We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a great location”
Review of Maraboe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maraboe Hotel
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
gt.yarmouth, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem in a great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were recommended this hotel by friends and very pleased that we listened to their advice. A small, family run hotel, beautifully decorated and in an ideal location just 10 minutes from the main Square in Bruges. We had a lovely clean bedroom, a very comfortable bed and an excellent large shower room. Breakfast was a treat with an extensive selection and served in a beautiful room with the sun filtering in through the stained glass windows. The proprietor, Sandra could not have been more helpful with good local advice of restaurants and places to hire cycles. We were only there a few days but if in Bruges again, it will definitely be at The Maraboe!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    211
    45
    12
    2
See reviews for
99
197
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

An excellent small, but well fitted-out, hotel very conveniently placed near the centre of Bruges -extremely helpful staff and a good breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable and access for older or disabled people is good. It has a surprisingly good gym.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have equally good environments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_baharie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Me and my Girlfriend stayed in Bruges for three days and the hotel was easy to find (about 20 minutes from the freeway). There are only a few free parkingspaces near the hotel, so we parked under the t'zand in a car park (8,40 €/24h). The service was friendly, helpful and able to talk in German. The doubleroom was in the second floor, it was clean, big enough, redecorated and there was no stench coming out the toilet (in a few critics i read about that). The double bed was complied by two single beds, in turn that was no negative aspect. Good location, so you need to walk about 10 minutes to arrive the center. The Beakfast was simple but enough and good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

When I first entered the lobby of the hotel I was a little put our it looked dated with the tub chairs with loose fitted covers over gangly plants. On entering the rest of the hotel was really surprised the decoration was quite boutique. With simple greys and neutral tones. Owner was very friendly and spoke perfect English as most do in Brugge (thank goodness as having been to three different countries we were getting our pleases and thankyou's a bit muddled) En suites were very nice with lovely toiletries, hairdryer and towels. Bed was quite comfortable but although we were in the back of the hotel were woken by some noisy german speaking people at 3.30am someone banged on the window and all was quiet again. The hotel also offers free wifi. When we went down to breakfast the dining room was very busy which amazed us as hadn't seen anyone else in the hotel. Breakfast was far the best of the three hotels we had recently stayed in on our travels through Europe, with a lovely fruit salad, lovely plain croissants and ones with chocolate. a good selection of cereals and lovely seeded or plain bread rolls. there was also toast and hard boiled eggs. tea, coffee, herbal teas or chocolate. The hotel is quite small and there is parking you have to pre book or there is parking across the road just don't have a top box to fit into either of the car park so we parked for free about 30 mins walk away. Brugge is a beautiful city with lots to do so we will be back and will stay at this hotel again. We did the chocolate tour and the Historian which was amazing and very well done. The owner also kept our bags in the lockup so we could explore the city further then my husband went to get the car and parked outside to load the cases in. There is a Christmas market with ice sculptures, ice skating and lots of stalls starting the end of november. Brugge is only 1 hour from Calais just pick your timings right for crossings and not on a friday during rush hour as the dreaded M25 is like a car park.

Room Tip: The hotel is right nest to a road so although we didn't stay in the front I don't know how n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

An excellent hotel right in the city centre of Brugge. Near restaurants and the shops. The squares in Brugge are beautiful with plenty to do and see. Hotel is by a market that is on the wknd. Lovely clean rooms with a lovely breakfast. Will definitly stay again because of the excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalesCymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

For the price, it is excellent. The room is tiny with no air conditioning, but they do give you a fan. There is not a lot of space in the room, but you only sleep in it anyway.

The staff are amazing. The owner/ front desk person had our keys ready with a map, and answers to all of the questions we had upon check in. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice in a nice room.

The location is perfect as the hotel is situated at the mouth of the tourist area.

The fitness centre was a let down as it is in the musty/ moldy basement and most of the weight machines were under repair when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at the Maraboe hotel recently and enjoyed our stay, the owner was very friendly as were all the other staff, we also had a dog with us and that was not a problem at all.
The hotel was very clean and the breakfast enjoyable, also they have parking spaces in the hotel which was a bonus..(€10)
We hope to come back for the Christmas markets and will try and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#38 of 97 in Bruges
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#44 of 97 in Bruges
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#45 of 97 in Bruges
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraboe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraboe Hotel

Property: Maraboe Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bruges
#35 Family Hotel in Bruges
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraboe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Maraboe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraboe Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing