We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a charming town.”
Review of Hotel De Pauw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Pauw
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The hotel is very quaint. The owners are welcoming and quite helpful. Rooms are clean and adequate, although a bit small. Though we didn't really mind since we were out most of the day and only came back to sleep. Location is ok, a leisurely 15 minute stroll to the market. The only problem we had is that we had very heavy suitcases which we had to carry through the narrow staircase up to the second floor. The creaks on the floor and the closing of doors from other rooms can be easily heard from the room, but I guess we weren't so bothered because we were too tired after a long day's walking and sightseeing. Overall a good value. Breakfast is included and is quite satisfying.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_mommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Pauw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

Made me pay for two nights when I only booked one at the accommodation agency - I could not verify what was written since I cannot read Flaams. Made a big hassle about checking out and were generally loud and rude.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wadiawadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Two friends my wife and i stayed at the De Pauw between xmas and the New year. We arrived a lot earlier than we expected but were allowed to put our luggage in rooms untill they had been cleaned. The owner then showed us the around and explained with the use of a map our location and how best to get to centre of Brugge. It was a easy 10 minute stroll along the canal.

We were aware of noise before we travelled but didnt know why. At 7.30am the church across the road rings out (we counted 79 o clock one morning) it didnt bother us as we are early risers and found it quite amusing. The church itself is beautifull inside so have look.
Breakfast was plentiful although continental in style, with eggs done to your liking upon request..
We ate at the hotels own restaurant and the food is well worth what you pay. The ribs come out like a rack of lamb and the meat falls off the bone oooohhh so nice.

We were on the top floor and didnt suffer creaking floorboards so cant comment on those like others have as we found it very quiet. Our drawback was that the stairs on one flight were steep and quite a small tread so coming down was a concentration period

On balance we loved the De Pauw and plan to go back there in the Summer

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestBobWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Everything said was accurate, i would agree that it wasn't noisy save for squeaky floors. What can you expect in an old town house probably built before the U.S.A. was created. As regards the restaurant the food was very good. In fact the only fly in the ointment had nothing to do with the charming couple who ran it, the £ is so low now that it makes places like Belgium and Germany ( our other destination) expensive. It is a shame because Bruges for instance relies on the short break market.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayemWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Hotel is staffed by whom I presume were the adolescent children of the family that owns the hotel. Room was too small for a double bed but the flowers outside the window were a nice touch. Despite the quiet street, it was the loudest hotel I've ever been in; creaky floors, uninsulated windows let in lots of outside noise, upstairs toilet-flushing makes it sound like the water is cascading into your room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidavouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

A great, "best buy" 8-room hotel, one of four located in a quiet residential neighborhood around St. Gilliskerk, about 10-minute walk from the Market Place. Only one nearby restaurant, Oud Handbogenhof, which is owned by the same couple and serves excellent traditional Flemish food at 1/2 to 2/3'ds the cost of other Bruges restaurants. Room #8 was located on the 3d floor and one of the largest in the hotel. Nice, wide bed, good bathroom, extra blankets in room, and great cross-ventilation that made drying clothes a breeze. Breakfast was excellent, with boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, 3-4 kinds of bread/rolls, 2 kinds of ham, cheese, coffe, tea, juice, great jams.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelerK-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

It is a cheap hotel as Bruges goes and it is nice and quiet with room to park outside. It's only a short walk to the centre and the place is clean. The owners speak good English too which is a bonus.
However the place is very difficult to find unless you have a very good map and Bruges in general does not lend itself to cars.
Although we were told that we could book in at any time up until 10pm and even though we rang ahead to let them know that we would be arriving at 9.30pm out of courtesy, when we did arrive we were dealt with rather sullenly - we'd had a long day and could have done without that.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellingmanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montovani Hotel
Montovani Hotel
#79 of 97 in Bruges
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ensor
Ensor
#57 of 97 in Bruges
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Pauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Pauw

Address: Sint-Gilliskerkhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £73 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Pauw 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Pauw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing