We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Bruges”
Review of Absoluut Verhulst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Absoluut Verhulst
Ranked #33 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in Bruges”
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Absoluut Verhulst was a wonderful find down a quiet street in Bruges. Frieda and Benno were fabulous hosts and the accommodations were perfect! The room was very cozy and wonderful retreat. The breakfast was also fantastic with great company. Would highly recommend this gem in Bruges!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstarChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
187
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Excellent doesn't cover it - this was simply the most charming B&B I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. For comfort and welcome, it beats hotels of considerable reputation. The room was spacious, the breakfast sublime.

The room we had (Classic) was absolutely delightful - spacious, elegantly (but not overly) decorated and the bed was superb. The minibar had basic drinks at reasonable prices. The shower was perfectly adequate, if not *the* best ever. In all - the room was a pleasant and sustained surprise.

Their lounge/living room, where breakfast is taken, is a testament to good taste. Filled with ornaments and books, it nevertheless feels uncluttered. Wonderfully cold outside, inside is a roaring, welcoming wood-burning fire.

A special mention must be made for the breakfast itself - a true pleasure. Fruit, conserves, fresh bread, cheese, cold meats (cooked and cured) and a choice of (perfectly cooked) omelettes.

The proprietors were charm itself - and had a list of recommendations for visits, cafes, bars/pubs and restaurants.

Our stay could not have been more pleasant.

  • Liked — The charm of the decor and welcome
  • Disliked — Breakfast too good - never space for lunch!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldesloe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Absoluut Verhulst is the perfect location to enjoy and explore the wonderful city of Brugge. A cosy, but stylish place with few, but exclusive rooms. We stayed with our family incl. 2 girls of 8 and 10 in the 2-room loft and it was just fantastic. Frieda and Benno are very kind and friendly hosts and their A+ breakfast was a highlight of every day we spent in Brugge. Thank you so much once more! Martina , Dirk, Frederike and Corinna

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank naeve-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 08 and after having read many positive reviews on tripadvisor we were not disappointed. Frieda and Benno were superb hosts, nothing seemed too much trouble - as well as providing an excellent spread for breakfast they were able to give very good recommendations about where to eat, drink, and the best places to buy chocolate!

Our room was the Garden Room which was a pretty big, clean, comfortable room, with bathroom adjoining down a small and step flight of steps - like a whole other floor just to ourselves! It was clean, spacious, and had a great shower. So much cosier and nicer than a generic hotel room!

Bruges is fairly small and easily walkable, so we were never far from any of the main attractions. All in all it was very romantic. We would love to come back!

  • Liked — Lovely hosts, great decor (especially Benno's paintings), central location, breakfast!
  • Disliked — Honestly I found nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, TX
Level Contributor
187 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

After reading other reviews for Absoluut Verhulst, we contacted the hosts via their website. There was availability for our party of four.

We traveled from Amsterdam to Bruges via train and took a city bus to within 2 blocks of the B&B. Freida and Benno were friendly hosts, helped carry our bags up to the 1st floor where we had two bedrooms, each with an ensuite bath. We slept beautifully each night. Breakfast was served in the ground floor dining room, overlooking their enclosed courtyard. Benno makes a delicious omelet , or egg of choice to serve with a full and delicious spread of food! Indeed, we rarely ate until mid-afternoon. The coffee and tea was good and hot each morning, but do try the hot chocolate!

Bruges is a small, very walkable city and we passed three full days there. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, providing us with information about their city and ideas for sightseeing, "local" hints to help us enjoy the Bruges experience. Several dinner suggestions led us to enjoy some of the best meals on our two-week trip!

We had fresh towels and maid service each day.

Our test about accomodations is always "would we stay here again?" Not only would we stay again, but we feel comfortable wholeheartedly recommending this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I have only one peice of advice to give - if you get the opportunity to stay here, don't let it pass you by.
Wonderful room, great location, a little bit of the country in Bruges.
The courtyard, where breakfast in served, is just magical - and Benno's breakfasts - WOW!!!!!!
Do yourself a favour, stay here.
PS. Thankyou Trip Advisor, for yet another marvellous recommendation.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — I have no criticism whatsoever.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank westhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed at Absoluut Verhulst B&B for 3 nights in September 2008.

Room:
We booked the Garden Room which turned out to be nicer than the photos on the website. It is spacious and clean. The bathroom is down one flight of stairs which is a bit steep (though Freida had warned us when we checked in). The bathroom has a shower stall only, but otherwise again very spacious.

Location:
The B&B is located just east of the Burg/Markt. It is a bit far to walk from the train station with luggage, so we took a taxi. It was €8 from train station to B&B, and €10 back. Not bad when you consider the alternative (walking 25 minutes dragging your luggage through cobblestoned streets).

Breakfast:
Truly wonderful. Every morning we were served fresh-squeezed orange juice and a glass of cut fresh fruit. There is a bread basket, prosciutto, and several types of cheeses. Then Benno offers cook-to-order eggs, and the sweetest tomatoes I have ever tasted. One also gets to choose between coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. Lastly, there is also 2 types of cereal as well.

The Hosts:
Frieda and Benno are awesome hosts. All my emails before our trip were replied promptly. After we arrived, we find them friendly and helpful, yet not the kind of in-your-face hosts who will offer unsolicited advice. If you ask them for advice, they are full of helpful information.

Benno has his own map with restaurants, bars, cafes etc drawn out, which is really excellent. We ate at one of the places he recommended for dinner and it was great. Benno himself is an artist and we truly enjoyed the paintings hung around the house.

They also offered bikes for rental at €5/day, which is much cheaper than regular rental shops. The bikes are not fancy, but definitely good enough for us. When we inquired about biking to Damme, Freida offered to let us borrow their Belgian bike map, which has all the bike routes marked. We ended up having a fabulous time spending a couple of hours biking in the Flanders countryside.

Our few minor issues:
1) The B&B is a 400+ year-old house, so it creaks a lot when you walk around. This is not a place for you if you plan on drinking until 1am before returning, because you WILL wake up everyone in the house! Our room is underneath the Loft unit, and on our first night, the people in the loft had to leave at 4:30am. I was woken up by their continuous footsteps for almost an hour until they left. Freida had already apologized beforehand for their early departure, so it wasn't a surprise for us.

2) The shower in our room had inconsistent water temperature which went from warm to very hot to cold. I didn't see this mentioned in any of the previous reviews. A minor annoyance, but the overwhelming positive things about this place really won our heart.

Overall, a truly wonderful place to stay with fabulous hosts at a great rate. This was such a nice treat after staying at tiny hotels in Paris with indifferent staff.

  • Liked — Fantastic hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2000k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
1.0 mi away
AM/PM
AM/PM
#46 of 231 in Bruges
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa des Raisins
Villa des Raisins
#22 of 231 in Bruges
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#6 of 231 in Bruges
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
't Geerwijn
't Geerwijn
#88 of 231 in Bruges
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoluut Verhulst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoluut Verhulst

Property: Absoluut Verhulst
Address: Verbrand Nieuwland 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Absoluut Verhulst Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing