We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location but really could do with a refurb!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Koffieboontje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location but really could do with a refurb!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

My mum and I stayed here on a recent trip to Bruges. Now the location is amazing, from my room I could see the Belfry and the horses in the Markt.
The hotel was quiet and was generally clean but it really needs a refurbishment, the decor on the rooms is shabby and in the bathroom there was mould in the grouting and a tempermental shower.
Breakfast was nice, however the room that it was served in was in the cellar which also needs a refurbishment.
We paid a little more for this hotel in our package as we wanted to be more central, so I am unsure of what it would be priced at.
But after renovation this hotel could charge more.
Fantastic Location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravaddi1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    190
    153
    90
    91
See reviews for
118
266
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed in one of the apartments. Size was fine but rooms were (very) grubby, dark and generally about 25 years over due for a refurb. Kitchen equipment was inadequate. Smoke alarms were out of batteries and the place is a rabbit warren / death trap. Wifi was largely unavailable. Probably my least favourite feature was the remains of a number of mosquitoes (together with victim's blood) on the walls of each room.

Noise on the second of two nights was quite extrordinairy... the guy who runs the bar downstairs appears to be at war with the hotel (judging from the leaflet in the room providing police numbers to call in the event of excessive noise) and played ABBA and dance music at extreme volume around 4 am... this was followed by a party in the room below through til 6 am.

Location is good and breakfast (providing you can find it) is ok.

Really disappointed with this place and surprised that venere.com (who have generally been excellent) keep them on their books.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Checking in took a long time and the staff were very ungracious. Our rooms were on the ground floor. The carpets and curtains were old and dirty. The sheets were bobbled and had holes. The mattresses and pillows were of the cheapest kind. The bathrooms were like very ancient ships cabin bathrooms, extremely scruffy and cheap. There was no way of ventilating the room (no air conditioning and no windows that cd be opened to the outside (there were tiny upper skylight type windows that opened on to enclosed corridors (one in each room: completely inadequate). Both rooms were musty and smelly. One room did not even have an outside window. One rooms basin drainpipe was stuck such that the basin water became dirty. (There were no plugs in either basin.) There was a party venue very close to my room and my son aged 6 and I had to listen to a very drunken party with shouting and very bad language. This did not stop until circa 4 am. The rooms were so airless that one had the impression of lack of oxygen. I have reported the hotel to the tourist board as I think our rooms represented a health hazard. A truly dreadful experience. The cost per room was €114 which was supposed to represent a good deal: we booked through booking.com. They do not seem to have an easily accessable review site.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadinemichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Excellent location but rooms left a lot to be desired. Very tired furniture and decor. Bathroom smelt badly. Decor and cleanliness around the hotel in general appeared to be to the same sub standard. Breakfast very good but toaster did not toast.
Car parking quite expensive for what is basically a cave with sand on the floor. Very tight parking spaces too.
I was really glad we were only there for one night.
On a plus side the staff very quite friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenewsalopians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel is the perfect location for the old town of Bruges. About 30 steps from the main market square takes you to the heart of the action. For a centrally located hotel the price was excellent. So what if the rooms aren't the greatest in the world, you go to Bruges to see the city not to sit in your room, so for that purpose they are fine. I stayed in a twin room with my teenage daughter and we loved the fact you could wander out, go back then go off and wander some more without having to drag yourself miles.
Breakfast was ok, again nothing flash, just a basic cold buffet.
The staff in the office were obliging and helpful I found & you could hire bikes direct from the busy man outside the hotel reception if you wanted to get out and about a bit further.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced base to tour the city and its wonderful cobbled streets and canalways. Oh yeh, and the vast amounts of chocolatiers and belgian beers. Speaking of which, downstairs from the hotel was a pub serving a vast choice of beers, in case you couldn't be bothered to stagger far...they are strong!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gman4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

The location is a stone's throw from the Belfry and easily walkable from the train station (we had 2 backpacks). We are not fussy and were just looking for a cheap, central option. It was so close to all the sights that we popped back to use the loo or coffee making facilities during the day.

Location = brilliant.
Breakfast = good choice served in beautiful cellar.
Tea/coffee in room was a bonus. So was the terrace.
We were able to leave our bags at reception before checking out.

Negative things
I got bitten at night - we slept with the window open. Not sure if bed bugs or mosquitoes. The shower water was a bit of a strange colour at time.

We were asked to pay at check in before being given our key. Then it turned out that the room was still occupied. (This was at 15.30 - well after the check in time). We came back after about 45 mins and there was a different guy on reception. We were given the spare room key (which I was not happy about as they did not seem to know where the other key was). After protesting about this, we were given a better room, so although there was a problem, they did deal with it.

I would recommend this hotel for the location and breakfast. The staff were friendly, despite the initial confusion. It's not luxurious but more than fulfilled our needs.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank h3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe. UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We've just returned from a long weekend - 4 days/3 nights. After reading previous reviews I thought I'd try and write a balanced one of my own.

Location: Could hardly be improved upon.

Facilities: Room was fully equipped with everything needed to help enjoy a stay e.g T.V. heating, shower room, separate toilet, tea and coffee making facilities etc.

Unusual facility:: Hotel had a bike hire business which gave discounts to hotel guests.

Staff: Only really met the reception staff but they were unfailing friendly and helpful.

Breakfast: Previous reviewer complained that the only hot options were boiled eggs and toast. Whilst this remains true the cold buffet was extensive and put many a 4 star to shame. For instance it included Bucks Fizz, smoked salmon and crab salad.

Drawbacks: The main drawback was that although well equipped and clean the furnishings were, arguably, the cheapest obtainable. Not only that but they were badly scuffed. In addition the carpets were seriously stained. Furthermore the bedroom walls were very thin so noise from both within and without, we overlooked a terrace, was not very well muted.

Restaurant: Offered a large and varied menu, was well cooked and prepared and fairly reasonably priced.

Overall: I belive my review title covers it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pianist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#69 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central
Central
#91 of 97 in Bruges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#68 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Property: Hotel Koffieboontje
Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing