We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect more than a play to sleep - you also don't pay more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't expect more than a play to sleep - you also don't pay more!”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

If you want to pay for a roof over your head and just a place to sleep, this is exactly what you get here. The city of Bruges itself is so stunning that you'd be a fool not to walk around until the moment you just want to sleep. Then you come here and sleep. And that's all you'll get.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    193
    164
    93
    95
See reviews for
126
280
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stathelle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We left one night early, because I woke up with more than ninety mosquito-bites in my face and on my arms !!!
We chose a so called "superior room". We never found out what was so suoerior about a small, dirty room with worn-out furniture.
The breakfast room was equally dirty, and the table cloths didn't know what a washingmachine looks like.
NEVER EVER AGAIN

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Unless this place has improved greatly in the past year, this is not a place I will be staying at again. The only reason? The absolute state of the rooms. Shocking. Seeing the mold all over the bathroom walls and in the door frames was disturbing, considering I did not have to look t hard to find it. How could the people in charge of this place not do something about it. It is a health risk! I told the front desk staff about it and they seemed rather unconcerned so I am sure it was common knowledge. Good thing we were only there the one night. Other than that, great location, continental breakfast was edible and the free bike rental was fantastic. If anything, the state of the hotel made you want to do more exploring and spend less time in the hotel. Is that a good thing?

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonblaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

First impressions normally count for alot and upon walking into reception we were beginning to regret our decision to stay here. The reception area is dark, dingey and cluttered. The receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or overly helpful. The parking facility added to our fears which was a dusty, dirt floored area behind locked plywood gates next door. Our worries were only heightened even further trying to navigate the labyrinth of narrow corridors and stairs to our room. The furniture was stained, the walls covered with squashed, blood filled mosquitoes, not to mention the plague of live one's the size of small aircraft! The view from the bedroom window looked directly into the bedroom of another room one floor below - great if you're into voyeurism! The bathroom was dark and gloomy with tiles falling of the edge of the bath. The only slight redeeming factor was a view from the main living area of the room down to the central courtyard - but once again we could see directly into other rooms across the courtyard and vice-versa. The decor was shabby and the entire hotel was in a sad state of disrepair. There was an overwhelming smell of sewerage everywhere. The rabbit warren of corridors down to where breakfast was served was confusing to say the least. Although in a historical part of the building (dating back to Roman times) it was below ground and the smell of sewerage seemed much worse. The breakfast was average and typical of most european buffet type foods. But the staff were virtually non existent and empty tables with dirty cutlery and plates seldom seemed to be cleared. We had to clear our own tables in order to sit down. The only positive aspect is it's location. It is only metres from the main square and within walking distance of everything - mind you - so is most accommodation in the centre of Brugges. Admittedly we stayed at the peak of the summer season, and the weather was fantastic. However, overall this place was so grossly overpriced at 150.00 Euro per night. We definitely wouldn't recommend this place. Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I stayed in Brugge for one night, this was just a flying visit prior to a trip to Brussels, my partner and I stayed at the Koffieboontje Hotel, we booked this through the hotels own website and got a great deal only then did we check the reviews on tripadvisor.com ........ what were we getting ourselves into, the reviews of the place were shocking ( dirty sheets, dirty rooms, mucky shower room and rude staff ) our perceptions weren't great, after arriving at the hotel that soon changed!!

Brilliant location right bang in the middle of the clock tower square very close to all the bars restaurants and attractions. Our room was perfect clean, tidy, very comfortable bed, the room even had an added on kitchen fitted with micro wave oven and coffee machine. The room was all you want for a quick visit, mind you your visiting a city not a hotel room!!! The breakfast was huge, full of a variety of foods perfect for the morning feed. Staff at the hotel were friendly welcoming and very informative.

From all the bad reviews that are on this site, I dont understand why, this hotel is in a prime location and has all the necessities needed when on a city break, I would happily stay again, mind you from most of the reviews that are on here maybe those guests would be better off staying at a Hilton or Sheraton!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willmott2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2009

STAY AWAY!! The staff are friendly is the plus point that and bieng in the center of brugge yet brugge is so small everything is in the center. BUt,The rooms, oh dear lord the rooms, shabby,broken,cheap,old,cold,worn out, bed linen with holes, curtains hanging off. The corridoors are wide enough for one. The doors to the hotel are locked at 23:00!! The carparking, well, its a building site with a family of cats living in it. The whole experience was a joke. We reccomend you to avoid this hotel of all costs. Much like the owner apperantly does. Brugge is nice.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epw265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

The Koffieboontje was in a great location so close to the grotte market (town center). However, the rooms lack consistency of cleanliness, decor and dating. We stayed at this hotel with some friends and we must have drawn the short straw as our room, even though we paid the same price, was a much lower standard than theirs. The room had hairs in the bed and an old bug catching devise in the closet. The bathroom was moldy and had a distinct funky odor. The lighting resembled something out of a movie, imagine a light bulb hanging from the ceiling and you'll get the visual. Furthermore, there was no heating and it was necessary to use a space heater. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of options. If you like chances and don't mind a semi-clean room this place would suit your needs. However, if cleanliness is a concern this is not the hotel for you as it you may end up with a room like ours. Our friends had a much nicer room, good lighting, clean mold free bathroom, and heat.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#71 of 97 in Bruges
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#43 of 97 in Bruges
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central
Central
#88 of 97 in Bruges
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Property: Hotel Koffieboontje
Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing