We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bar”
Review of Le Trappiste

Le Trappiste
Ranked #1 of 41 Nightlife in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Le Trappiste is a specialist beer bar located in an 800 year old medieval cellar in the heart of Bruges, only 300 metres away from the main Market Square. 17 Beers on tap including regular guestbeers, 80 bottled and 20 or so on guestboard. We have an international beerlist with beers from Belgium,the Netherlands, UK, Denmark,Germany,USA,Italy.. Well worth a visit if you love beer! OPEN 7/7 at 5 PM
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Bar”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited this bar after recommendation from fellow Bruges tourist. very easy to find and literally 3 minutes from the Markt square
Stunning cellar bar with very welcoming greeting from the friendly Italian barman. Very good selection of drafts with a taster menu too. Recommended a 'house exclusive' tripple called'Abbot', explaining that the brew is less hoppy than some of the alternatives. Quite simply the best tripple I have ever tasted!
After chatting to the barman it was obvious that he was very passionate about his beers, and even dug out his Westvleteren 12 for us to try. Next sample was an interesting Italian dark that was surprisingly good too.
A must visit when in Bruges!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    104
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon london
2 reviews
“Interesting and friendly cellar bar”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We went to this bar after reading some other reviews. Martin really looked after us and recommended beers for us to try whilst there. He also recommended some other things we should do in Brugge and different restaurants and bars. A great place to enjoy Belgian beer.

Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Wombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beer heaven in the beer capital”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Any bar in Bruge has a wide selection of great and rare bottled beers but Le Trappiste has done something extra. They have a collection of good non Belgium beers as well and a passion for them all.
I was there was a bit earlier in the evening and was quieter so the staff were able to spent some time to not only go through the flight of beer's I ordered but to discuss my thoughts on them which was a joy for a beer lover like myself.

Well worth a visit for the beer and the bar itself, well worth the slight trek from the town centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
Andrea D'Aniello
owners-managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Bruges”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a hidden little gem, that is a must visit if you are in the city. The Bar it self is absolutely beautiful and then to add to this, they have the best selection of draft and bottles beer I have ever seen. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My husband and I have very keen beer drinkers so have the expert willing to over advice on the best beers was really great for us as we were able to sample some very good local drinks. They offer a sampling paddle were you have a have small glass of 5 beers. I would recommend trying this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boro1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
Andrea D'Aniello
owners-managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mungrisdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Has to be the best bar in Bruges”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Please make this bar number one on Tripadvisor as it has to be the best bar in Bruges.

Not only does it have a fantastic selection of bottled and draft beers, but the staff are second to none in the city. They go out of their way to make you feel really welcome (not always the case elsewhere) making every visit one to treasure.

The surroundings are fantastic, with magnificent vaulted ceilings, definitely architectural delight!

Well Worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NearHoweCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
Andrea D'Aniello
owners-managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Trappiste also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Trappiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing