We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Hotel Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marcel
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staying here at the moment. Rooms are nice and modern but our room overlooks the bar patio area. Very, very noisy in the evening with people shouting and screaming. Had we known that our room was just above the patio, we would have gone elsewhere. Would definitely not come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located with walking distance to the Markt as well as a bus stop nearby with buses to Bruges Train Station. The modern decoration and the creative room ceiling was a breath of fresh air from the traditional hotels and B&Bs of Europe. The breakfast was the most complete and satisfying breakfast out of the 16 nights in our trip across Europe. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to both families and couples staying in Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights during the Bruges Beer festival. We were made feel very welcome from the start and the lady at the reception gave us a lot of useful information about the town, things to see and where to get the best chocolates. Much appreciated!
Although we missed the breakfast on other mornings it was decent enough on the first morning. Not the greatest selection, just some cheese and ham with bread in a bag. They had run out of croissants. This may well be due to us arriving last minute, so not holding it against the hotel.

The location of this hotel is superb, you cannot get it any more central! Lots of cafes, boutique shops and pubs around.

If you drive: We drove from England, and were unsure of the parking. However there is a large, secure car park almost opposite to the hotel. It costs 8€ per day so not a budget breaker! We left ours there for the whole time and it was absolutely fine.

The room was small, extremely clean and cozy. However, the set up of the toilet and bathroom is far from practical. The shower room has no hooks whatsoever and the door is so tall that you cannot hang your towel over it. Basically the only way is to leave your towel on the bed. This is not good and should be rectified.
Also there is no intimacy whatsoever, as the noises, smells and sometimes even the view from both shower and toilet can be experienced from the bedroom. This is due to the glass design and not air-proofed doors. There are no locks, you just swing the door(s) open or shut. Not good.

I probably would stay in a different hotel next time just for the experience. This was not the cheapest, but I think you mainly pay for the stunning location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeLovesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely little boutique hotel just round the corner from the main square, and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The room was very spacious and had a huuuuge comfy bed. View of the belry from our room which was lovely to look at when lying in bed at night (although the bells every half an hour were a bit annoying after a while). We were also surprised that the TV had several UK channels (BBC1, BBC2, BBC3, CH4 and Film4) which was awesome as you're normally stuck with BBC World. Another bonus was that they had proper hairdryers in the bathrooms.

Breakfast was quite unusual but I really liked it - we were given a glass of orange juice and a brown bag filled with bread and croissants, and a wrapped portion of ham and cheese - it was like a little breakfast picnic! There were also yoghurts and hot drinks at a buffet if you wanted something extra.

Overall I really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again. The only downsides were that there was no lift (although walking up 3 flights of stairs every time was good practice for the Belfry!) and the shower wasn't very powerful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel Marcel in a triple room for just one night. Whilst our room was not spacious, it was very clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished with the most amazing decorative lit ceiling. The bathroom was fabulous, with lovely toiletries supplied. The free WiFi was fast and reliable, and we liked the fact there was a free safe in the room. The only downside was that there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all, the location is great - very central and close to everything in this fabulous city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Second time in Brugge but first at Hotel Marcel. Would stay here again. Lovely room, staff friendly and helpful and breakfast unusual and very pleasant. Hotel is in good location and a short walk from main sights and plenty of local bars. Our favourites were The Beer Wall, Cambrinus and Vino Vino. Canal trip was lovely too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsdensfromhalfway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I absolutely love this hotel! I was pleasantly surprised by its modern decor when I first stepped in. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. The location is great too; it's just a minute's walk to the market, which is like the centre of where the action is.

My only two (minor) complaints are that the hotel has no lift and that the breakfast does not have a lot of variety (each person is only given a fixed portion of bread and ham). Other than that, I was pretty happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceprincessnthepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#35 of 97 in Bruges
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#41 of 97 in Bruges
2,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#40 of 97 in Bruges
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcel

Address: Niklaas Desparsstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marcel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing