We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway”
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here one night to celebrate anniversary..the place is amazing..and hats off to the owners for keeping this place and running it the way they are..the rooms are very nice..a lot of charm..and the jacuzzi bathtub is a treat..Breakfast is great!! with amazing fresh food..The overall atmosphere is amazing with countryside quietness and peacefulness..Overall, it is a place I would recommend to anyone without any doubts..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Mohammad H.,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay in our hotel.
Your comments about the room and breakfast really encourages the whole team to continue with this efforts.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    98
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
258
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We didn't know quite what to expect when we booked one night in September 2013 at the Hotel De Stokerij, but we weren't disappointed. Our room was large, had a beautiful large bed surrounded by sheer type curtains; huge wooden support beams were above us. Our bathroom was also huge and had a jacuzzi. Large windows opened to fresh country air and the beautiful gardens below.

Our hosts were extremely hospitable. We borrowed bikes and rode along the countryside before enjoying a fantastic dinner in the restaurant. Many of the ingredients were local and the chef explained each dish in english. We were allowed to check out at 2pm and enjoyed the high speed internet.

Breakfast was fantastic! Fresh made bread, local cheeses and meat, everything that you could ask for! You would be foolish not to visit.

Thank you to our hosts!

Our only complaint was the pillows! Very large and firm. This must be a personal issue for us though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear mr & mrs. Welker,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate your recent stay in our hotel De Stokerij.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the Knox Room.
The region is really nice to make a bike tour and to enjoy the surrounding nature.

The compliments about the dinner and the breakfast make Chef Jan really happy, these comments encourage the whole team to continue the efforts we make.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel so you can discover some other rooms and some other assets of our beautiful region.

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Nice hotel set within an old distillery - wooden beams feature in every room with a unique individual theme in each one. Ample parking, and set in well maintained gardens with countryside views. Just 10 minutes drive from Bruges city centre.
Rooms are en suite, with TV (no English channels), Radio, Air-con, large beds and plenty of pillows, table and chairs with a well stocked but expensive mini bar and large wardrobe.
The hotel as a whole has an eccentric and eclectic feel decoration wise with stills, interspersed with ornate furniture and porcelain dolls but tastefully done!
Breakfast is varied continental style but with the option of cereals and fruit, this is all served until midday!.
The restaurant is the gastronomes delight with live culinary demonstrations of the menu cooked in front of the crowd present, a very unique experience and a must even though the cost seems high! Other good restaurants exist very locally and are recommended by the hosts.
Overall a really great experience and a place we will return too!

Room Tip: The Clockmakers room in which we stayed was very warm, so take note if you like a cool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When we arrived, we got a nice welcoming and an explanation of the rooms and usage of the facilities. The bar 'living room' gave us a comfy feeling and there was a big variety of local and forreign spirits available. Our room "Gipsy Express" was very tidy and quite exclusive because it is made from an old Gipsy cart. It has at least everything that a hotelroom has and even more. Too bad it was raining when we were there, otherwise we would rent a bike to scout the area. The breakfast buffet was very local and also home made which is a surplus for adventurous foodies.

Room Tip: Gipsy express is next to the hotel building and gives a nice view to the countryside. It might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunwaiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear mr/mrs Chunwaiho,

Thank you for taking your time to comment your recent stay in our Hotel De Stokerij.
We are happy you enjoyed our family-run hotel in Oudenburg.

We would like to welcome you once again during better weather so you can enjoy the terrace and a bike tour in our region.

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived late due to a satnav error but having let the hotel know in advance there was a warm meal available for us even though the restaurant was not open.
A truly warm welcome for us (and our dog), a comfortable clean room with good amenities, and the most wonderful breakfast of home produce that made us want to stay a bit longer.
When travelling this way we will definitely use the De Stokerij again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Lovely place off the beaten track, great facilities (though we did not have the time to take advantage), so nice to be offered a drink when we arrived too! Restaurant closed but recommendation for a place down the road that turned out to be amazing - excellent meal by chef Charles who really cares about what he does. Room lovely and breakfast, as others have said, superb. Owner very helpful as regards tours etc

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Peter H.,


We are pleased that your recent stay in our hotel De Stokerij went so well.
Your comments encourages the whole team to continue the efforts they make.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Thanking you once again,



Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

this hotel was in a really picturesques setting with a very welcoming lounge and the hostess gave us a welcoming drink, breakfast was all home made produce and cooking. the hotels location was ideal for sight seeing with gent and brugge easily excessible would highly recommend this hotel to everyone due to the owners hospitality and the hotels accomendation and setting

Room Tip: equally all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Becky R,


Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that your recent stay in our hotel went so well, we do our hardly best to satisfy the guests.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
7.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
8.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
818 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,264 reviews
7.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Property: Hotel De Stokerij
Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed & breakfast is situated in 20 min. from Bruges and Ostende It 's perfect stay to explore the region per car and bike. Small charming hotel in the countryside with free parking and internet. Gastronomical Restaurant around the chief's table.Only upon reservation. Chef Jan Schaek works only with local products. Possibility to check in in the morning, free coffee, collect your key take some maps and go to Bruges for the whole day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing