We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Bar in Belgium!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Trappiste

Le Trappiste
Ranked #1 of 41 Nightlife in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Le Trappiste is a specialist beer bar located in an 800 year old medieval cellar in the heart of Bruges, only 300 metres away from the main Market Square. 17 Beers on tap including regular guestbeers, 80 bottled and 20 or so on guestboard. We have an international beerlist with beers from Belgium,the Netherlands, UK, Denmark,Germany,USA,Italy.. Well worth a visit if you love beer! OPEN 7/7 at 5 PM
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Bar in Belgium!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the best bar I have ever visited! Hiding deep within a 13th Century cellar in Bruges lies a bar with biggest quality selection of beers and the best Trappist beers available including the coveted Westvleteren 12: the worlds best beer. Everything from the candles in beer bottles to the eclectic playlist set the mood for a fantastic evening. We were served by the owner Andrea who was not only super friendly and knowledgable but was great to talk to throughout the night and made our visit to Le Trappiste something we will never forget.

If you are in Bruges, this bar is a must visit. I would go back to Bruges for this bar alone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cliff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    99
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you like beer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

You will love this bar. It's not just because it has a fantastic range of beers - you can find that all over the city. The thing that makes this place really stand out is the staff. We went here twice and met two different staff. Both had amazing knowledge of all the beers they sell. At the end of each night we asked each of them to recommend a final beer for us, based on what we'd said about the ones we'd already tried. On each occasion their choices were perfect. We like to think we know a little bit about beer, but we certainly got an education there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank malcclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best bar in Bruges/Brugge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place. The staff made us feel instantly welcome. They a have a huge selection of Belgian and international beers, they're very knowledgeable about them and they take pride in how they serve them to you. There are locals in there at the bar as well as visitors from all ovr the world who are also friendly and welcoming. Can't recommend enough how much you should look for this place and spend an evening or two in there.

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Google Translation
Geachte Mevrouw,
Geachte heer,

Hartelijk dank voor uw positieve feedback op Tripdvisor. Het is van onze grote zorg voor onze klanten tevreden te stellen op alle mogelijke manieren Wij hopen te hebben gemaakt dat u zich 'thuis' in onze cellarBar en hopen Wellcome je weer een dag als je terugkomt naar onze mooie stad te bezoeken!

Aarzel niet om onze Facebook-pagina en als het te bezoeken!

vriendelijke groeten

Regnier De Muynck
eigenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A beer cellar - it's in a cellar and sells beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Le Trappiste absolutely does what it says on the tin. A brilliant cellar bar a few minutes from the tourist centre which sells a great selection of beer. (They also had Prosecco!).
Stella Artois was the "weakest" bear a5 5.2%, so make sure that you're wearing your drinking pants!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great setting for great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I hadn't planned on visiting Le Trappiste, but am really glad that we did.

The bar is in a cellar, nicely cool on a hot day. Twelve beers on tap, with a big menu over the bar giving descriptions and lots of bottles. The beer menu is extensive yet prices reasonable for the town.

Speaking as a beer-lover I'd have to say that Le Trappiste is one of the top ten bars I have been to around the world and definitely worth a visit to try some of the great beers of Belgium.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTrappiste B, Owner at Le Trappiste, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripdvisor. It is of our great concern to satisfy our customers in all possible ways We hope to have made you feel ' at home' in our cellarbar and hope to wellcome you again one day when you come back to visit our beautiful city!

Please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page and like it!

Kind regards

Regnier De Muynck
owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Trappiste also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Trappiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing