We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautifully furnished & very comfortable.”
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautifully furnished & very comfortable.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here in September for a night, just happened to find this hotel online and I'm so glad. We were shown to a gorgeous annex room and couldn't believe our luck. The bedroom was furnished with antiques and the bathroom was a large wet room.

It was a great base for exploring Brugge and Oostende. The hosts were very friendly, my dodgy French/Dutch wasn't an issue as they spoke perfect English. If you like your hotels alittle different and not so cookie cutter you can't go wrong here, I can't recommend De Stokerij enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyDamage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear SammyDama,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted with your compliments about the hotel room.
The 'Antiques' Room is indeed a very beautiful room with a huge Jacuzzi in the bathroom.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel so you can explore another side of the region!



Kind regards,

Ingrid & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    98
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
258
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had been there about 10 years ago on a special weekend, had kept good memories of it, and decided to return for a short weekend near the seaside. Unlike manu fine memories, this one did not let me down. The place is still as good as I remembered, the rooms nicely, warmly decorated (maybe to some tending to ovedecoration), full of nice attentions, candles, bathroom products, etc. The breakfast is wonderful: all home made products, or quality products procured from local exquisite specialists. The lady of het house is charming and really takes good care of her guests, the way you would never expect in a hotel, but rather in bed & breakfasts.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvs1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are enthusiastic that you returned to Oudenburg after a time lapse of 10 years.

The chef is really happy with your comments about the home made breakfast!

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Jan & Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in his lovely B&B. We used it as a base to explore the local area including Brugge, De Haan, and WW1 sites including Ypres. The GPS had no trouble finding the hotel despite it being slightly off the main track. The hosts spoke great English and were very helpful with directions and suggestions. We enjoyed one dinner on site which was a combination cooking demonstration and dinner. The bed was a big king size which took up most of the room. The bathroom was also a good size. If you have a car and are looking for an upmarket place to indulge this is it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear mr. Mark S.,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted with your comments about the dinner and the room!

We hope to welcome you once again so you can explore another side of our region.

Kind regards,

Jan & Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife & I stayed at the De Stokerij as part of a tour of Belgium. It is set in a rural area within easy reach of Bruges & Ostend. First impressions were good. We were offered a complimentary drink on arrival & our room, although somewhat quirky, was comfortable. The hosts were very friendly & gave helpful advice about the local area. We also appreciated the home-made rolls & preserves at breakfast which was such a change from the usual chain hotel food. There was a problem with their credit card reader at the end of our stay but they were patient & helpful while this was resolved. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuseNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you once again.


Ingrid & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Initially we were disappointed that the property was 15 KMS from Brugge which costs about E 40-50 by taxi, however that got completely forgotten on checking the rooms and then the pleasure trip started. Fab rooms with personal jacuzzi and special scented bath oils, loaded with antiques and beautiful music. The dinner was awesome, with the Chef ( and also the owner ), kept churning out one wonder after another. Ingrid was equally the perfect hostess and most charming.
A good way to reach is also from Lille ( about an hour drive ), so that you can do a circuit of Lille, brugge and gent.

Room Tip: 11 rooms, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udaypilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sir/Dear Madam,

First of all, we'd like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are happy that we could persuade you with our romantic rooms with jacuzzi!
As you mentioned, we are in between Bruges & Ostend, which makes our hotel so special, with its beautiful nature.

Thank you very much with the compliments about the dinner in our restaurant, prepared by my husband Jan. It gives us a warm feeling to read these comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The interior is a maelstrom of eclectic decoration just the right side of cute. Our welcome was warm and professional. Ingrid was very informative and gave us many tips and hints to maximise our visit. Bruges is some 15 minutes by car - park at the railway station for €3.50 all day. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was a substantial €37 and there its no choice of menu but allowance must be made for the ambience, convenience, service and theatre accompanying the meal. Interestingly, I failed to find the cost of the meal announced anywhere. You should experience dinner once, more often is debatable. An excellent base to explore the area and convenient for the channel, we will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistaMeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Sir,
Dear Madam,

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay with our tips and hints,
The compliments about the restaurant will be communicated to Chef Jan, which will make him very happy.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel,

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here one night to celebrate anniversary..the place is amazing..and hats off to the owners for keeping this place and running it the way they are..the rooms are very nice..a lot of charm..and the jacuzzi bathtub is a treat..Breakfast is great!! with amazing fresh food..The overall atmosphere is amazing with countryside quietness and peacefulness..Overall, it is a place I would recommend to anyone without any doubts..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Mohammad H.,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay in our hotel.
Your comments about the room and breakfast really encourages the whole team to continue with this efforts.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
7.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
8.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
818 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,262 reviews
7.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Property: Hotel De Stokerij
Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed & breakfast is situated in 20 min. from Bruges and Ostende It 's perfect stay to explore the region per car and bike. Small charming hotel in the countryside with free parking and internet. Gastronomical Restaurant around the chief's table.Only upon reservation. Chef Jan Schaek works only with local products. Possibility to check in in the morning, free coffee, collect your key take some maps and go to Bruges for the whole day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing