We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Petit Maxim

Petit Maxim
Ranked #160 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We looked at many restaurants menus before selecting Petit Maxium. The daily menu selection was execellent! It is small and cozy. I highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renaudjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    86
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Informal and Chatty”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We came on a wet night and there were a few customers so we had a chance to talk to the owner and really enjoyed the way he prepared the food and the presentation of the dishes. Good, simple cuisine and food that tasted like it had been freshly prepared, not stewed-to-be-summonsed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrFredBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not too expensive”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was one of those horrible wet days on holiday when you are cold, wet, tired and hungry, so I wanted comfort food. There was limited vegetarian choice and the fettuccine I had was not really very nice. It had obviously been microwaved so all the vegetables were soggy and the pasta oily.
I thought the service would have improved greatly if the waiter concentrated on his diners instead of having an in-depth conversation with his friend. Only the rain kept me from walking out. For Brugge it was not too expensive. However, there are some good reviews for this restaurant so perhaps I visited on a bad day all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Veggi Spaghetti”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We went in there having seen it only from the outside. The menu looked good and when we were seated were given a menu in English. I ordered veggi spaghetti and a glass of Belgian beer. The beer was typically good and when the spaghetti arrived it was piping hot and very tasty with good tasting tomato and herbs. Grated Parmesan cheese was supplied in a side dish. Good service, inexpensive and good value. Would go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColboySomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food &atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great value and whilst limited choice it was everything we wanted.

Found the restaurant as we walked along by the canals and whilst it is a small place with a limited menu the food was very good, the service excellence and the atmosphere good. It also had a good choice of beers including the excellence Bruges Zot. I would definitely recommend it and will revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Maxim also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Petit Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing