We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We recently spent 3 nights in Bruges and stayed at this hotel. Despite our room being dark and located in the basement, everything else about the place was delightful. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were a treat. The room was large and the bed comfortable. But the best thing about the hotel was the location right on the canal! The views were beautiful and we had our own little bevy of ducks and swans greeting us in the morning and gently begging for handouts. Although tourist boats go by the window all day, they quit at 6:00 p.m. and then, it is quiet and serene in the neighborhood. And it turns out that in the most famous postcard shot taken from a nearby canal bridge, the hotel can clearly be seen!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiego_CALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    250
    125
    25
    17
See reviews for
78
387
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We loved this hotel! We woke up in the morning and it was magical to have swans waiting for us outside our window! Johannes was our guy who took extra special care of us. Breakfast was included in our plan (which took us till the second day to realize).

What a great location. The hotel sits in one of the most beautiful picturesque views I've ever seen and one of the most photographed in Bruges.

I'd highly recommend staying here! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at this wonderful old hotel over Easter weekend 2010 and fell in love with it, and Bruges. Andreas was fantastic and took excellent care of us; we had called the hotel directly and were given a lovely rate, a parking reservation and the promise that he'd take good care of us. From the guidance to the never-ending bowl of chocolate Easter eggs on the front desk, he did just that!

Unbeknownst to us, the Tour de Flandres was that weekend--so we even had Lance Armstrong ride by and got involved with all the festivities, which took place right up the road in the main square. Amazing! We also took a day trip to Waterloo and enjoyed that immensely as well.

When we realised that the four grandchildren and their mother were coming from the US to visit us inthe UK, we called Andreas again and booked a trip back to Bruges with them. Andreas gave us a good price on two large rooms (there were a total of seven of us) and, again, we had a fantastic stay in beautiful Bruges. We stayed for three nights in June and went to the Waterloo Battle re-enactment, which was incredible. Again, the secure parking up the street was very useful.

The kids--5, 7, 12 and 15--as well as their mother, just loved the hotel, the town and everything we did there. Being high above the canals was fantastic and they really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, too. As it was their first European experience, they found it all very enchanting and exciting, from the canal boat tours to the horse-drawn carriages to (of course!) the dozens of chocolate shops we visited.

Because this hotel is so centrally located and the staff so helpful and the rooms well-appointed, it's ideal--whether for a quiet couples' getaway or for a family visit with children. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCynthiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hotel is very well located in Bruges, 5 mins walk from the Belfort and with a lovely view of the canal from the bar, dining room and some of the rooms. It's right next door to the hotel where En Bruges was set. The other benefit of the location is it's off the main very busy street in a small courtyard which increases it's peacefulness.
The service we were given was excellent - friendly, helpful and warm. My only criticism was that our 2 rooms were a little dingy looking - freshly decorated but not well lit.
Breakfast was lovely, we were well looked after and the restaurant was very popular.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsedinburgh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
213 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We arrived in Bruges owing to a tip from an airport rep at BRU, after flights were canceled on Friday; and we arrived at this hotel somewhat by accident. Central location, not super close to the train station, right on a picture-perfect part of the canals. Perfect stay of 4 nights -- they put us up in a marvelous canal-side room, where we stayed except for one busy Saturday night in another downstairs canal-side room. Unlike the New York hotel reputed to boost their rates 3x, the BH was happy for our stay. Wonderful tasty breakfast was included in the reasonable price. We had mostly snacks and dessert otherwise in the canal-side cafe - dining room. (A bit chilly for their outside tables.) A real find: thanks for putting us up for the long weekend. We'll have FOND memories of Bruges!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torla42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

When we arrived yesterday with our young daughter, our room was prepared with an extra bed for her. The room we got (325) is extremely spacious and good value. The bathroom is large as well. The rooms have all just had a refurbishment which have given it a great feel to the place. It is a very cute hotel with old features still in place and as such gives a very characteristic feel to it. The central location is ideal for families as the boat tours are around the corner, and the large square with museums is around the corner as well. The service is second to none, and if you have the chance, ask for Johannes, he is the best, will make anything happen for you. Ask for room 325 when booking, it doesn't have canal views, but is by far the largest room in the hotel and very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

I had previously been to Brugge for a very short stay in 2009 (courtesy of a competition through my work place for a weekend break to any European destination) and was determined to go back after falling in love with this place! You can blame that all on the movie "In Bruges"!

After getting some Eurostar tickets on a special deal I then needed a centrally located hotel to stay at whilst in Brugge. After searching around I found Hotel Bourgoensch-Hof. Their website isn't overly informative (not enough photos, etc) and there's very few reviews of the hotel except for the ones on this site but I got a good deal for the 3 nights I needed including a breakfast buffet. I was reasonably familiar with it's location on Wollestraat from my last trip and knew that it was a great, central location to stay in with all the main squares, museums and sites being within a short walk's distance.

The trip was put into jeopardy after the Belgian train crash that occurred a week before we were due to leave but thankfully on the day the Eurostar did travel all the way to Brussels Midi without having to get off at Lille. A further train trip to Bruges and then the familiar walk from the train station led us to Dijver (where we previously had stay at Hotel De Tuilerieen) and then turning onto Wollestraat we managed to miss the hotel... Although it is on Wollestraat it is easily missed as it is down a small alley which opens up onto a small courtyard with a view of the canal (beautiful at night, had previously taken photos there on the last trip) There are signs on Wollestraat near the alley so once you know where it is you can't really miss it.

Upon checking in the female member of staff seemed a bit standoffish and unwelcoming but nevertheless we checked in without hassle and went up to our room. Although it wasn't strictly a canal view room you could see the canal from our window which overlooked the alley/courtyard entrance to the hotel. The room was spacious enough for two people, including a television, desk and chair near the door, a table and two chairs near the window and a warbrobe. The decor was a bit dated with the wallpaper peeling in some places but it didn't bother us as the hotel stated they were currently going through some refurbishment and so hopefully the rooms will get a lick of paint soon! The bathroom was clean and decently sized with a power shower within a bath, toilet, wash basin and hairdryer. The mattress on the bed proved a little too soft (slightly uncomfortable sleeping) but once again not a major issue, the bedding all seemed clean and the beds were made every day whilst we had breakfast or was out.

The refurbishment work that was happening in the reception area (hanging paintings, some decorating, etc) didn't intrude on our stay at all at the hotel so I must applaud them for this.

The breakfast buffet was a reasonably good start to the day and sitting at a table at the windows overlooking the canal was a great way to wake you up and get you planning your day ahead. Tea, coffee, jugs of orange juice and milk was all available along with various cereals, pastries (croissants, the pain au chocolat was particularly fresh and nice tasting) along with a selection of breads, cold meats, boiled eggs, some sliced cheese and fresh fruit. I'm not sure if any hot breakfast foods were available on request as I didn't ask. Like most hotel they also had their own bistro/restaurant which we didn't try while we were their (as we were on quite a small spending budget!)

At night it was nice to come back to the hotel and sit at the table and look out of the window at the tourists taking photos of the canal from the courtyard, just like I had done a few months before! I was a good way to unwind from a busy day of sightseeing, Belgian beer and Belgian waffles! The hotel and location was quiet (being February it wasn't as busy as our previous summer weekend in Brugge and we only noticed a few other guests in the hotel). Although the staff seemed a big standoffish at the start of our stay they were helpful when we needed to find a particular street on the map they had given us when we checked in, and upon checking out they proved very helpful and the lady who I assumed was the owner even took the time to have a five minute chat with us about her trips to Scotland!

Would recommend but remember, this isn't an overly luxurious hotel and the prices we paid were great for what we got, perhaps after the refurbishment the prices will go up though. It's location is great for all the sights, the building is charming and the canal view is always appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bleachershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing