We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and relaxing - a perfect getaway”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #2 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing - a perfect getaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I really cannot rate this beautiful B&B enough!!! you will not be disappointed. everything was absolutely perfect. You are made to feel so welcome. Sandra and Jason are the perfect hosts, I honestly don't think we could have experienced the real Bruges if it wasn't for both of them. the room was perfect, everything you need, the bath is amazing. The breakfast is the perfect start to the day and so delicious. I cannot wait to return back to this outstanding property. Amazing people, perfect location and great hosts. thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
375
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed in Bruges many times. This B&B was without a doubt the best accommodation so far. We would not want to stay anywhere else now! Michael could not have been a better host,nothing was too much trouble. Our room called 'Plum room' was lovely and breakfast delicious.M & A.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we stayed for three nights at The Townhouse with 2 of our girls.
We got large room with separate room for the girls. The experience was excellent - Defiantly It is the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Jason and Sandra are the best and make you feel very welcome and they help with directions to all of the attractions and with reservation for the recommended restaurant around. The breakfast serve was the best we had.
The rooms clean and looks like new. The place and the rooms are nicely decorated which make your stay very pleasant.
I defiantly recommend The Townhouse to anyone who plane to stay in Bruges and will stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: we stayed at the Cinamon which is best for Family. the room is large with seprate room fo the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My mother and I stayed here for one night in August. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer.

Michael was presiding over the B&B whilst Sandra and Jason were away and did a wonderful job. The service he provided was second to none. When he realised that we had travelled without yet having lunch and it was raining outside he braved the rain and bought us lunch to have in the comfort of the B&B!

We stayed in the Vanilla room on the top floor. The room was beautifully organised with tea and coffee making facilities also. Digital TV and high speed wifi completed the setting.

Breakfast in the morning is a lavish four course affair. Eggs (cooked to your liking), pancakes, fruit, yoghurt and pastries will keep you going until well after lunch time.

Once again we are only remorseful that we didn't get to enjoy this beautiful setting for longer. Oh well, time to start planning another trip!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staying at The Townhouse is a must in Bruges! First the owners Jason and Sandra make this beautiful place even better. They were very welcoming and provided directions on where to go, what to do and eat while staying in this magnificent city. Spot on recommendations! The place is spotless and their attention to detail on the renovations of this beautiful home was evident. We stayed in the Vanilla room on the top floor which featured a very comfortable bed and spacious modern bathroom. The AC unit had our room cooled down perfectly for an excellent nights sleep. Free Wi-Fi that is super fast. We could not ask for anything more!

Breakfast was three course and excellent! Bacon, eggs, omelets, smoked salmon, pastries, yogurt, fruit...you do not leave hungry! Do not worry about parking as after you drop off your luggage you drive one block into the secure parking garage and you will not need your car again until you leave. The location of The Townhouse is perfect for enjoy all Bruges has to offer. You can walk everywhere you need to go.

When my wife and I travel we always stay at a Bed and Breakfast and this is definitely at the top of our list. Simply the best that we stayed in during our 10 day tour of Belgium and Germany. We loved our time at The Townhouse & Bruges so much we stayed an extra night!

Sandra and Jason, thank you for taking a risk, purchasing this home, restoring/remodeling it to its current beautiful state and opening up The Townhouse. You both are truly doing what you should be doing, living a life of purpose. We are thankful to have met you and experienced a stay at The Townhouse. Keep doing what you are doing! We will be back!

Room Tip: Vanilla Room was on the top floor. Beautiful and quiet. Great views! Jason will help get the lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARE17225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay! We were travelling with two small kids Jason and Sandra made us feel very welcome and relaxed anf made our experience of bruges stress free! We experienced excellent service, tips on where to visit whilst being in the city, Jason even booked us restaurants for our stay, and the breakfast was superb!! My little girl enjoyed the childrens room in the family suite with great selection of dvds for the kids to watch. Would highly recommend this unique B&B to anyone as the website pictures do not do it justice!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatos088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 lovely evenings at the Townhouse. We could not have been more pleased. Our room (Vanilla) was lovely and spotless, equipped with every amenity and then some. There was a lovely personal guidebook provided, written by our hosts, with itinerary suggestions. The entire house was just lovely, having been recently renovated with great care.
Our hosts, Jason and Sandra, were lovely as well. Jason does the serving and most of the greeting. Sandra is the gifted chef. Our breakfasts were lovely 3 course affairs, and absolutely delicious.
The Townhouse is a short walk into the center of town, and a great location. I recommend the Townhouse in the strongest possible terms.

Room Tip: We loved the Vanilla suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Werkhuisstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive renovation project 'The Townhouse' Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Bruges has opened its doors and has welcomed their first guests on June 3rd 2012.The 19th century building has been turned into a beautiful B&B and home for the Barnes family. The house is located in the historic city centre just 5 minutes walking distance from the most romantic spot in Bruges, 'Het Minnewater', and 10 minutes from the market square. Email us with your enquiries or book online now. We look forward to welcoming you in one ofour 3 luxury suites or our luxury family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing