We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beer and great bartenders”
Review of Le Trappiste

Le Trappiste
Ranked #1 of 41 Nightlife in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Le Trappiste is a specialist beer bar located in an 800 year old medieval cellar in the heart of Bruges, only 300 metres away from the main Market Square. 17 Beers on tap including regular guestbeers, 80 bottled and 20 or so on guestboard. We have an international beerlist with beers from Belgium,the Netherlands, UK, Denmark,Germany,USA,Italy.. Well worth a visit if you love beer! OPEN 7/7 at 5 PM
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beer and great bartenders”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hard to fault a place like this. Beautiful cellar bar with a great beer list. Bartenders were supernaturally accommodating on both my nights there. They know what they're talking about and they're really good people. Music was jazz and blues on my first night. Second night it was Led Zeppelin. Two different bartenders. Two different tastes in music - the bar has a soul. Snacks were awesome. I wish I'd stayed longer in Bruges just to hang out in this bar.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    104
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stumbled upon this place while wandering through the streets of Brugge. We were blown away by the vaulted cellar the bar occupied. We visited during the middle of the day and the bar was not crowded at all and the owner's were very enthusiastic about beer and talked with us a lot. It was great. The bar had a great selection of taps as well as bottles and the sampler really allowed you to try several different beers. We met a few of the other patrons as well and they were very friendly. Overall we really miss this place and would go back in a second. Highly recommend visiting this place if you get a chance.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank orveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Loved this wonderful find! Picked up an ad at another restaurant and tried unsuccessfully to find it one night. Tried again and were so glad we did! It's in an amazing cellar and offers an impressive list of beers. We had some yummy snacks (homemade olives!) and each tried two delicious beers. Really cool place with great music. Find it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HollisterRanchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Bar”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited this bar after recommendation from fellow Bruges tourist. very easy to find and literally 3 minutes from the Markt square
Stunning cellar bar with very welcoming greeting from the friendly Italian barman. Very good selection of drafts with a taster menu too. Recommended a 'house exclusive' tripple called'Abbot', explaining that the brew is less hoppy than some of the alternatives. Quite simply the best tripple I have ever tasted!
After chatting to the barman it was obvious that he was very passionate about his beers, and even dug out his Westvleteren 12 for us to try. Next sample was an interesting Italian dark that was surprisingly good too.
A must visit when in Bruges!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon london
2 reviews
“Interesting and friendly cellar bar”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We went to this bar after reading some other reviews. Martin really looked after us and recommended beers for us to try whilst there. He also recommended some other things we should do in Brugge and different restaurants and bars. A great place to enjoy Belgian beer.

Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Wombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Trappiste also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Trappiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing