We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some downsides.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The location is great and very convenient for the main square and all the central sites. The hotel is tucked away down a little alleyway, and right on the canal. We found the young gentleman on reception helpful, pleasant and always happy to answer our questions. We had a room right on the
canal, in the basement, charming at first, very roomy but then noticed that the room was very dark. The tour boats come right past the window from late morning onwards which made us feel like zoo exhibits on a couple of occasions in the early evenings when we were showering and changing. The lighting and ventilation in the bathroom is limited/inadequate. Water was always hot, but needed to run awhile to get to a decent temperature. Breakfast was continental, always being replenished to ensure there was enough. We did not eat in the restuarant, but used the bar and got great service from the lady there. Would say this is a good place to stay if you want clean, basic accommodation in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Stay on the canalside, but not in a basement room.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank marilyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was in a fantastic location and we walked everywhere. Ten minute walk round the corner was a laundramat and it only cost 5 Euro. The hotel room was lovely and very clean, the bathroom was beautiful, breakfast was a must, it was a great way to start every morning. The man at reception was so helpful and was always on hand armed with a map to show us where to go, what to do and what was the best.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The hotel is perfectly located on one of the most beautiful canals in Bruges, and its breakfast room has an amazing view out over the canal. Our room was large and comfortable, with an equally large bathroom. I would suggest getting a canalside room as our room overlooked the alley above the entrance and there was constant noise until late at night as people traipsed up the alley to view and photograph the canal. I think a canalside room, as well as the extra view, would be perfect and reduce the extra noise. The hotel was fully booked both nights but breakfast was plentiful, with sufficient choice, and was constantly being restocked. Staff were helpful when we arrived and let us check in 2 hours early at 1pm, although we did not get shown to our room and were given the key early and sent to check ourselves whether it was ready or not! My only other complaint was that I had emailed the hotel to ask if they could recommend some restaurants to us for New Years Eve and the response I received merely had the menu for their own brasserie attached, and no offer to help us finding dining elsewhere should we not want to eat at the hotel. As it was, there were plenty of other restaurants offering much cheaper and more appetising sounding menus for NYE, and it would have been nice to have been given some independent advice. However, this is a minor quibble as all in all, it was a lovely stay and we would go back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The Hotel Bourgoensch-Hof was an excellent holiday experience in the heart of Brugge - making it easy to walk anyway, and making cab rides quite cheap (ours from the train station to the hotel was 10 Euro).

Our canal-side room was large, comfortable and very clean, with a fabulous bathroom and great hot water (essential in winter). The continental breakfasts (included) were ample and delightful, and the breakfast room overlooking the canal was very pretty. The English-speaking staff were very hospitable on arrival and throughout our stay, and were very helpful and prompt in responding to email queries when I made our booking. There was free wi-fi, available via a password, on enquiry. We didn't have a drink at the bar (which doubled as the breakfast room in the morning - not that it ever smelt like a bar), but it looked to be a very quaint place for a quiet drink at night.

Our only complaint is not particular to this hotel (though shared by it) but about the European trend of having twin beds together as a 'double' - so hard to get a real double bed in Western Europe!

Putting that aside, I wouldn't hesitate recommending anyone stays here, as the hotel was brilliant and central, the staff great, and it represented great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We had a delicious meal here, even though we weren't guests at the hotel. The simple local fare was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Warm, friendly atmosphere, not at all like a 'bar', but reminiscent of a French bistro. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Right from the time we booked the hotel staff were particularly helpful.
It was our first visit to Bruges so we were lucky to choose such a good small hotel in such a pretty and convenient spot.
We stayed in November during a bit of a cold snap so we were glad of the secondary double glazing and extra blankets, although the radiators were very quick to heat up so we only needed one blanket.
The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a separate toilet and bath with an adequate shower.
The Bistro was closed for a holiday when we stayed (not a problem as there are so many places to eat to suit all budgets) but breakfast was good and the dining room had a lovely view across the canal.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightandWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Came here to stay in October. Thought the room was beautiful, as was the room. The whole space was clean and tidy as well as being amazingly decorated and very spacious. It's on the doorstep of so much! The squares around the hotel are amazing and everywhere you look there is beautiful architecture. Excited to come back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty987651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £71 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing