We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Place to stay in Bruges”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Right in the middle of things, walking distance to everything. One block from the Markt. Small room and small bathroom. Has an elevator. You can upgrade to a room with a view of the canal, but too much money for most people. You are there to see the town, not sit in the room. Did not try the restaurant but breakfast is very nice and totally adequate. I did a lot of research on this and this is a very good place. No bad side except for small rooms.

Room Tip: Hard to think any would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    257
    127
    25
    17
See reviews for
81
395
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The only good thing I can say about this room is it has a central location. The room was old, smelled musty, and looked old and worn. The staff was not friendly. The price quoted when making the reservation was not given to us. Overall a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We really couldn't fault this hotel - the location was perfect, so central & next to the canal,a perfect base, it was exceptionally clean, the room was very spacious & comfortable, the breakfast room was lovely & food was adequate. The staff were really helpful & the providing of a map on arrival proved to be invaluable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have just returned from Bruges having stayed in this hotel. We were a group of 8 and we couldn't have wished for a better location. We were not sure what to expect as it was a 3 star hotel but were very pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was great, rooms clean and we would certainly stay here again.

A & M McKenzie (and friends)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationsNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in what must of been the coldest weekend in Jan 2013 and while we paid for a canal view room, we couldn't enjoy it as the sash windows let in so much cold air! It meant the room was dark which was a shame. Good size room and good value overall, being right in the centre!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here first week of April 2013. I have previosuly stayed here in 2008. Great location, nice rooms, and good breakfast (typical European buffet). The staff were great whne I called to upgrade one of the rooms to a canal view. NOTE: Parking is a few blocks away but only cost 8 euro per day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouAreHere_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Positives. The staff are charming, helpful and friendly, eager to help. I disagree with other comments here about the service, which I found excellent.

The location, right by the canal and handy for the centre of town, is very good. It's not cheap, but fairly priced for the city.

The building is an impressive older property, and very atmospheric, especially the breakfast room which overlooks the canal. Didn't try the restaurant, but it looked busy and the menu looked good.

Only concerns were, firstly the breakfast buffet, which tended to run out of various items
( bread being one of them, which is disconcerting in a continental breakfast). The French gentleman at the table next to us, who arrived later than us for breakfast ended up basically with Brie and Nutella. Nothing at all wrong with the quality and choice, but maintaining the quantity needs some attention.

Secondly, and weirdly, the bathroom and toilet doors in our room were basically single large sheets of tinted glass. This meant that if the light was on ( and it had to be, because as an older building, there isn't a huge amount of natural light) you could see whatever was going on in the bathroom and loo in much more detail than you really want to. Never come across this before, and was uncomfortable with it! Maybe I'm too British!
I don't know if this is the case with all the rooms, but might be worth enquiring if you're sensitive............

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inmyprime_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing