We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Fab hotel, but quite pricey (well it is in Bruges!) at around £150 per night. But it does look out onto the canals (if you choose that type of room). Room brill, but bathroom small and not a stand up shower (very old fashioned for the quality of hotel). Also the room did not have any brochure giving hotel information and there were plastic glasses. If you are charging £150+ there needs to be a few extra touches. However, the view is worth it. The garage is around 400 metres away from the garage and driving/parking in Bruges is a nightmare, so be aware if you have lots of luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaiser1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Bourgoensch-Hof is on of the backdrop buildings for the most famous pictures in Brugge. It is in the middle of everything, yet tucked away and quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. Who would not enjoy breakfast each morning looking at the canal and swans.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MotoMoto2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I reserved a room with a canal view, and we were not disappointed! Our room on the top floor had a most picturesque view of the canals with swans, three bridges, and even a windmill in the distance. The hotel is right on the canal, near many restaurants, shops, museums, and the boat-tour departure points. The corner room was huge and very clean. Our only complaint was the wavy mattress. The free breakfast and wireless were nice.

Room Tip: Request a canal view corner room. Park at train station and take bus into Bruges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cougerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon at the end of a motorcycle holiday to the Alps and northern Italy and had decided to treat ourselves on the final night. The welcome was excellent, we were provided with directions to the secure garage a short distance away and after booking in we were shown to our room which overlooked the canal The room was well equipt, a good size and the bathroom was excellent.
The hotel is situated close to the centre of Brugge with all the main attractions within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
The hotel allowed us to keep our motorcycle securely garaged and also kept our luggage until our late afternoon allowing us the freedom to explore the city. The staff friendly helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepanman_1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. As a young couple, I must say we simply loved Brugge. About the hotel, I will start with good sides of it. First of all the location of the hotel is perfect for walking into town and it is situated just by the river which gives you idyllic views from your room as we chose canal side room . The bed was comfy so are the pillows and duvet. The rooms we tried were always spotless and free wifi is pretty fast and you receive a good signal across the property. Nice TV with English channels and the lighting was fairly sufficient. The breakfast was nice as well and the staff were always helpful and friendly. However, unfortunately we experienced the biggest problem when we found out that the rooms in the same category vary significantly. We were given a higher floor canal side room at first which was quite frankly not pleasant at all. The sofa was decrepit and the room was very dark. Then we asked for another room and moved down to the first floor. This room was a bit better than the first one, spacious, better view of the canal but this time the bed was ever so noisy which we were not comfortable throughout the night and the room itself was not cosy, inanimate with big empty walls. It doesn’t cost you an arm and a leg to hang a few nice things onto the wall. What we were expecting in the first place was the room that we saw on the hotels website which was on the lower ground floor. So you do not necessarily get this room, beware. After spending two unhappy nights in this room we finally made it to the room that was advertised on the internet. This room was totally different than the others with way better design and a character. If it was not for the last night in this room, I would never ever consider coming back to this hotel but last night made up for the previous rooms. So please beware which room you are allocated to since they are incomparable different. Also make sure you get a double bed when you ask for one, not a twin bed pushed together !! All in all, I would recommend this hotel with a good price/value ratio only for the lower ground floor canal side room,302, amongst the ones we saw surely. If not for that, there are better deals in town since many hotels available by the canal with better price. I Hope this review helps other potential guests to make a sure that they make the most of this small and charming hotel !!

Room Tip: twin beds, lower ground floor with proper canal vw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brotherjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAllewaert1, Manager at Hotel Bourgoensch Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your experience at the hotel.
I want to apologise that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay here at the hotel. As you mentioned it's important to specify as many requirements as necessary during booking. We only have limited rooms, and if the hotel is fully booked we're not always able to accommodate additional, last-minute requests upon arrival.

It is also right to state that the canal view rooms on each floor have different characteristics. As it happens, I have been to a conference this weekend where I specifically asked questions concerning this. Where before I was told that it's better to have a short selection of room categories, to simplify the choice for guests, it was now made clear to be as precise as possible, to avoid disappointment. So going forward I will make the necessary changes to the online booking system and add more distinctions, and room types.

In the end I am glad you did enjoy your visit to Bruges and thank you again for the time taken to leave your remakrs, which will assist us to improve customer experience going forward !

Kind regards,

Johannes Allewaert
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. Idyllic views on the waterfront welcomed us, complete with swans by the window. The hotel is a couple of hundred meters from the Belfry. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, especially Johannes who loaned me his personal cell phone charger. Breakfast is better than average for Belgium.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariusAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

we stayed here on 27-29 may. our room was on the canal side it had a nice view. it was expensive(320€) but if we wanted a canal view. the owner of the hotel was very helpful. breakfast was ok but could be better. the hotel is in the centre of Brugge. you can walk to the Markt (central square) in 3-4 minutes. the room was clean enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzyUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#23 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing