We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and welcoming...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Martin's Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming and welcoming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights in December and enjoyed our stay immensely. Staff were friendly, genuinely welcoming and helpful. The tasteful Christmas decorations throughout, open fires and candles burning everywhere made for a very special atmosphere. We had booked a canal view room and were initially a little disappointed to find that there was really only a partial view (Room 28) but it was spacious and quiet so we opted not to ask to move. (Rooms on the first floor would appear to have better views). Breakfast was plentiful and varied and served late on Saturday and Sunday. The surrounding area is close enough to the main tourists sights but also so offers peace and quiet and we very much enjoyed exploring the areas to the north and east: the Jerusalem church, folk museum and windmills being particular highlights.

Room Tip: If you want a canal view I would ask for one on the first floor rather than the second....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    360
    104
    41
    10
See reviews for
132
536
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The entrance (keypad) to the parking was very problematic (the receptionist could have advised of the fix before we went to it - would have saved a phone call)
There were cobwebs in the corners of the ceilings (room 21).
There is some mould build up in the grouting of the bathroom tiles. Not very nice.
Didn't see the minibar (in cupboard - unusual) therefore didn't use it. (our friends said same) So, hotel, you could be losing income.

However all other aspects of the room were fine and the hotel location is excellent of course. So just a few things that I am sure the hotel will rectify very quickly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.

Your comments were very useful to us, and indeed most of these things have been rectified in the meantime. However the minibar for example, we chose to “hide” it in the cupboard in order to keep the general look of the room as authentic as possible. As well as the safety deposit box. I will ask my staff members to inform our guests about this upon check-in to save them from searching for it.
One of my staff members thinks he remembers the issue with the keypad at the parking. The problem you had is something that only happens like once a month (sorry it happened to you) and was caused by some digits from a previous user still being in the system’s memory (the person before you must have messed it up). Just because this situation is so rare, this isn’t standard information given during the check-in. I hope you are willing to accept our apologies for this inconvenience.

We hope we may accommodate you another time in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in several hotels while touring Europe, and this was by far my favorite. It's in a quiet section of Brugges, a short bus ride from the train station to the main square, and then a short walk to the hotel. The canal and neighborhood is quiet and peaceful, it feels very residential in the evening. The hotel location couldn't have been more perfect in my opinion; short walk to the main square and a short walk to the outside parks and windmills. The hotel itself was beautiful and historical. It is comprised of several townhouses pieced together, but everything is cohesive. I loved the preserved wood work, the spacious rooms, the quiet atmosphere and the beautifully updated bathrooms. It was a pleasant surprise to have a large soaking tub after the tiny bathrooms in Paris and Amsterdam. The staff was friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to stay in this relaxing haven!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Rjecamp,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing your positive comments on our hotel.

It is not easy to run a hotel in such a historical building, but we work hard every day in order to keep everything up to date and clean.

We hope we may welcome you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned to the UK having spent 2 great nights here. The staff were wonderful ( particularly Charlotte as she went out of her way to find a lost mobile phone! ) the location is perfect, the room very comfortable and view over the canal relaxing. Just a short walk to the centre of town but far enough to avoid the hustle and bussle. Perfect for a short or long stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip to Bruges with friends staying at Martin's Relais. Hotel was perfect. It is an old house on the side of a canal, about five minutes walk to the central square. The decor is lovely with antique furniture and sumptuous carpets and curtains. The hotel was decorated for Christmas so looked particularly beautiful. The bedrooms are large and warm with good size bathrooms with baths and a shower. Very hot water and soft towels! The staff were extremely efficient, courteous and helpful. The hotel is not huge and it feels relaxed and private. The central location is a major attraction; it is also only a couple of minutes from some great restaurants. We would definitely go again and thoroughly recommend it as an ideal place to stay in Bruges. It was reasonably priced and offered tremendous value for money. Happy days!

Room Tip: No tip needed, but it would be nice to have one overlooking the canal!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A beautiful hotel, in a beautiful location. Only 5 minutes walk into the centre of the city, this hotel is ideally situated. The staff were all very polite and helpful, always quietly in the background without being intrusive. Our room was huge, with a HUGE , very comfortable bed, a desk and two armchairs. Tv with BBC chanels aswell as tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge stocked with soft drinks and beer( €3 each )There is also a safe.. All in all, a very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated room.
I would advise anybody to drive over as it was not only cheaper than going by eurostar but we were door to door from east sussex in 3 1/2 hours ! The hotel have a car park but if its full, 3 mins walk away is a public car park which is only about €8 for 24hrs.
I WILL DEFINITELY BE RETURNING... NOT ONLY TO SUCH A STUNNING CITY BUT TO THE PERFECT HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor.

My staff members were delighted to read your nice comments on their service and skills.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Bruges and our hotel!

Warm Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is situated alongside a road by one of the canals. We had a canal view room and it was in keeping with the rest of the building. Our room had very large windows and a very high ceiling. It had all the amenities one would expect, such as tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge/minibar and a safe. The bathroom was very large but it has to be said that the shower screen is inadequate in preventing the water from leaking all over the floor unless the water pressure is turned as low as possible. Our room was extremely warm and we couldn't figure out why as the radiators were cold. The room was so hot that we had to open the windows to let in some air as it was impossible to sleep. Opening the windows obviously subjected us to a little traffic noise but that was preferable to feeling suffocated. We spoke to reception the following morning and were offered a change of room. It was explained to us that there are pipes running through the walls to the top floors (we were on the ground floor) and there was no way anything could be done about those pipes, obviously. We declined to move as the room did not seem so hot mid-morning and took the desk fan offered by the receptionist who could not have been more helpful. Unfortunately, our we came to regret our decision not to be moved by about 5am the following morning when the room again had become unbearably hot and we had to open the windows again! All in all it has to be said that we found the hotel welcoming and in a great location and we would stay there again but next time in a top floor room with no pipes in the walls.

Room Tip: Room 1 gets very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Homer 65,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in our hotel.
I am glad to read that you found our hotel welcoming and you would consider staying with us again.

Our hotel has a central heating system, but also air-conditioning, which also functions as heating during the winter time. This system has been switched over from cooling to heating, at the end of October. This is why you were not able to cool down the room through the air-conditioning unit. This problem only appears in the autumn. I would like to apologize to you and your family for this being an issue during your stay.

We hope we may welcome you and your family another time in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sofie Goossens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing