We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay”
Review of Hotel De Pauw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Pauw
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2007

It is a cheap hotel as Bruges goes and it is nice and quiet with room to park outside. It's only a short walk to the centre and the place is clean. The owners speak good English too which is a bonus.
However the place is very difficult to find unless you have a very good map and Bruges in general does not lend itself to cars.
Although we were told that we could book in at any time up until 10pm and even though we rang ahead to let them know that we would be arriving at 9.30pm out of courtesy, when we did arrive we were dealt with rather sullenly - we'd had a long day and could have done without that.

  • Liked — The close proximity to the city centre
  • Disliked — Sullen owners
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellingmanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    67
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Paid for the renovated room - it was 55 stairs up all of them dangerously narrow. The bathroom was so small you could hardly shut the door - had to be a bit of a contortionist!!. Breakfast was basic, and as we had to leave at 6.15, we asked for some orange juice and a roll perhaps (especially as we had paid for breakfast), but it was just a shake of the head!

  • Liked — Bed was huge, but pillows square!
  • Disliked — stairs and toilet
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrslindahastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2006

Very compact room, however everything we needed and really huge comfy bed! Breakfast was excellent and it is essential that you visit their restaurant just around the corner - the best spare ribs we have ever tasted, lovely seafood dishes and everything cooked to perfection by the lady of the house. Going back for New Year break - can't wait.

  • Liked — Friendly english speaking staff - very helpful
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the owners' restaurant around the corner - excellent
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ju7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This hotel is an absolute nightmare to find if you are driving to Bruges. Make sure you have a good map! Once we (finally) arrived we found a really sweet little hotel on a quiet square only a 10 minute walk along the canal to the main part of town. The rooms are tiny but have all you need to enjoy a weekend break and are clean and cheap! One word of warning though - watch out for the stairs - they are very steep and I took a bit of a tumble down them - the ill effects of which I am still feeling nearly a week later!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rather limiited breakfast selection
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Our room at the Hotel DePauw was insanely small. But that was really the only problem that I had with it. I can't give it a bad review, because the place is cheap. We paid 65EUR which was by far the cheapest of all the places we stayed on trip trough Belgium, Germany, Austria, Prague. The steps are murdur as well - there is no evevator.
Aside from the size, the room was clean and overlooked the St. Gillis church which is very pretty. It does have a church bell that rings on the hour. Other than that, it was very quiet around the hotel. The location is great - only a 5 minute walk or so to the main square but away from the crowds and noise. Breakfast was also good (meats, cheeses, eggs boiled to your liking, good coffee.) The woman who runs the hotel is very pleasant and speaks English well. She also runs a restaurant around the corner from the hotel that was quite good. We found here there b/c we checked-in later in the evening so we decided to go back there for dinner.
I booked by e-mailing the hotel directly (they have a small website) and received a very prompt response.
Brugge is very beautiful and the beer is great. I'd definitely recommend going in the off-season, however. It was very crowded when we went in early August. Rent a bike a few blocks from the hotel at e-Kar and ride to Damme (<3 miles away). It's beautiful and there is a church tower you can climb for 1 EUR for a wonderful view.

Helpful?
6 Thank jgphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 March 2005

We stayed here in 2001. Sweet, homey little place with helpful owners. Smallish rooms but charming area. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Rock, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2004

It was our first trip to Brugge (in Summer 2002). We chose the Hotel De Pauw from a website. Through out the email and faxing of reservations, the staff was very helpful.
Once we arrived to the hotel the building is so cute in a quiet residential area. The interior fits the beautiful town. Be aware that there is a narrow steep stairwell, and our backpacks were helpful in the walk up.

We reserved the bedroom/bath combo: simply, clean and comfortable. Our view was of a locate church a window box of flowers. Breakfast the next morning was great. The owners and staff are very pleasant. The walk to the center of town is easy and close.

We enjoy the little village town of Brugge we would go back and stay at the same hotel. Brugee is the Venice of Northern Europe.

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kimber16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#72 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Asiris
Hotel Asiris
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Pauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Pauw

Property: Hotel De Pauw
Address: Sint-Gilliskerkhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Pauw 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Pauw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing