We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Velotel Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velotel Brugge
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the end of our cycle tour. We were glad to base ourselves here for three nights after moving hotels each night from Brussels. We had great difficulty finding this hotel as our travel company VOS Travel had not informed us that this hotel changed names recently so hence the new name was not on our map. The sign post for the hotel at nearby roundabout was so small one would have needed binoculars to see it. We did mention it to the nice girl at reception who said she would pass it on to the travel company. The room was nice overlooked the car park which got noisy at times due to the coaches. Breakfast was always rushed and not much too chose from despite being down at 9am each morning. I think the people from the coaches were down earlier and ate all round them and left very little for the rest of us. If you arrived a bit later you were asked to sit outside. I think they were trying to get cleared up for the lunch. Mind you breakfast finished at 10.30 according to the brochure. Maybe this time needs changed. Great bicycle shed for the bikes although it still wasn't big enough. We cycled into Bruges every day which was great. Glad we didn't have to walk in as long walk in warm weather. Overall an enjoyable stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the coach car park as can be noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel years ago when it was known by a different name. This time we were not as impressed. The main reason was the air conditioning. It was so weak it hardly made any difference to the temperature of the room and considering it was around 33 degress centigrade outside it was hot and stuffy. Luckily the window opemed fully, however in the night we were inundated with flying insects and bitten. We had wanted to get an early night as we had to be up early on our last morning but what with the heat and the fact that people were talking not far from below our window, getting to sleep was an impossibility. We could hear staff outside talking at 2.30am. The room was ok. At least it had tea and coffee making facilities. There was a mini bar where you could keep your drinks cool, and there was a safe in the room, which is always handy. Breakfast wasn't exceptional but it was ok. There were a few cereals, bacon, scrambled eggs, beans and tomatoes, and the ususal choice of continental meats, cheeses, fruit and rolls etc. The staff were friendly enough and the one man working in the restaurant on the last morning was just about running in order to keep up with the number of guests having breakfast. He was doing a really good job. Parking was free and there was always plenty of space. The hotel is in a fairly quiet area, next to a field with a few sheep. I wouldn't recommend staying in the summer when it is hot, but in the cooler months if you want somewhere just a couple of miles outside of bruge with free parking and a reasonable breakfast then this is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pegleg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I ususally stop over in Brugge when getting off the ferry in Calais to have a nice dinner or lunch before heading on to central Europe. This time I found a very affordable deal (EUR 70.- B&B for 2) in the Apollo and have to say that it was best value for money I got in Brugge so far. The hotel is in the Northern outskirts of Brugge with a secure car park, the staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were just right for the price: very simple and plain but clean and also quiet which means that I could open the window at night without hearing anything. If you want a nice luxurious upper end 4-star, dont come to the Apollo If you want a clean place to sleep and leave afterwards, is perfect. It's clean and convenient economic Stop-Over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heikoheiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been there a few times.The rooms are cosy and comfortabel. At breakfast you will find everything you need. Nice summer terrace in a green surrounding. When you visit the bar try a local beer!Great job 'velotel team'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVB749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It was chosen for a one night stay on the way back from a holiday in Holland, so I wanted a hotel close to the Centre of Brugge with a car park and the Velotel seemed to fit the bill.
It's a fairly modern hotel, first impression was a small reception in the corner not what I was expecting from a 4 star hotel, the staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early.
The room was a bit on the small size but clean and tidy, the big problem was the bathroom. It was a prefabricated fibreglass pod, beginning to look tired. It was cramped and poorly designed, I would have expected better from the cheapest budget hotel. There was no hand soap asking housekeeping they did have any and offered more shower gel. The room was missing the tv remote and coffee make facility, to be fair to the hotel I did not inform them until I checked out, they would have probably put this right. Unfortunately they can't put the bathroom right without rebuilding the hotel. On a positive note all the staff were friendly, breakfast was good and the hotel was generally clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in Velotel for one night. The hotel is not spectacular but it is a good budget option for visiting Brugge, that offers a decent amount of comfort and facilities. Keep in mind that this hotel is quite far from the city centers. We are both walking "enthusiasts" but even with a good pace, it will take you at least 30 minutes to get to the market square. They do rent out bikes and there is a bus stop a few minutes a way. The Hotel is in a suburban area outside of Brugge so don't expect any "live" around the hotel. The hotel does offer a small fitness facility and a Sauna, but they both could use some upgrading. There are no water coolers available and the showers were not working properly. The restaurant is average, OK food, but the prices are high.

If you can get a good price and you don't mind waking, than go for it. Otherwise you will probably be better off be booking a budget hotel in the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke G, General Manager at Velotel Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014
Google Translation

Beste Gast,

Hartelijk dank voor de tijd die u genomen heeft om te beschrijven hoe u uw verblijf in ons hotel ervaren heeft.
Het doet ons deugd te lezen dat u ons omschrijft als een goede locatie voor sportliefhebbers en dat u ook het verhuren van fietsen aanprijst.

Uw advies omtrent te sauna/ fitness ruimte nemen wij zeker te harte en zullen wij zo spoedig mogelijk oppakken.

Wij verheugen ons erop u in de nabije toekomst nogmaals als gast te mogen verwelkomen in Velotel Brugge!

Steve Vanbelle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed in the Velotel multiple times for business, overall experience was good in terms of cleanliness, food and service. The hotel itself does have a few minor remarks such as an outdated television (CRT, in 2014 ? :), certain (not all) rooms with a bed that does not have a good mattress (too soft) and the distance to the city center is 30-40 minutes by foot.
The front-desk service is good and professional, and complaints are quickly and well managed. At two occasions (of which one occasion being my birthday) the hotel even gave me a bottle of Cava or Champagne which was much appreciated, and really shows the effort they want to put in their customers. Bath robes are provided in the suite rooms only - these also seem to have a better bed. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a safe choice outside of the city center ; provided you have transportation there is still plenty to see and do.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator for the best Wi-Fi reception. The restaurant opens at 18:00, but room-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke G, General Manager at Velotel Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read of your satisfaction with the Velotel Bruges on your last stay with us. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and helps us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Vanbelle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#58 of 97 in Bruges
446 reviews
3.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#66 of 97 in Bruges
666 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#27 of 97 in Bruges
352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
1.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velotel Brugge

Address: Handboogstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £59 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velotel Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velotel Bruges offers you convenience, hospitality and timeless comfort. All 120 rooms are provided with air conditioning, a mini bar, coffee and tea facilities TV, safe and a stylish bathroom. The fantastic box spring mattresses guarantee a perfect night’s sleep! Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel, free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Velotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing