We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful, quirky”
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. Stayed in The Clockmaker room which overlooks a courtyard and has a very nice clean bathroom. The room has a lot of clock related decor and objects in it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and I had a great night's sleep, it's just so quiet. It's about 20 minutes drive outside Bruges making ideal for a long weekend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

i stayed here for 1 night and was made to feel very welcome by Ingrid, nothing was too much trouble for her. The hotel is very close to Bruges and has secure parking for motorcycles. The breakfast was very good too made by Ingrid's husband from local produce and very tasty too. I would recommend Hotel De Stokerij to anybody wanting a nice relaxing stay in a country setting.

Room Tip: The Dr's room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice family runned hotel. Friendly people. We won 2 nights with wellness here and it was great. Got the bridal suite with a hot tub and could enjoy the wellness area of the hotel in a private atmosphere. Nice breakfast with homemade jams and homesmoked salmon, delicious. Als the dinner was fantastic and prepared by the owner. You can rent bikes or borrow a guide to make an autotour in the neighbourhood. Great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were traveling with friends from the states who had never been in Belgium. I had difficulties finding a hotel in the Bruges area when I stumbled across the de Stokerij. I was a bit hesitant, but any concerns vanished upon our arrival. The welcome drink, answers and recommendations to our many questions and delightful rooms. Breakfast was superb and we greatly enjoyed the dinner on Thursday night - while I am not a "foodie" it was a wonderful meal. Like others have mentioned, it is set in the countryside and was a treat to observe the young lambs (seemingly all twins) dashing about the field. Peaceful and relaxing - we look forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAW776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this small jewel in West Flandes. I can really recommend everyone to go there to have a real special gastronomic and relaxing experience. We went there with our 2 year old boy and baby and had a really warm welcome from the start (and our children were very welcome too!!). We had a superb family room, just perfect, with a lovely view to the fields with the cows (which was specially amazing for our small boy and absolutely relaxing for us). The room was prepared with lovely candles and relaxing music. Ingrid is really an incredible person who made us feel just like home and gave us very good tips for our stay. But the most incredible surprise was the "dinner experience" we had with them. Ingrid´s husband, who is an amazing cook, was cooking just in front of us and another 4 couples and explaining each of the dishes we were tasting, all made with local fresh products from the region. Our small boy had a special menu too by the way that he really enjoyed. I was specially touched by the warmness of Ingrid and her husband towards my child. He was really happy during the stay! This lovely charming hotel is also the perfect location to visit the Belgian coast, as well as Brugges and Gant. We will definitly come back, even if we live in Brussels and already know the region, just to relax!

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, take the "carroussel room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trotamundi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough if planning a trip to the west flanders. At arrival we received a welcome drink of our choice, we were then shown into our room where little candles were lit and there was classical music wafting from the huge bathroom which had a jacuzzi. The bed very comfortable, sleep quality was very good. But the most impressive thing was the food, there was an old world custom of gathering at the bar around 7, where some aperitif and cocktails could be ordered and they came along with hors d'oeuvres fresh out of the kitchen, it's also an opportunity to socialise with the other guests of the hotel, we would then move into the dining room where the chef would prepare the dinner in front of us in the open kitchen and also share some valuable tips. Portions of food are very generous and incredibly tasty, the only warning I could give to potential diners is that you need to be adventurous with food, we had eel on our first night and it was our first time trying out this fish, also the menu is mainly fish oriented, so let the hostess know beforehand about any allergies or preferences as the menu is a preset menu. The breakfast is served in a sunroom is also very generous with eggs cooked to order. The staff and the owner were very helpful and friendly. There are bikes one could rent and get maps for bike tours.
We would visit this place again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Incurabilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This lovely place is listed under Bruges but to be honest it is really quite a ways away out in the country. That suited my wife and I fine as we were totally burnt out on the masses of humanity in Bruges.

My take on this place is it is a great place to go for a gastronomic experience. I think the rooms are nice for the price. My complaints on the room were they were very hot and the pillows were way too hard for my personal taste. But that is a personal thing.

The food is another subject. Jan de Storkerij, who is owner along with his wife Ingrid, is a chef who does a ton of artisanal food preparation. He smokes his own salmon and eel. He prepares his own hams in a variety of ways including slow aged ham. He makes his own pates and head cheeses. The breads are baked in house daily. Jan has a very deft hand with deep frying.

They serve a fixed price dinner. We had it with the beer and wine pairing and really enjoyed ourselves. But it was the breakfast buffet that was head and shoulders better than just about anything I've seen except in places that cost much, much more. All the smoked and cured foods I mentioned above, the breads, a fantastic choice of cheeses. These are things that are very hard to come by in our food world of greater and greater government regulation. I would come back specifically for this experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpalbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
7.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#12 of 97 in Bruges
830 reviews
8.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
7.6 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#58 of 97 in Bruges
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed & breakfast is situated in 20 min. from Bruges and Ostende It 's perfect stay to explore the region per car and bike. Small charming hotel in the countryside with free parking and internet. Gastronomical Restaurant around the chief's table.Only upon reservation. Chef Jan Schaek works only with local products. Possibility to check in in the morning, free coffee, collect your key take some maps and go to Bruges for the whole day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing