We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

This was our first stay at the Alegria. Would definitely go back. The rooms were spotless. We stayed in the Zebra Room. The breakfast was very good. Pastries were excellent along with the fresh fruit. Great location. Short walk to the square. Veronique was very helpful with information about what was going on in the city. We enjoyed an Interior Tour of homes that she suggested. Also enjoyed the Chocolate Festival.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    90
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
56
221
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We have stayed here twice in the last five years and when we return to Bruges we will stay there again. The rooms were nice and well maintained, the breakfast was wonderful and Veronique was very helpful about things to do in the area. I don't know what the negative reviewers expected but this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brubrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We unfortunately have to agree with those that experienced bad attitude from the owners, we have travelled to over 60 countries and stayed in all kind of accommodation, but this is the worst in this respect. Shame, because everything else is pretty good.

So, if you lucky and the owners in "good mood", you will be happy. But if they are in the mood we (and seems we not alone) experienced, you will be very disappointed. The rudeness we experienced was nothing but shocking.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly, helpful people manage this bed and breakfast. Bathroom en suite. We stayed in the red room. This bed and breakfast is a very cute, clean, and charming place to stay. The breakfast was great! Lots to choose from including fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade jam. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We would deffinitely visit this bed and breakfast again.

  • Liked — helpful service
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drums4jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

I booked Alegria because of its close location to the Makt. After I had booked, I read the unhappy reviews of others and was considering cancelling the booking. However, as I was only going to be in Bruges a couple of days, I thought I would just put up with the "rude staff" for the benefit of the good location. I did not find the staff to be rude at all; their manner is a little different to my own culture - but I know rudeness when I encounter it, and that was not the case at the Alegria. The elderly lady was very kind in her straight-forward way. Veronique also was helpful. Breakfast was just fine - fresh juice, a selection of breads and pastries, cold meats, cheese and eggs (fried, scrambled or boiled). The stairs would be a problem with heavy luggage, which thankfully I did not have. I understand that the premises are to be extended and a lift will be installed. I would suggest that a handrail along the wall would be a very helpful addition for the safety of guests, as the stairs are steep and I did ascend and descend with caution. The room was lovely - large bed, nice linen and spotlessley clean. It would be a nice touch to supply tissues and toiletries other than the supermarket brand body wash in the bathroom. I would stay there again and certainly recommed the Alegria to others. I actually wonder how much travel has been undertaken by those who commented negatively as I now see their expectations to be quite unrealistic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Steep and narrow stairs
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

The location of this small B&B can not be beat! It's literally a few minutes walk right into the center of town! Rooms were very clean, and not a bad size for a european B&B. Nicely decorated, though the shower is something straight out of a submarine, very small, very odd little design, but hey, who cares, you're not staying there to hang out in the shower all day! The older lady that runs it isn't the nicest person i've ever met, she could use a couple lessons in politeness, but again, who cares, you're not there to hang out with her all day. The most important info on this B&B is that the location and price can not be beat! If you're driving there you can park in an underground parking garage just around the block, about 4 minutes walk.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bud89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

Great location! Stayed in the Chocolate Room that had a nice view out the back. We walked the city with ease, boated on a canal tour and biked to Damme. A 5 mile easy ride along the paved river trail that took us to the quaint village of Damme. Very fun. Ate at the wonderful and moderately priced Soufleur where locals go out for a special meal. Highly recommend it and the charming Fondue resturant down the street from Alegria. The Flemish stew was great and also the Swiss Fondue. Drink the local Monk made beer with every meal!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny bath/shower unit
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pickychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Sint-Jakobsstraat 34, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria *** is a small Hotel de Charme, with a wonderful hidden garden overlooking a monument "The tower of the lords of Gistel " The location is top as only 100 meters from the Market square with it's famous Belfry ; shopping and historical area. The Hotel Alegria *** Manor houses dates 1890 .Hotel Alegria *** offers a lift and to rent private garage parking connected to the hotel. You will be charmed by the painted doorpanels,the massive oak floors the high ceilings with the ornaments even one with an original painting and the hand sculptured stairway head. All hotelrooms are created in soft colours We offer small double/twin , large or comfort triple rooms and comfort rooms with gardenview Each bathroom is different offering an A++ ventilation system and bio Cotton XXL towels . Rooms offer large bedding with bio mercerised cotton XXL sheets , smart flatscreen tv offering 45 channels ( incl all english ), a little fridge bar, coffee and tea facilities , a bottle of mineral water , free wifi are offered inclusive at Hotel Alegria *** In the morning a wonderful buffet breakfast is offered with view into the garden or in the garden as soon as the weather permits it. The buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice, daily fresh fruit salad, free range bio eggs, cheeses, fine meats, a range of cereals and breads ,viennoiserie ,yoghurts etc etc We love our Hotel Alegria *** and hope you will do! We are looking forward to welcome you. The family De Muynck Hotel Alegria *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing