We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maraboe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maraboe Hotel
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed there with 2 friends in 2 rooms after spending the weekend at Spa Race circuit watching a 24 hour race so we were tired in need of a showers and a comfortable room!

Have to say the hotel was great, happy to see us helpful, put the car in their car park not cheap at €10 a night but not expensive for bruge either. The rooms were clean newly decorated and both of a good size, one over looked the main road but there was no traffic noise

The hotel is very well situated just 50m from the main square and they recommendded great restaurant Belle Epoque just off the square where we had a very good meal and well priced

the breakfast was a good continental breakfast as well, think we shall be coming back when we decide to go and visit bruge properely

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    205
    43
    12
    2
See reviews for
97
187
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed at the Maraboe for two nights having chosen it because of it's walking distance to the station (about half a mile), and proximity to the major attractions..
The hotel is well presented, clean and comfortable. The rooms are slightly on the small side but nicely furnished for a hotel at this price range. The bed was comfortable, there was a heater, spare pillows and blankets and plenty of hot water. At the end of the corridor was a little seating area with some English books which we thought was a nice touch - in fact, there was lots of evidence that the owners had tried to think of everything. My only point for improvement would be slight mustiness in the bathroom.
Breakfast was served in a smart breakfast room and included orange juice, yoghurts, various kinds of bread, cereals, cold meats, cheese and eggs if you wanted them.
This hotel is right beside a square with lots of restaurants and at the end of one of the shopping streets that leads up to the main tourist areas, as convenient for everything as you could wish so I dont understand those reviewers who say that it isnt. Perfect if you are arriving by Eurostar too.
The staff we met (owners?) were friendly and helpful. All in all, a good base, value for money and definately worth considering. We would stay again.

For eating out, leave the hotel and go round the corner past the estate agent, just down on the right are three cafe/restaurants with that do a great three course set lunch - better quality and prices than most of the places in the centre (many of which are a bit of a rip-off). The steak in the middle one is recommended.

  • Liked — Decor and character, friendly welcome.
  • Disliked — Bathroom a bit musty
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

I have just returned from 1 night in Brugge. The Hotel Maraboe was a nice and simple hotel but I would probably say it is more of a B&B.
I stayed in room 24 on the top floor. The room was a little small with the sloping roof which made it feel even smaller. The bathroom was a good size but the shower was quite small and also a bit grotty but I didn't doubt the cleanliness of the place.
The breakfast was good. A nice continental breakfast with rolls, cereal, yoghurts and a boiled egg if you ask nicely.
The location was pretty good. A 10 minute walk to the Market Square and other attractions.
The hotel have their own taxi company and they took us to the Superfast Ferry Terminal for 30 euros which is a reasonable price.
If your looking for a family owned hotel which your going to use as a base for sightseeing then it is a good option. Although they have a gym and a sauna I don't think you would spend much time in the hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the maraboe over the easter weekend, and we both really enjoyed our stay. Tha directions to the hotel were spot on, and we were grateful for the parking space in the garage, Bruges not car friendly. Room was nice and cosy, and very warm, which was a bonus as it snowed on and off all weekend. The breakfast was a lot better than most "continentals", and served in a lovely room. Staff friendly and helpful, if ever we return to Bruges we will certainly stay here.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mrgrumpyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

The Maraboe is a good hotel made very good by the sheer enthusiasm and goodwill of the hosts. It's not located in the dead centre of Brugge - which given its maze of one way streets is an advantage in my book - but is within in very easy walking distance of it.

As some have noted the rooms are comfortable rather than spectacular but having said that you would have to be fairly pernickity to find fault with them. My motto is if you want to have 5 star features be prepared to pay 5 star prices. The parking available at the Maraboe is a real bonus. It was not a problem to leave our vehicle there as long as we liked on the day we checked out, allowing us more time to wander around this beautiful town. Breakfast offered a more than reasonable variety.

Your hostess Sandra is a font of information and helpful tips about getting out and about in Brugge. Nothing is a problem for her. She gave us two recommendations for dining out. Both were good with one of them - De Vlammsche Pot - being outstanding. The more than slightly full of himself proprietor is a touch overbearing but the wonderful food food is more than adequate compensation for this.

In summary The Maraboe is a good, clean hotel with fine amenities and super helpful and welcoming hosts. What more can one ask for.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney_Aussie_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Maraboe for 3 nights in August. We found the hotel really easily (which was great as we had driven all day on a motorbike), which was great. It has parking which is also good. The room (in the attic space - low headroom in places) was maybe a bit small if we were staying any longer, but we had all the essentials including a nice shower. All very clean and the reception and dining areas are really pretty - a lovely welcome. Breakfast was excellent - you can really fill up there cereal, fruit, rolls, croissants, ham, cheese etc.

  • Liked — delicious breakfast and location - 2 minute walk to main shopping street
  • Disliked — small-ish room, ok for 3 nights but not for any more
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank angelaCSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Maraboe in Bruges on Monday and Tuesday, June 11 and 12th, 2007. I was quite impressed with everything about the hotel, especially the nice woman who checked us in/out. She was more than helpful, and gave us tips on eating, things to see, etc.

Also, the included breakfast was a great variety of yogurts, cheeses, salami/proscuito, cereal, orange juice, coffee, and delicious pastries and breads.

Hotel Maraboe is about a 10-15 minute walk almost straight from the train station in Bruges. It goes through a safe, beautiful park into a nice square with cafes and shops. The hotel is located adjacent to this square on the other side of the street. No need to take a cab unless you have several bags.

One thing to note: if you're staying in the front of the hotel the noise from the street could be an issue but we were given a choice and changed to the back of the hotel.

Bruges is a great, picturesque city with lots of shopping and eating establishments. Wander down a side street and choose a cafe there -- avoid paying the rip-off prices of the main square.

One thing I wasn't aware of beforehand is that the hotel room had no air conditioner, but that's typical of European hotels and really made no difference since the weather was cool. We kept the window open and there was no worry of crime (seemed to be the norm for the entire town).

The bathroom was spotless and everything worked fine--plenty of hot water and in-room facilities. Heated floor. No, seriously...

In-room TV and clock radio in the room as well.

I highly recommend Hotel Maraboe and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank otterco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#32 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#49 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraboe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraboe Hotel

Property: Maraboe Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bruges
#35 Family Hotel in Bruges
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraboe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Maraboe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraboe Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing