We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel bourgoensch- hof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with a friend from 28 November to 2 December 2013

Excellent value hotel at one of the best locations in Bruges. Located on the canal at most photographed spot in Bruges. Good size room and bathroom. Beds clean and comfortable, tea and coffee making, free wifi and good hairdryer. Not luxurious but very good value. Good breakfast buffet included in price in dining room with lovely views over canal. Owners very helpful. Shower holder unfortunately located at waist height so not high enough to stand under and hence awkward to use. However - minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Must agree about the location, just minutes from the square & right on the canal. We had a dual aspect canal view room which was a delight to be in . OK so every little detail is not perfect but its a great hotel & its individual.Pleasant staff. Breakfast was help yourself to meats, cheese,breads pastries,cereals, yogurt & fruit,etc.Would be 5 stars but the lift broke down.Just one of those things really.Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms were lovely if a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location is the most important factor to me, luxury second. The hotel has a perfect location. directly on the Rozenhoekaal Canal. We stayed 2 nights in our downstairs room which looked right out onto the water and canal boats. The Market Square is 2 blocks away. They have secure parking availible in an old stable about 1/2 block from hotel. Everything was clean but not fancy or modern. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the sound of foot steps upstairs in the reception. That being said I would stay here again but upstairs next time. There is a wonderful little beer garden just accross the canal. A very nice place to slow down and enjoy a good Beer. This hotel is one of the most photograph places in the city. The town is very walkable and everything is close by. The hotel Is comfortable, not fancy but it is in a wonderful easy to get about location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_nut_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

First the pros, this hotel is in an excellent position, a few minutes walk from the Markt. The bed was comfortable the room large. The view from the window was attractive, with swans and ducks. The linen clean and towels worn but clean.
The cons, there was nobody to greet us on arrival. We were given canal view rooms, in the cellar! Next to the defunct toilets and the cleaners store. The smell was one of damp and decay that pervaded the nostrils, horrid. The room was so dark and dismal any longer a deep depression would have ensued. No fridge, no room safe, plenty of toilet paper but no tissues. Ghastly. The proprietor, obviously used to complaints was polite but impervious. This is really a two star establishment.
Would I return, definitely not.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank imra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It took us just 2 minutes to find the hotel after departing the bus from the train station. The surrounding area is perfect - smack-bang in the middle of Bruges City Centre - overlooking the main canal and directly next door to a fabulous Belgium Beer bar with one of the nicest beer gardens I've ever been in. We went in late November, and beside the fact that the room was a little small - I have nothing else bad to say. The bathroom was very modern (gorgeous power shower) and the view was stunning - we overlooked the street below which at first disappointed me as I was hoping for a Canal view, however after just a few hours of having the wall-long windows open onto the street below, hearing horses trotting past every few minutes and smelling the delicious aroma of melted, Belgian chocolate from the shops on the street - I couldn't have been happier. Bruges itself is a beautiful place, with plenty to do for couples and parties of holiday makers looking to relax and take in some scenery. Myself and my partner visited for 4 nights for our 3 year anniversary - we are in our early 20's and I can honestly say I enjoyed every second of my stay. The buffet breakfast was delicious. All fresh produce and a lovely selection of tea's. I haven't much enjoyed continental breakfasts in the past, but this one changed my mind. A very quiet and probably too warm room (probably the reason behind the huge amount of floor length windows) - in what was one of the most beautiful buildings in the whole of the centre - I was shocked that we'd booked such a gorgeous hotel for the price we'd paid. Thank you to the staff for a lovely stay and we both hope to be back sometime over the next few years for another trip to a fairy-tale town.

Rebecca Kidwell and Geraint Blunden.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights along with two other couples for a weekend break to see the Christmas markets. The bedrooms were small with en suites but clean and tidy. Bed sheets had a couple of holes in them so not too impressed with that. Room overlooked the river so a stunning view. So ok, nothing fantastic.

Breakfast was a bit of a scrum with the coffee frequently running out and not being refilled. Buffet type continental breakfast was ok (hams, eggs, bread, muesli, cheeses etc). You had to be lucky to get everything you wanted in one go without having to wait for the solitary serving lady to top things up.

It was €270 for two nights B&B so not cheap but ok (ish) for a very central Bruges location. The hotel is very close to all the shops, markets, restaurants etc.

Bruges, by the way, is simply stunning!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chippywarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James C S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing