We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique hotel in a wonderful location.”
Review of Hotel Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marcel
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located with walking distance to the Markt as well as a bus stop nearby with buses to Bruges Train Station. The modern decoration and the creative room ceiling was a breath of fresh air from the traditional hotels and B&Bs of Europe. The breakfast was the most complete and satisfying breakfast out of the 16 nights in our trip across Europe. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to both families and couples staying in Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    93
    24
    2
    6
See reviews for
37
140
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights during the Bruges Beer festival. We were made feel very welcome from the start and the lady at the reception gave us a lot of useful information about the town, things to see and where to get the best chocolates. Much appreciated!
Although we missed the breakfast on other mornings it was decent enough on the first morning. Not the greatest selection, just some cheese and ham with bread in a bag. They had run out of croissants. This may well be due to us arriving last minute, so not holding it against the hotel.

The location of this hotel is superb, you cannot get it any more central! Lots of cafes, boutique shops and pubs around.

If you drive: We drove from England, and were unsure of the parking. However there is a large, secure car park almost opposite to the hotel. It costs 8€ per day so not a budget breaker! We left ours there for the whole time and it was absolutely fine.

The room was small, extremely clean and cozy. However, the set up of the toilet and bathroom is far from practical. The shower room has no hooks whatsoever and the door is so tall that you cannot hang your towel over it. Basically the only way is to leave your towel on the bed. This is not good and should be rectified.
Also there is no intimacy whatsoever, as the noises, smells and sometimes even the view from both shower and toilet can be experienced from the bedroom. This is due to the glass design and not air-proofed doors. There are no locks, you just swing the door(s) open or shut. Not good.

I probably would stay in a different hotel next time just for the experience. This was not the cheapest, but I think you mainly pay for the stunning location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeLovesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely little boutique hotel just round the corner from the main square, and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The room was very spacious and had a huuuuge comfy bed. View of the belry from our room which was lovely to look at when lying in bed at night (although the bells every half an hour were a bit annoying after a while). We were also surprised that the TV had several UK channels (BBC1, BBC2, BBC3, CH4 and Film4) which was awesome as you're normally stuck with BBC World. Another bonus was that they had proper hairdryers in the bathrooms.

Breakfast was quite unusual but I really liked it - we were given a glass of orange juice and a brown bag filled with bread and croissants, and a wrapped portion of ham and cheese - it was like a little breakfast picnic! There were also yoghurts and hot drinks at a buffet if you wanted something extra.

Overall I really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again. The only downsides were that there was no lift (although walking up 3 flights of stairs every time was good practice for the Belfry!) and the shower wasn't very powerful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Marcel in a triple room for just one night. Whilst our room was not spacious, it was very clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished with the most amazing decorative lit ceiling. The bathroom was fabulous, with lovely toiletries supplied. The free WiFi was fast and reliable, and we liked the fact there was a free safe in the room. The only downside was that there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all, the location is great - very central and close to everything in this fabulous city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Second time in Brugge but first at Hotel Marcel. Would stay here again. Lovely room, staff friendly and helpful and breakfast unusual and very pleasant. Hotel is in good location and a short walk from main sights and plenty of local bars. Our favourites were The Beer Wall, Cambrinus and Vino Vino. Canal trip was lovely too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marsdensfromhalfway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I absolutely love this hotel! I was pleasantly surprised by its modern decor when I first stepped in. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. The location is great too; it's just a minute's walk to the market, which is like the centre of where the action is.

My only two (minor) complaints are that the hotel has no lift and that the breakfast does not have a lot of variety (each person is only given a fixed portion of bread and ham). Other than that, I was pretty happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceprincessnthepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our 3 nights. Hotel is very new, everything designed very fashionably, everything was sparklingly clean and worked very well, the beds were wonderful and soft, etc. Breakfast was extremely good, nice toiletries provided, wifi worked well. Also, props for the fabulous hairdryers! We did pay what I think was quite a good rate - average of 110E /night for a Marcel + room, which I thought was a fair price.

However, this new-ness and design is also something of a shortcoming, as the installation of an elevator appears to be coming along very slowly, there may be few communication kinks to be worked out (for example, we had a miscommunication about the inclusion of breakfast and there was no sign in the room as to whether the towels were replaced daily - they weren't) and the toilet area, as lovely as it looks, is not terribly practical - we saw the photos and understood going in, but it really would have been nice to have a toilet that was not behind a frosted glass sliding door with gaps in it.

In any event, none of that would detract from me recommending this hotel or staying again - the location could not be better, the owner was extremely pleasant, helpful and accommodating, and made a great base for Bruges.

Room Tip: No elevator at the moment, and the stairs are VERY steep and the ceilings quite high (so lots of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#41 of 97 in Bruges
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#40 of 97 in Bruges
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcel

Property: Hotel Marcel
Address: Niklaas Desparsstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marcel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing