We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as billed”

Dumon Artisanale Chocolatier
Ranked #19 of 50 Dessert in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as billed”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is just one chocoholic's opinion, but I agree with Rick Steves that this is outstanding chocolate. I first passed one of the tout lying shops but it was tiny and the woman who worked there was sort of chilly. So I left and walked to the shop just off the Markt and I'm glad I did. Madame Dumon was there and she ended up helping me. I bought a bunch of chocolate bars as gifts but also bought a box of assorted dark chocolates. I thought I was getting the smallest size and didn't realize that I'd actually bought twice as much as intended (so glad I noticed there was a second layer!) until I made my way through the top layer. I've made worse mistakes than buying twice as much Belgian chocolate as I meant to. I highly recommend the chocolate and the experience at the Markt shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    12
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very helpful guy serving, was happy to explain all the chocolates & flavors.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We found this place from a blog post (searched 'best chocolate in bruges). Quaint building just off the main square,so we weren't sure if it would be a 'tourist trap. It wasn't! The chocolates are fabulous & the young man helping us was truly knowledgeable about his family business. We even discovered a wealth of the most delectable stevia based chocolates. No sugar & therefore diabetic friendly! You would never know.
I was so impressed with his help that i'm writing this review round the corner with the bruges wifi!
There were lots of other chocolate shops where the product was not remarkable. So,,glad to have found Dumon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixiemog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect cafe !!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stopped for an afternoon coffee and pastry. The hostess kindly and cheerfully helped us pick out our selection from the pastry display with suggestions and descriptions. We weren't rushed and sat for an hour sipping our coffee and treats.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous chocolates!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We visited the little shop rather than the cafe! Very busy but the staff were very pleasant and helpful. One older lady said the chocolatier was her son - she pointed out the Stevier chocolate toe me whilst my husband went Dow into the lower floor to chose some items - I think she was being kind as I am a bit ample - I did buy some and it was delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bentalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creamy delights”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Although pricey, these creamy, delightful and yet light chocolates are worth every penny. Now i'm home, I'm wondering why I didn't bring any back for me! We only saw two shops, the smaller one behind the Grand Markt is better than the sit in shop. Recommended to us by an American couple who often visit Brugge, we were pleased we paid them a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rozmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dumon Artisanale Chocolatier also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Dumon Artisanale Chocolatier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing