We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant but tired?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Elegant but tired?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I really liked this hotel, after a long day we were met with a really warm reception. Maybe it could do with a few updates and the wi-fi was intermittent but the location was good, the view was great and I felt like I was staying in one of the historic buildings of Brugge.

Room Tip: View of the canal was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandat2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    364
    105
    41
    10
See reviews for
134
541
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The exterior of the hotel is misleading.The photos in brochures show the hotel intenally and externally in a good light but it is a mixture of old and new. The bedrooms were large but souless.The bathroom, with plenty of hot water, was large but water escaped from the shower onto the floor. A mock log fire greets you in reception where the staff on arrival are very convivial. Not so on departure particularly when questioned about an undisclosed city tax charge.
There is a mishmash of colours in the decor throughout the hotel. The hotel offers breakfast at 22 euros (better to eat outside more cheaply) but does not offer any other meals or room service.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoodwink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

When we arrived at noon at the hotel the receptionist told us our room wasn't ready yet.So we went for a walk in the city.After we checked in,they brought us to our room.But when we entered the room was cold(end of february and freezing in belgium),could not imagine that the room was occupied by other persons before.We putted the heating on but the heating in the bathroom wasn't working.We reported this at the reception but they informed us this can't be fixed before the following day.So next morning showered very quick in cold bathroom.The room was huge with sitting area end separate bedroom but needed some update,everything looked out of date,even for a classic style.The next morning we had breakfast in the breakfast room but it was just a standard breakfast with poor service.I think I get better value for the price somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Superb location as it was near enough to the centre, but was fairly quiet. My only issue was with the breakfast, which was fine (but quite expensive); I'd mentioned on my reservation that my daughter is gluten-intollerant; the receptionist confirmed this at check-in and assured me that there would definitely be gluten-free bread. At breakfast we couldn't see any so I asked the waiter, he said he would check with the kitchen. When he came back he said that there wasn't any but that they could make some and it would take about 10 minutes, but as we had almost finished our breakfast I said that it didn't matter. It wasn't really an issue, but when you're told specifically that there will be something, then it should really be there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Mrs Tervuren,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.

I would likt ot apologize for the misunderstanding concerning the gluten-free bread. The evening before, this was taken out of the freezer to be baked off on the moment you entered the breakfast room. From that moment on, 10 minutes would have been reasonable, but it went wrong when the staff did not creat the link when you arrived in the breakfast room. So again my apologies for this.

We hope we get a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards

Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely three night stay in April with my husband and friends. We had a canal view room and they opted for a garden view although they were given the room directly about the entrance hall overlooking the courtyard which was noisy than they would have liked. Our room was very large and spacious with a wardrobe that is straight out of 'The lion, the witch and the wardrobe'. The bathroom was also enormous but had its flaws. The shower is within the bath but stupidly facing the side of the bath rather than down the lengths of it. This leads to water escaping everywhere despite the flimsy plastic panel. There is water damage to the tiles near the bath because of this and I am suprised it has not bee notified and rectified. The only other let down was the temperature of the room. With a massive and ancient radiator and air con to choose from temperature should not be an issue. However with the rad on it stifling hot and it does not turn completely off and with the air con on its too cold despite the controls. We did however enjoy our stay and would stay again in the future. Avoid the ridiculously priced breakfast at 22 euros per head and go around the corner to the local bakers where you can have a full continental breakfast with enormous and tasty pastries for a much healthier 12 euros!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel at beginning of April 2013. Very friendly staff. Large room with all amenities overlooking garden. Very clean. Close to centre of Brugge and good base for exploring. Staff were very helpful and provided more tea bags and milk upon request! Offered assistance for local knowledge. Parking close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear M. Maisy,

Thank you very much for staying at Martin's Relais , and for sharing you positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Our staff members were delighted to hear about you experiences, and this is what motivates them to continue the way they provide service today. Most of our staff members are local, and they are dedicated and proud of their city, so they are not bothered about sharing their knowledge with you at all.

Hoping to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards

Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Martin's Relais in Bruges. We took a short taxi from the train station to the hotel (due to the luggage) and were shown our room immediately. The staff was friendly throughout our stay - very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations.

The hotel is a short (and pretty) walk away from the main visitor attractions. It's a quieter area and we appreciated the short walk along the canals after dinner.

There's a nice bar area in the hotel - quiet and calm. Enjoyed a nice night cap before tucking into bed.

Would definitely recommend this place for couples as it's quite romantic and charming.

Room Tip: Garden view room was very quiet and offered lots of sunlight in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing