We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Belgian Character and Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lots of Belgian Character and Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

A little gem tucked away in the countryside but not too far from the Motorways, Brugge and Oostend.
Individual rooms with a Sea theme well presented if a little dated but in very good order, nice outdoor area for drinks etc. Unfortunatly the restaurant was not open when I was there but the breakfast was excellent.

A far cry from the anodyne chains, a little quirky but friendly

Room Tip: Try the Gypsy caravan or lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    96
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
251
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Easy to find, very helpful family run hotel. Evening meal at local restaurant Louis Clesse was excellent, pre-booked by the hotel. Breakfast in hotel also excellent with many home produced articles such as smoked salmon and pate.

Room Tip: Room small but comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

This was an overnight stop on our way to Germany. We were welcomed as one of the family we ate in the hotel, the food was superb cooked by the owner almost like a cooking demonstration. We found the hotel by accident on the Internet and thank goodness we did and didn't stay at one of the chain hotels with no atmosphere. We will certainly make this a regular stop over again. Only problem was the sat nav couldn't locate the hotel and it took some time to find best to input Hoge Dijkem, Roksem, we then found it immediately.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoldsSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

At the hotel (after 4,5 ours driving) we get the message that they rent our room to other people, no phonecall no email, nothing at all, so we can go home again, we drive 652 kilometers and we get nothing!
We will never go back to this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Never back again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

The De Stokerij is a very pleasant hotel, with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We've stayed here twice, both times as a first night stay on a long journey to elsewhere. It's ideally located for staying the night after a late afternoon/evening channel crossing to Calais, if you're heading onwards through Belgium. It's very handy for the motorway and somewhere around an hour's drive from the Eurotunnel terminal at Calais.

We've stayed in one of the more expensive rooms, with a huge jacuzzi bath, and also in one of the more basic rooms, with just a shower. Both rooms were very comfortable and fair value for money.

Our more recent stay was just a couple of days before Valentine's Day, and the hotel was overrun with cutesy hearts and teddy bears. Not our taste, especially with the overwhelmingly sickly rose scent in the room. No sign of such tweeness normally though, so if you have a low tweeness tolerance, avoid mid Frebruary and you'll be fine.

The main downside of the hotel is that it's on the edge of a residential area, next to open country, with little in the way of local facilities. There is a restaurant within reasonable walking distance, but take a torch - the country lanes are very dark! And if it's raining, you'd probably rather take the car. The restaurant, the Jan Breydel, will be recommended to you by the hotel, and they'll make a booking if you need it. It was very quiet on the Thursday evening when we were last there, though, so bookings might not be necessary. It's not a particularly cheap place, but the fish is highly recommended - they'll give you a list of what they have from the market today, and a choice of how you'd like your potatoes with it. My only real criticism is that they seem to oversalt their veg. Staff are very friendly and though they don't all speak English (and why should they?) there's generally someone with enough English for you to get by.

Breakfast at the hotel is the usual range of cereals, breads, cold meats and cheeses, with eggs freshly cooked if you'd like them, and a basket of pastries. It's all good, and you certainly won't go hungry.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
8.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
8.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
8.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
8.8 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Property: Hotel De Stokerij
Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed & breakfast is situated in 20 min. from Bruges and Ostende It 's perfect stay to explore the region per car and bike. Small charming hotel in the countryside with free parking and internet. Gastronomical Restaurant around the chief's table.Only upon reservation. Chef Jan Schaek works only with local products. Possibility to check in in the morning, free coffee, collect your key take some maps and go to Bruges for the whole day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing