We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb location...”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I love everything about this hotel. The hotel has a lovely terrace overlooking the canal. Though I came there on winter time which there was no boat, but still the view was awesome. I got a spacious courtyard room with a bath-tub on the bathroom. The bed is comfy. The breakfast room is so lovely also. And the location is superb, you could take any bus from the main station to the zentrum and stop in Wollestraat. Next time I will book a canal view room, must be terrific during spring/summer time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    258
    129
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
399
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of November. We had a canal view room booked for a year, so was surprised when we were shown to a cellar room. This room did overlook the canal but was very dingy, poor lighting, smelled damp and poorly furnished. Dark green plastic headboard with old red formica table (no bedside cabinets). No decorative bed cover. Brown tiled walls. No heating or hot water on arrival but on request the boiler was switch on at 4.00pm !! What was good was the very helpful, friendly staff and great location in the heart of the old city. The Christmas markets start at the end of November, but the canal tour boats cease at the same time. We travelled to Charleroi airport, bus to train station, train to Brussels-Brugge and bus to Hotel and found it all very easy and cheap. We were able to buy a "Senior" RETURN rail ticket(on the net) which only cost an amazing 5.20 euros pp - Charleroi/Brugge !!

Room Tip: Canal side room is a must, provided it is not in the cellar (No.310) !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

So Brugge...location,service,breakfast, price; no better way to feel connected to this magical past! We loved our accommodation so much that we stayed longer and visited other cities from there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyage8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here in November 2011 for 3 nights. We payed extra for a canal view room and the view was really nice. The room was nice. Warm, clean, quiet, and while it wasn't very spacious, was more than adequate. The bathroom was nice and clean, however we didn't have a standing shower. It was a bath with a shower head. This may be a problem for people with mobility problems but it wasn't an issue for us. It seemed one of the nicer, more affordable hotels in Bruges and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in a very central and very nice location. The breakfast was basic but fine. The gentleman in reception, I cant think of his name now, was very helpful and courteous which I'm a bit disappointed to say didn't seem to be the case with many people we encountered on our 3 day trip to Belgium. This review is solely about the hotel however so I wont say much more about that. I would definitely return to this hotel if I were to go back to the Bruges

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed a night here in November 2011 in one of the Canal View rooms which had a really good view, especially at night.
The location could not be better for access to all parts of the city.
The room was large and clean but rather sparsely furnished (perhaps because of the large size) and the bathroom was in need of renovation, the shower was hand held.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
In summary I would say this is a good hotel for one night, for longer I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is surrounded by the water canals. During the night it's beautiful to see the lightened canals. Room offers good value for money, with rather spacious bath room. Our room was 235.
Arriving by car, consider to drop you luggage before parking the car.
Hotel can make a reservation for the (very crowded) parking about 5 minutes walking.
Pick up your reservated ticket before going there.
The name of the parking is: Pandreitje.

Room Tip: Go for 235 if you like a quiet room. For a view ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I booked a three night weekend stay at this hotel. I have to say that it was probabaly the best weekend away I've ever had with my partner. A lovely spacious room with a very nice bathroom. Comfortable and very quiet, even allowing for the proximity to busy roads and the main square nearby. The view from the windows was breathtaking, a romantic fairy tale view of the canal. It was difficult to say whether it was better during the day (continual sunshine for three days) or at night, when the canal is lit up.

We ate in the restaurant Erasmus on the first night, the food was very good. Breakfast was good and is taken in the old dining room with wonderful views over the canal. Location wise, the hotel is perfect, within walking distance of every attraction in Bruges, which is just beautiful. I had booked car parking for three days at €30 and this was very close. The reception and restaurant staff were all excellent. However, there was one area that prevents me giving the hotel 5 stars. The breakfast was quite shambolic. Each morning we had to clear tables in order to find somewhere to eat. Hot water for tea or coffee was often not available and cups and glasses had to be requested on more than one occasion. Regrettably the attitude of the breakfast staff was very poor, complaining constantly but seemingly unable or unwilling to get things right.

If this was put right, I would have no hesitation in giving the hotel the highest possible marks. It's a truly lovely hotel, with a few minor points that can easily be improved.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing