We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Came here to stay in October. Thought the room was beautiful, as was the room. The whole space was clean and tidy as well as being amazingly decorated and very spacious. It's on the doorstep of so much! The squares around the hotel are amazing and everywhere you look there is beautiful architecture. Excited to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty987651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    255
    127
    25
    17
See reviews for
81
393
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We recently spent 3 nights in Bruges and stayed at this hotel. Despite our room being dark and located in the basement, everything else about the place was delightful. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were a treat. The room was large and the bed comfortable. But the best thing about the hotel was the location right on the canal! The views were beautiful and we had our own little bevy of ducks and swans greeting us in the morning and gently begging for handouts. Although tourist boats go by the window all day, they quit at 6:00 p.m. and then, it is quiet and serene in the neighborhood. And it turns out that in the most famous postcard shot taken from a nearby canal bridge, the hotel can clearly be seen!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiego_CALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We loved this hotel! We woke up in the morning and it was magical to have swans waiting for us outside our window! Johannes was our guy who took extra special care of us. Breakfast was included in our plan (which took us till the second day to realize).

What a great location. The hotel sits in one of the most beautiful picturesque views I've ever seen and one of the most photographed in Bruges.

I'd highly recommend staying here! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at this wonderful old hotel over Easter weekend 2010 and fell in love with it, and Bruges. Andreas was fantastic and took excellent care of us; we had called the hotel directly and were given a lovely rate, a parking reservation and the promise that he'd take good care of us. From the guidance to the never-ending bowl of chocolate Easter eggs on the front desk, he did just that!

Unbeknownst to us, the Tour de Flandres was that weekend--so we even had Lance Armstrong ride by and got involved with all the festivities, which took place right up the road in the main square. Amazing! We also took a day trip to Waterloo and enjoyed that immensely as well.

When we realised that the four grandchildren and their mother were coming from the US to visit us inthe UK, we called Andreas again and booked a trip back to Bruges with them. Andreas gave us a good price on two large rooms (there were a total of seven of us) and, again, we had a fantastic stay in beautiful Bruges. We stayed for three nights in June and went to the Waterloo Battle re-enactment, which was incredible. Again, the secure parking up the street was very useful.

The kids--5, 7, 12 and 15--as well as their mother, just loved the hotel, the town and everything we did there. Being high above the canals was fantastic and they really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, too. As it was their first European experience, they found it all very enchanting and exciting, from the canal boat tours to the horse-drawn carriages to (of course!) the dozens of chocolate shops we visited.

Because this hotel is so centrally located and the staff so helpful and the rooms well-appointed, it's ideal--whether for a quiet couples' getaway or for a family visit with children. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCynthiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hotel is very well located in Bruges, 5 mins walk from the Belfort and with a lovely view of the canal from the bar, dining room and some of the rooms. It's right next door to the hotel where En Bruges was set. The other benefit of the location is it's off the main very busy street in a small courtyard which increases it's peacefulness.
The service we were given was excellent - friendly, helpful and warm. My only criticism was that our 2 rooms were a little dingy looking - freshly decorated but not well lit.
Breakfast was lovely, we were well looked after and the restaurant was very popular.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsedinburgh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We arrived in Bruges owing to a tip from an airport rep at BRU, after flights were canceled on Friday; and we arrived at this hotel somewhat by accident. Central location, not super close to the train station, right on a picture-perfect part of the canals. Perfect stay of 4 nights -- they put us up in a marvelous canal-side room, where we stayed except for one busy Saturday night in another downstairs canal-side room. Unlike the New York hotel reputed to boost their rates 3x, the BH was happy for our stay. Wonderful tasty breakfast was included in the reasonable price. We had mostly snacks and dessert otherwise in the canal-side cafe - dining room. (A bit chilly for their outside tables.) A real find: thanks for putting us up for the long weekend. We'll have FOND memories of Bruges!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torla42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

When we arrived yesterday with our young daughter, our room was prepared with an extra bed for her. The room we got (325) is extremely spacious and good value. The bathroom is large as well. The rooms have all just had a refurbishment which have given it a great feel to the place. It is a very cute hotel with old features still in place and as such gives a very characteristic feel to it. The central location is ideal for families as the boat tours are around the corner, and the large square with museums is around the corner as well. The service is second to none, and if you have the chance, ask for Johannes, he is the best, will make anything happen for you. Ask for room 325 when booking, it doesn't have canal views, but is by far the largest room in the hotel and very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing