We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Martin's Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel was absolute gem of a find.....we booked as a package with eurostar included so wasnt expecting huge amounts from this hotel, but wow.......it was amazing. Very clean, very professional, the room we stayed in was out of this world with an amazingly beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was also included and we couldnt believe how stunning it was. We could have even had champagne if we wanted it. Would highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We booked a triple room which came with 3 singles beds and the room was huge!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    360
    104
    41
    10
See reviews for
132
536
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed as part of a weekend break by Eurostar for our wedding anniversary. Hotel was lovely and pictures as per the hotel website. We stayed in room 24 overlooking the garden which was lovely but maybe not for tall travellers as the roof is sloped.

Things to add that maybe helpful and not mentioned by other travellers...

The breakfast is extremely expensive (about 20 euros p/p) so if you don't have breakfast included in your deal (we didn't) I would recommend 'Patisserie Servaas Van Mullem' which is just round the corner from the hotel and half the price.

Make sure you make a reservation for dinner as Brugge gets very busy for dinner-the staff were extremely helpful in recommending good restaurants-'Au Petit Grand' was a 5 min walk from hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just endured a three night stay at this hotel, which we booked inclusive with our Eurostar trip to Bruges. After a wonderful, seamless rail journey, we were shocked when the taxi arrived outside a "shabby" yard. To our horror, this was the entrance to the hotel. On entering, we found ourselves in a dreary, dismal, dingy and depressing hallway, which had the "musty" smell of age and neglect! We booked in, and were advised, by the very pleasant receptionist, that we had a "garden room" with its own entrance. This room, (No. 52, avoid at all costs) was an annexe, off the back yard, sorry, garden, which is used, frequently, by smokers, both staff and clients! On entrance, one finds oneself in a small, dark hallway, off which is a small cloaks cupboard and also the bathroom. In the cloaks cupboard, and it was no more than that, was a small clothes rail without any clothes hangers. We did not use this room, which was very fortunate, as it rains in!! The bathroom was no more than adequate, with one of those, extremely, annoying showers that are attached to the bath taps. As a "six-footer", I hate having to bend down to shower!!
An extremely narrow, spiral staircase leads to the bedroom, which is, again, small and dismal, with a very low double bed, which just fits into an alcove. Two chairs and a chest of drawers make up the sum total of furniture. The chest of drawers is something to behold and brings a whole new meaning to the term "shabby chique"!!! To visit the toilet, during the night, involves a trip down the staircase, which would be a challenge to Sherpa Tensing!!!
Breakfast is no more than the standard Continental buffet, and, at 17 euros each, very overpriced, considering that there are many, excellent, cafes and bistros offering the equivalent for no more than 20 euros for two persons.
Wi-Fi is non existant, unless you are at the reception desk!!
The hotel is perfectly situated, in this beautiful city, with friendly, young staff, and should be the ideal destination. Unfortunately, this is not the case, and one wonders what criteria was used in awarding it 4 stars!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My OH and I stayed in St Martin's during a trip to Bruges last winter and we were not disappointed. It is a small hotel located just outside the city centre of Bruges. Bruges is a very compact city so the hotel is about a 7 - 10 minute walk from the beautiful main square.

As it was cold and wintery we were very glad to enter a beautifully lit and warm reception with a blazing fire. The check-in was seamless and the front of house staff very courteous and friendly.

We had opted to pay a little extra for a canal view room, this is a must if you are going to stay here! The room had an entrance doorway leading in two a big hallway with with a bathroom separated from the bedroom - which we love! The bathroom was very impressive and aesthetically very nice which is great because bathrooms can sometimes be very clinical in hotels. Great big powerful shower and lovely products. The decor is old-fashioned and our personal taste would be more modern but for some reason it works here.

Again, the view of the canal was just so special. We spent so much time just sitting looking out the windows - there was so much to see!

One downside was the wi-fi, it was very hit and miss and I find that very frustrating! We had brought an iPad with us to research our sightseeing, restaurants etc and we struggled with the wifi.

The HUGE plus point for me about St Martin's was the breakfast buffet - it was amazing! It was especially nice to have a nice glass of prosecco to start the day! The buffet had so much variety and so many nice things to eat that we frequently skipped lunch as we had eaten so much at breakfast. Great coffee too which is sometimes hit and miss at buffets.

The lobby area is very relaxing and makes for a lovely atmospheric night-cap after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Definitely get a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had room overlooking the canal, with a very nice breakfast (cava available!). In a quiet part of town. We found receptionists very helpful. The accommodation is definitely traditional but with modern bathroom. Our room was wood paneled and at the top with a great view of the canal, accessed by a spiral staircase (there was a lift). Not suitable for wheelchairs though, in my opinion. Very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Canal view worthwhile extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel we felt that the receptionist was so unhappy to see us. It was 9am but our room was available at 2pm. Because we were too early, we then had to walk around and kill some time in the town while waiting for our room to be ready which was not a problem for us.

We came back to the hotel at 2pm expecting to be checked-in as we were very tired already but unfortunately because of late linen delivery, as we were told, our room was not yet ready. No apologies from the staff whatsoever, they did not even offer any drink or something to compensate us for waiting for 2 hours for the room to be ready.

We stayed in the second floor. The only place where the wi-fi was working was in the reception. I called to complain about this few times but the only answer we had was that they are looking at it. It took them 2 days to look at it and on the check out we were then told that it's not something that can be fixed immediately.

The pillows are also worth mentioning. They were so small, just a bit bigger than the size of a throw you would normally put in your sofa.

The light in our hallway was also broken which we have reported since we arrived but of course, no one was bothered enough to even had a look at it so the next day when the chambermaid was coming, she woke us up because she could not see the "do not disturb" sign to the door leading to our room. The reason why we did not leave it in the main door was because we wanted the bathroom to be cleaned and our towels to be changed.

The room we stayed in was beautiful and with a character. Garden view they have advertised in the website meant "roof view". The linens, which was the cause of our super late check-in was clean although the throw had hairs on them. (We just did not mention it to the staff because they do not look bothered at all).

The hotel itself is beautiful but it is a shame the staff do not seem to care about the customer needs. They should get rid of all of them or give them new training because this hotel is a big waste having staff like them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Iheart,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel on Tripadvisor.

At the time you came back to check-in, I was personally present at the reception desk, to assist my receptionist with handling the linen-problem we had that day. I can assure you that this doesn’t happen often at all, and we took this matter very seriously. On the moment the linen finally arrived (around 3pm) everyone, including myself, went up to help the housekeeping staff to make sure that –given this situation- everybody could check-in as soon as possible. Only 1 person stayed at the desk to receive the guests and explain them about the situation. There were some other guests waiting to check-in too, and we considered offering everyone something to drink, but decided to help the housekeeping staff instead as the official check-in time had exceeded in the meantime and we really wanted you to check in as quickly as possible.

I am sure that my receptionist apologized to everyone who was ‘affected’ by this situation, just as I did myself.

It is not a habit that guests use the “do not disturb”-cards on the interior doors of the room, so I cannot blame the chamber maid for “ignoring” this.

It is the first time since a very long time that someone wrote a negative review on our staff, who are normally described as very welcoming and knowledged. I have asked them about your complaint about the wifi and the light in your room, and noticed they did report this immediately but for one or the other reason this hasn’t been solved immediately. Of course our receptionists are able to change a light bulb themselves, except the antique lantern-style lamps as our rooms on the top floor have.

We hope we get another chance to welcome you in our hotel, so we can prove to you that this situation was really an exception, and normally things run smoothly and perfectly on time.

Best Regards,


Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I really liked this hotel, after a long day we were met with a really warm reception. Maybe it could do with a few updates and the wi-fi was intermittent but the location was good, the view was great and I felt like I was staying in one of the historic buildings of Brugge.

Room Tip: View of the canal was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandat2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing