We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #2 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were incredibly impressed by The Townhouse and it's lovely owners Sandra and Jason couldn't have been more welcoming. The room we stayed in (the Vanilla Suite) was absolutely gorgeous - very modern, immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed and blissfully quiet outside (the room is much bigger than it looks in the promotional photos).

The breakfast made a welcome change from the usual hotel experience - three courses (fruit, followed by yoghurt and then a choice of cooked eggs, bacon etc etc). It was delicious. The location was also perfect for seeing the city- about a five minute walk to the Markt, along a quiet residential street.

We will definitely be recommending The Townhouse to family and friends, and would certainly book again ourselves should we return to the lovely Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandHopper7527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
139
357
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Friendly family-run guest house right in the centre of the City. The room was luxurious (especially the huge, comfortable bed) and the breakfast was delicious. The owners were really helpful. It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We just stayed in Bruges for two nights, and of all the places we have stayed in, the Townhouse stands out by a mile. The original house has been extensively renovated and is sheer luxury with attention to detail in every aspect. The hosts Jason and Sandra could not have been more helpful. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh juice and fruit, compotes as well as a cooked course and limitless tea and coffee. The location was also excellent. We like quiet places and this is situated in a quiet street but walkable to everywhere- 15 minutes from the station and ten minutes from the main square so perfect. At night you can see the churches lit up from the windows- so beautiful. Jason and Sandra are excellent hosts and went out of their way to please us, even changing the tea bags in the room to the ones they knew we liked at breakfast- without us asking! They were also very helpful with recommending places to see and eat and both nights the restaurants they recommended delivered in style which is so important on a short trip. We could not have asked for more and we will definately stay there again as The Townhouse as well as Bruges is a great place and two nights was not enough time! We particularly loved the fact that you can get everywhere on foot and our hosts were happy for us to drop in and out whenever we liked to have a rest - we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are outstanding but you must be comfortable climbing stairs if you choose the top ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieVillars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Bruges is a stunning location for a weekend getaway but to stay somewhere which reflects the beauty of the surroundings made our weekend. The Townhouse has been totally renovated and is in a perfect location - its in a quiet residential street yet is only a few minutes from the hub of town. We took a leisurely wander to the market and tourist attractions, slow wander back after a coffee and then venture out again - at 6 months pregnant, a short stroll back to comfort for a bit of R&R is essential! There is a real home from home feel thanks to our hosts Jason and Sandra who have truly put their love into The Townhouse. They welcomed us as if we were extension of their family - they have maintained the homely feel whilst also making us feel pampered in our luxurious rooms! If you like a good hearty home cooked breakfast, definitely worth a stay!! We are planning our next visit with our baby in the spring..maybe even treat our elderly parents and make it a real family visit. Highly recommended - and coming from someone like me who is very fussy (and a bit of a snob!) when i stay away from home, the Townhouse is just ideal!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handbags-Shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had a really great stay in Bruges at The Townhouse. The bed was super comfy and the room was very nicely decorated. Loved the huge bath and walk in shower! We were looked after really well by the hosts and the breakfast was excellent every day-couldn't wish for anything more! Also only a few minutes walk from the centre of Bruges.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend in July. It was a great location walking distance to everything. The owners have recently refurbished the place and it's stunning. We stayed in the Plum suite which was lovely, the bathroom had a great view of the church which looks amazing all lit up at night. The breakfasts were great, loads of choice. We are both vegetarian which wasn't a problem. Everything freshly cooked/prepared and beautifully presented. Finally, the hosts Jason and Sandra were great, nothing was too much trouble, they made us feel really welcome. Lots of help in suggesting places to visit and eat etc. We had a really great weekend here, would definitely stay at the Townhouse next time we're in Bruges, and have recommended it to a number of friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent a delightful long weekend in Bruges. The Townhouse is a lovely place to stay in a handy location with charming, friendly and helpful hosts in Jason and Sandra.
We booked two rooms as we travelled with elderly parents. We just missed out on the family room (we have two kids) but when I called Jason nothing was too much trouble and he organised a blow up bed for the children. They loved it and the double room was more than big enough to accommodate us all. The location is also great as it is just separate from the hustle and bustle but within a short walk of everything you want to see and do in Bruges. This was perfect for our parents as they were able to nip back to the B&B for a rest if the shopping or sightseeing or chocolate sampling got too much. Breakfasts were tasty, generous and stylishly served and restaurant recommendations were very helpful.
I would highly recommend the Townhouse and our hosts to anyone thinking of spending some time in Bruges.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Werkhuisstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive renovation project 'The Townhouse' Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Bruges has opened its doors and has welcomed their first guests on June 3rd 2012.The 19th century building has been turned into a beautiful B&B and home for the Barnes family. The house is located in the historic city centre just 5 minutes walking distance from the most romantic spot in Bruges, 'Het Minnewater', and 10 minutes from the market square. Email us with your enquiries or book online now. We look forward to welcoming you in one ofour 3 luxury suites or our luxury family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing