the primary reason we chose it. It is within walking distance to the market place. We arrived on a gloomy, unseasonably cold morning in March and the warm welcome from its proprietor, Veronique, deserves all five circles of an Excellent rating. She made us feel as if she had been waiting for us to welcome us into her own home. After checking in, she told us to leave our luggage and she would take it upstairs to our room. An elevator is being built. Each room has a different decor. Ours was the Mille Fiori room, with a window overlooking the inner garden and the belfry beyond. The room was nicely decorated with flowery prints and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The amenities she provided were thoughtful. She made the ambiance of the room as one I would find if I were visiting a dear family member who thought of making my stay as comfortable and welcoming as possible. Breakfast service was excellent and the offerings were delicious. This is an old family home that Veronique has converted into a warm, welcoming home for those who are fortunate to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    90
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
61
224
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had such a warm, welcoming reception right when we walked through the door! The owner was friendly, funny, and helpful. There are stairs, so be prepared to carry your bags up one or two flights-Veronique did give us a hand with this. The room and attached bathroom was clean and decor was relaxing- we stayed in the Babluette Room. Our view was at the front of the street, very nice view, but a bit noisy at night with buses driving past. Our bathroom did not have a shower curtain so the surroundings got wet, but the water was hot, draining not an issue. Free wifi. Breakfast was great! Hostess gave us recommendations on where to go for the best Belgian food! We would recommend this hotel!! We will come here again.

Room Tip: Only saw Babluette room, good for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiNali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

we stayed at this hotel in november a group of 3, very close to the main square in the center of the city. the room was very clean with a good wet room and comfortable beds, tea and coffe, tv. all in all i would recomend this as a good place to stay in Bruges

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtabiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just a couple of minutes walk from the main square this hotel / B&B is in the perfect location. We received a very warm welcome from Veronique, who was happy for us to leave our cases at the hotel prior to checking in. The room (Cuore) was perfect for us and our son - big enough, nicely furnished and very clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Veronique couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend both Bruges and the hotel Alegria to anybody.

The Connelly family, Hartlepool, UK

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharronDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent 2 very comfortable nights in this hotel. We were given a warm welcome and our host was very informative, providing us with maps, discount information, and other tourist pamphlets. The room was spotlessly clean, although it suffers from having a very large bed which means that one person has to sit on the bed to allow the other to move around. However, this is a very small fault in the overall comfort of the room. The breakfast was delicious, with the welcome addition of freshly squeezed orange juice. The location is very good, being only a few minutes walk from the main square. If we return to Bruges we would have no hesitation about staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking street has some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely family run boutique hotel (B&B). The location is perfect just off the main square (Markt) and so is very handy for sight-seeing, bars and restaurants. The owner is charming and very welcoming. Buffet-style continental breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the owner brought us freshly-squeezed orange juice and offered us a choice of eggs to go with our meats and cheeses. Our room was delightful, overlooking the garden and the rear of some of Bruges' amazing medieval buildings. Everything was spotlessly clean, well furnished and decorated. The bed was big and very comfortable. The bathroom offered a choice of a shower or a very big bath which was wonderful after a day of walking on cobbled streets. Some noise from the adjacent bar (bottle collections early in the morning) was the only fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMusicians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

C hose this hotel after reading all the excellent reviews,what a mistake and disappointment,we arrived late which was due to traffic problems and road diversons but did not expect such a rude welcome stating this fact and also making it obvious she had tried to take the money from our card as she "thought we weren,t coming". I think she took an instant dislike to us as she was never friendly or approachable and when using the garden at 6.00pm we were told "the garden closed at 7pm and would we be qiuet as other guests were having a rest!! We had never given this lady any need for this as we always left the garden tidy clearing away and rubbish,never returned late or noisy. We stayed in the Babulette room which is very tired and in need of refurbishment and cushions/seating not very clean. This is not a value for money hotel as lacks in quality,cleanliness and the breakfast was very basic. It appeared that this lady was running this hotel single-handedly which clearly was not good for her business and certainly not for guests as we will never return again.

Room Tip: Rooms with city view on street side are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Sint-Jakobsstraat 34, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria *** is a small Hotel de Charme, with a wonderful hidden garden overlooking a monument "The tower of the lords of Gistel " The location is top as only 100 meters from the Market square with it's famous Belfry ; shopping and historical area. The Hotel Alegria *** Manor houses dates 1890 .Hotel Alegria *** offers a lift , a garden and a hotelgarage ( 15 euro/night ) connected to the hotel. You will be charmed by the painted doorpanels,the massive oak floors the high ceilings with the ornaments even one with an original painting and the hand sculptured stairway head. All hotelrooms are created in soft colours We offer small double/twin , large or comfort triple rooms and comfort rooms with gardenview or superior room all constantly upgraded Each bathroom is different offering an A++ ventilation system and bio Cotton XXL towels . Rooms offer large bedding with bio mercerised cotton XXL sheets , smart flatscreen tv offering 45 channels ( incl all english ), a little fridge bar, coffee and tea facilities , a bottle of mineral water vittel , free wifi ( with security code ) are offered inclusive at Hotel Alegria *** In the morning a wonderful freshly made buffet breakfast is offered with view into the garden or in the garden as soon as the weather permits it. The buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice, daily fresh fruit salad, delicious cheeses and fine meats some vegetarion products , a range of cereals and breads ,viennoiserie ,yoghurts etc etc We love our Hotel Alegria *** and hope you will do the same! We are looking forward to welcome you. The family De Muynck Hotel Alegria *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing