We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel in the good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marcel
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK hotel in the good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel after reading many nice reviews. The location is great, the rest in our opinion does not deserve 4 stars. For 128EUR the breakfast was not included in the price. There is no lift in the hotel. Carrying two heavy suitcases on the 3rd floor was not nice. We did not like the room at first because of how the bed was made. The hotel uses linen and it's not ironed so the bed looks very untidy. The bathroom is more like a wet room, so when you are having a shower the water goes all over the bathroom floor which is rather unpleasant.
The WiFi did not work and when we complained at the reception the person was not able to understand how to restart the WiFi and just told us in not very good English that he is not an IT specialist and if we are not happy we should leave. We had a good sleep and the girl at the reception in the morning was friendly so in the end we decided not to complaint to the manager.
It's an average hotel in the good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevoraLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    92
    24
    2
    6
See reviews for
37
138
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

As many others have mentioned, Hotel Marcel is the perfect location for exploring Bruges -- it's super close to the market and walking distance to everything in the small city. The staff here are very friendly -- they helped us with parking, dinner recommendations and really made our stay more comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and well worth paying for if it's not included in the rate you chose. The rooms are small, but very organized and comfortable for a weekend trip.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbender26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

rooms are well designed with a nice finish. large shower.
bar is great with a good atmosphere in the evening.
breakfast is great and included in the rate.
staff are very friendly and helpful
perfect location right in the street behind the markt.
Enjoy.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louhans, France
Level Contributor
379 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here early in January 2014 and enjoyed every minute in the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are small but very well organized. I especially enjoyed the ceiling of my room, being a piece of art... and the bed, being very big and comfortable. The place is just off the market square with parking very close and the bar is a great place for a aperitif before you go for dinner. Breakfast was also very enjoyable and fresh. I can recommend this place to anyone who likes modern design in a beautiful old surrounding. The value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tornado0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel Marcel is compact and bijous but where it may lack in square metres it more than makes up for in location and charm.
Super clean throughout, super friendly staff, great fire place to enjoy a Belgian beer in the evening and moments from the main square make this a hotel I would return to in a heartbeat.
The rooms are 15 msq but the hotel are clear about this on the website. The rooms are thoughtfully designed with a really comfortable bed and everything you need for a short city break.
The only thing to watch out for in Bruges is the parking - it is very limited if the city is busy and can make the trip a little stressful.
Im also a sucker for branding and they have thought this through from water bottles to the brown paper bag your breakfast bread, cheeses and meats are delivered in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macandiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Marcel, situated on a quiet street right in the centre of Bruges - very near the main square but just enough removed to escape the tourist hordes. From our window on the top floor we could look out and see the Belfort, and the sound of the carillon on Christmas morning was truly magical. As many others have said, the hotel is slick and stylish, the breakfasts were top quality, and while the rooms aren't huge, they are extremely well appointed and the bed is both enormous and extremely comfortable. The staff were very attentive and friendly throughout our stay, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room to get a great view to the Belfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in December by myself. The hotel just recently opened so everything is modern, new and super clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located on a quiet street literally around the corner from the Grote Markt, so you couldn't be in a better location. The breakfast was very good (continental). I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Bruges!

Room Tip: Room 24 was located at the front of the hotel on the second floor. Not very much street noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#42 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#29 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcel

Property: Hotel Marcel
Address: Niklaas Desparsstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marcel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing