We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location with comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Handy location with comfortable beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Location great just minutes away from main square. Room fine bed very large and comfortable. We were on the ground floor with a view of the canal and we were not bothered by noise from the street. Staff pleasant and no trouble to store luggage until you want it. Breakfast very good lots of choice and lovely breads and pastries probably wouldn't pay the steep price for it though if it's not included in the package as there are plenty of places nearby you could go to. Internet a bit hit and miss but good enough for what we needed. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Inda_paulB,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read your comments about our staff members’ service and the quality of our breakfast buffet.

With the internet we recently had some problems indeed but now some devices have been replaced now to make the signal stronger over the whole building.

We hope we may welcome you another time in the future. Thank you again for your review.



Kind Regards,

Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    364
    105
    41
    10
See reviews for
134
541
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We only had one nights stay here so cannot comment on the room service or breakfast as after reading the reviews we decided to have room only. We had room 20 overlooking the canal , the room was large with double windows. Lovely large bathroom all clean and tidy. You do get a bit of noise from cars on the cobbles outside but we didn't find it disturbed us at all , sadly workmen digging the road up at 8 am did a bit but we wanted to get up and about anyway. The hotel is within really easy walking distance of the beautiful main square. The hotel does have parking about 3minutes walk away if you need it as otherwise you will need to feed the meter every 2hours outside the hotel. We plan you return to Brugge and will definitely look again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely little character hotel with helpful staff and nice location two minutes walk from the square. Our room was a good size on the ground floor with a rose garden outside a french window (102).
Everything was clean, the wifi worked but the signal was low.
Breakfast was a buffet with hot/cold/continental.
Didn't try their parking which was a couple of minutes away at 20 euros as you can park in the squares underground car park (bierkhoff) for 8.70.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and plan to go back but would not recommend for disabled/wheelchair as access would be a challenge.

Room Tip: Room 102 has direct access onto a rose garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Intensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The room was in the basement beside the storage and hotel washrooms. It was the one and only. The room was big but was very old and clammy! It smells old basement. The bed sheet had holes in it. We really needed wifi to work but it didnt exist at all unlike they promised. The hotel staff claimed that they would fix it but not really - we were given the attitude "too bad so sad". The two nights at this hotel has become the worst part of our trip in the lovely Brugge and the rest of Belgium! Never again at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelfromnowon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear worldtravelfromnowon,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel.

I notice that your experience in our hotel was below your expectations. I would like to apologize for that.

I have double checked the wifi-issues around the time of your stay, and there were some problems indeed but these were beyond the knowledge and skills of my staff members. Our chain’s IT-staff discovered the problem and some devices needed to be replaced. That is why it took longer than foreseen when my staff members promised they were working on it.

I also spoke to our cleaning staff concerning the sheets because they should have been more attentive to things like these.

We hope we may welcome you another time in the future, so we could prove that your experience is rather an exception, not the rule. If you would consider, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards,

Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is well situated to all attractions and close enough to walk comfortably to centre. Rooms very clean ,Big beds and very comfortable would defo stay there again and would recommend to anyone visiting Brugge, Breakfast choices good .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobnarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Classic hotel with large rooms, we had a king + a single bed and still had plenty of space. There is a fridge, iron & hair dryer. We did however have a few problems with the wifi in our room. We were told they had just finished upgrading and there was a few teething problems. We were offered an upgrade and no extra cost for the inconvenience. Some of the staff were very helpful & some were not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked the hotel through Eurostar as a package at a reasonable cost, although the deal didn't include breakfast.
The room was beautiful and massive, although being downstairs and overlooking the garden meant we were more mindful of having curtains drawn when we wouldn't normally.
We chose the hotel due to its location and size of rooms and we were not disappointed with that side of things. Lovely and quite (garden room); hospitality tray and fridge (not always the case/standard in hotel rooms in Bruge) with friendly and helpful staff.
We never ate here, that was our choice prior to booking so cannot comment on other facilities there, hence the 4 stars.
The room, although serviced early on in the day, didn't always get done to the same or a good standard daily, but saying that, it was clean enough and comfortable.
The hotel is in great location, metres away from all the shops and cafes, yet quiet and tucked away. There are hundreds of places to eat within a few minutes walk which we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: We had a room over the garden as thought the cobbles and midges by the canal may be a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing